Please see the new Sitecore Changes and Sitecore Login Process as of Saturday, June 6, 2020. Sitecore 9.3 Changes, Login Process, and FAQs

Deleting linked Media Items

When a document file or image has been deleted from the Media Library, any hyperlinks to those deleted files on your pages need to be updated as well.

NOTE: If you are replacing the deleted item with a new item, first upload the new item into Sitecore so it is there to link to.

When you delete a linked item, you are prompted with the Broken Link dialogue box where you can:

Breaking Links Dialogue Box

 

Update All Links

From here, you can take one of three actions that will effect all the links:

  • Remove Links – Removes all the hyperlink tags that was linked to the deleted item.
    • The words the item was linked to still remain on the page.
    • Once clicked, the removed every link message appears.
    • Select Continue to remove the links.
      Broken Links - Removing Links Dialogue Box

  • Link to Another Item – Prompts you to change all the links pointed to the deleted item to another item.
    • Select the item that will replace the deleted item.
    • Click Relink to replace the item.
      Relinks Dialogue Box

  • Leave Links – Leaves all hyperlinks or image references on the page where the item was deleted.
    • Once clicked, the leave broken link message appears.
    • Select Continue to leave the broken links.
      Broken Links - Leaving Links Dialogue Box

 

Update Individual Links

To view a list of pages that links to the item you have deleted, click the Edit Links button.
Broken Links Editing Dialogue Box

Each page listed gives you options to do something with the link.

  • Edit - Opens the page in the Content Editor for you to edit.
    Broken Links - Edit the Page

  • Remove Link - Removes the hyperlink tag or image from the page.
    • The words the item was linked to still remain on the page.
    • Once clicked, the removed link message appears.
    • WARNING: Doing this action CANNOT be undone and you do not receive a warning message once clicked.
      Removed Link Message

  • Link to Other Item - Opens the Relink box where you can browse and select a different page, image, or document file.
    • Select the item that will replace the deleted item.
    • Click Relink.
      Relinks Dialogue Box

 

Leave Links

Selecting this option keeps any links to these deleted files broken.

NOTE: Content Authors will not be notified of any broken links that appear on their pages.