Please see the new Sitecore Changes and Sitecore Login Process as of Saturday, June 6, 2020. Sitecore 9.3 Changes, Login Process, and FAQs

Managing Page Versions

With every page created, a version number is assigned as well. An initial page creation will begin with Version 1. Every version that follows continues the number sequence (2, 3, 4, 5, etc.). It is not uncommon for a page to have multiple versions. Multiple versions of a page are created two ways, the initial being the most common:

  • Every time a published page is edited for the first time, a new version is created
  • When the Content Author manually adds a new version

There are benefits and challenges to having multiple page versions. Some benefits include rolling back to an earlier version at any given time and adding another version of a page that can be used during a special promotion and then republishing the original version after the promotion. One challenge that tends to arise is managing the versions and keeping track of what versions contain what content.

Each page can have up to 15 versions. After 15, the oldest version number will drop off leaving the latest 15 versions. Limiting the number of versions available helps enhance site performance.

 

View various versions of a page

The page version can be viewed from the Experience Editor and from the Workbox.

View the page version from the Experience Editor
  1. Open the page from the Experience Editor.
  2. Select the Versions tab from the ribbon.
  3. The Versions icon shows which version you are viewing.
    Identifying the page version from the Experience Editor Versions tab
  4. Select the Versions icon to see the list of versions that page contains.
  5. Select the version you want to view.
    Viewing list of page versions
View the page version from the Workbox
  1. Select the WorkboxWorkbox icon icon from the Experience Editor ribbon on the Home tab.
  2. Scroll through the Draft section until you come to the page you are working on.
    • Make sure you have your workflow checked in the Workflow box.
      Identifying the page version from the Workbox
  3. Next to the page title is the language and version number you are working on.
  4. Select the X on the top right of the Workbox dialog box to exit the Workbox.

NOTE: A page version cannot be added or deleted from the Workbox. Use the Experience Editor to add and delete page versions.

 

Add a new version to a page
  1. Open the page from the Experience Editor.
  2. Select the Versions tab from the ribbon.
  3. Select the Add Version Add Version icon icon.

The new version page will appear and the version number will be represented on the Version icon from the ribbon.

 

Delete a version of a page
  1. Open the page from the Experience Editor.
  2. Select the Versions tab from the ribbon.
  3. Select the Remove Version Delete Version icon icon. If there is more than one version, a dropdown will appear with the option to:
    • Remove current version or
    • Remove all versions
      Delete versions dropdown box from ribbon
  4. Once the option is selected, a warning dialog box appears asking if you're sure you want to delete the version(s).
    Delete Versions warning message
  5. Select OK.

The page version is deleted from the system and the earlier version will appear with the version number represented on the Version icon from the ribbon.