Please see the new Sitecore Changes and Sitecore Login Process as of Saturday, June 6, 2020. Sitecore 9.3 Changes, Login Process, and FAQs

Deleting Images and Document Files from the Media Library

Content Authors can delete items (images and document files) they’ve uploaded in the Media Library. However, deleting an image or a document file can have consequences if that item has been attached (inserted or hyperlinked) to a published page.

The steps below demonstrate how to delete a document file or image two ways through the Media Library.

TIP: To see if an item has been attached to any pages, visit the View Linked Items page.

 

From the Content Tree
  1. Navigate to the document file or image you wish to delete.
  2. Right-click on the item and a menu will appear.
    Content Editor - Content Tree Delete
  3. Select the Delete icon Delete option.
  4. A dialog box will appear asking if you're sure you want to delete the file.
  5. If okay to delete, select OK.
  6. Relink items to prevent broken links (if the Breaking Links dialog message comes up).
  7. Contact your System Administrator to Publish the folder that contained the item you deleted.

NOTE: When an item is deleted from Sitecore, the folder that contained the deleted item MUST be published to remove the deleted item(s) from the system. If this does not occur, then the item will remain published and accessible on the website. Please contact your System Administrator to publish the deletion of your item.

 

From the Ribbon
  1. Select the item you wish to delete.
  2. Select the Delete Delete icon icon on the HOME tab.
    Content Editor Ribbon - Home tab
  3. A dialog box will appear asking if you're sure you want to delete the item.
    • If you're deleting a folder with images or document files contained in it, select the arrow and then Delete subitems. A message will warn you that all sub-items will be deleted as well.
      Delete Sub Items
  4. If okay to delete, select OK.
  5. Relink items to prevent broken links (if the Breaking Links dialog message comes up).
  6. Contact your System Administrator to Publish the folder that contained the item you deleted.

NOTE: When an item is deleted from Sitecore, the folder that contained the deleted item MUST be published to remove the deleted item(s) from the system. If this does not occur, then the item will remain published and accessible on the website. Please contact your System Administrator to publish the deletion of your item.