Greetings! The Connecticut State Board of Education has undertaken a months-long process of developing its 2023-2028 Five-Year Plan. After several months of meetings and retreats, engagement with thousands of stakeholders through surveys and focus groups, input by Connecticut State Department of Education staff and leadership, the latest draft, which includes goals, action items, and outcomes, has been developed. Please use the link below to access the latest draft of the plan. We welcome your review and comments using the fillable form . Draft Comprehensive Plan 2023-2028

Preventing Teen Dating Violence, Promoting Healthy Relationships, and Domestic Violence Resources


According to the 2013 Connecticut School Health Survey (CSHS), one in four teens experienced dating abuse. Results from the 2013 CHSH Survey indicate that in the past year approximately:

  • 26 percent of Connecticut high school students have been in a verbally or emotionally abusive dating relationship;
  • 9 percent in a physically abusive dating relationship; and
  • 11 percent in a sexually abusive relationship.

For more information, see the fact sheet, Preventing Teen Dating Violence & Promoting Healthy Relationships.

Relevant Legislation

Connecticut General Statute (C.G.S.) Section 10-220a requires each local or regional board of education to provide in-service training programs for its teachers, administrators, and pupil personnel on teen dating violence and domestic violence programs. This webpage provides resources and technical assistance that support meeting the requirements of this legislation and helps educators and others find information to support the development of healthy and safe relationships.

Public Act 19-146, An Act Requiring the Provision of Information Concerning Domestic Violence Services and Resources to Students, Parents and Guardians, requires that not later than December 1, 2019, the Office of Victim Services within the Judicial Department, in consultation with the Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence, compile information concerning services and resources available to victims of domestic violence and provide such information to the Department of Education for publishing on the website. This information is provided in the handout, Connecticut Domestic Violence Resources

Additionally, for the school year commencing July 1, 2020, and each school year thereafter, the Department of Education shall disseminate the information published pursuant to subsection (b) of this section to each local and regional board of education. Each local and regional board of education shall require the provision of such information to any (1) student or parent or guardian of a student who expresses to a school employee, as defined in section 10-222d of the general statutes, that such student or parent or guardian or a person residing with such student or parent or guardian does not feel safe at home due to domestic violence, and (2) parent or guardian of a student who authorizes the transfer of such student's education records to another school. 

State and National Emergency Telephone Resources

  • Crisis Hotline
  • Connecticut 2-1-1 (United Way of Connecticut)
    Dial 2-1-1, a toll-free number throughout Connecticut, to reach knowledgeable, multilingual staff and get information, referrals or seek help in a crisis, including teen dating violence.