ACIR Members & Meeting Schedule


The Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations (ACIR) is a 24-member agency of the State of Connecticut created in 1985 to study system issues between the state and local governments and to recommend solutions as appropriate. The membership is designed to represent the state legislative and executive branches, municipalities and o ther local interests, and the general public.

The role of the ACIR, as specified in Section 2-79a of the Connecticut General Statutes, is to:

  • serve as a forum for consultation between state and local officials
  • conduct research on intergovernmental issues
  • encourage and coordinate studies of intergovernmental issues by universities and others
  • initiate policy development and make recommendations to all levels of government


Below is a listing of scheduled and past ACIR meetings. Links to agendas and minutes are also shown if available. Minutes are draft until approved by the ACIR at a subsequent meeting.  For further information, please contact Bruce Wittchen by phone at (860) 418-6323, fax at (860) 418-6493, or email at

2018 Meeting DatesTimeLocationAgendaMinutes
 January 5, 2018 Canceled
 February 2, 2018 Canceled
 March 2, 201810:30 AM Room 1C, LOBAgendaNotes
 April 6, 2018 Canceled
 May 18, 201810:30 AMRoom 1B, LOBAgendaMinutes
 June 18, 201810:30 AMRoom 1C, LOBAgendaMinutes
 July 6, 2018
 August 3, 2018
 September 7, 201810:30 AMRoom 1C, LOBAgendaDraft Minutes
 October 5, 201810:30 AM Canceled
 November 2, 2018
10:30 AM
 December 7, 201810:30 AMRoom 1C, LOB Agenda Minutes

2017 Meeting DatesTimeLocationAgendaMinutes
 January 6, 201710:00 AM Room 1C, LOBAgendaMinutes
 March 3, 201710:30 AM Room 1C, LOBAgendaMinutes
 April 7, 201710:30 AM Room 1C, LOBAgendaMinutes
 May 5, 201710:30 AMRoom 1C, LOBAgendaMinutes
 June 9, 201710:30 AMRoom 1C, LOBAgendaMinutes
 July 7, 2017
 August 4, 2017
10:30 AMRoom 1C, LOBAgendaMinutes
 September 15, 201710:30 AMRoom 1C, LOBAgendaMinutes
 October 6, 201710:30 AMRoom 1C, LOBAgendaNotes
 November 3, 2017
 December 1, 2017 10:30 AMRoom 1C, LOBAgendaMinutes

2016 Meeting DatesTimeLocationAgendaMinutes
 January 26, 20161:00 PM   Room 1B, LOB AgendaMinutes

2015 Meeting DatesTimeLocationAgendaMinutes
 December 7, 2015       1:00 PM   Room 2B, LOB AgendaMinutes

2014 Meeting DatesTimeLocationAgendaMinutes
March 10, 2014
10:00 AM Room 1B, LOBAgenda
October 1, 2014
9:30 AM

2013 Meeting Dates Time Location Agenda Minutes
February 19, 2013
10:00 AM  Room 1E, LOB
September 18, 2013
1:00 PM

2012 Meeting Dates Time Location Agendas Minutes
January 26, 2012 10:00 AM 1849 Rm, CCSU Agenda Minutes
April 19, 2012 10:00 AM Rm 2200, LOB Agenda Minutes
June 28, 2012 10:00 AM Memorial Hall, CCSU Agenda Minutes
September 5, 2012
    (special meeting)
10:00 AM Hearing Room 2A, LOB Agenda Minutes
November 15, 2012
10:00 AM Canceled  N/A  N/A

2011 meetings Agenda Minutes
January 31, 2011
Agenda Minutes
April 14, 2011 Agenda Minutes
May 5, 2011
July 28, 2011 Agenda Minutes
October 20, 2011
Agenda Minutes

previous years

ACIR Membership

as of October 4, 2018

David Kalafa, Designee of the Secretary of the Office of Policy & Management

Sen. Steve Cassano, Designee of Senate President Pro Tempore

James O'Leary, Designee of Senate Minority Leader

Jim Watson, Designee of Commissioner of Economic and Community Development

Lee Sawyer, Designee of Commissioner of Energy and Environmental Protection

Kathleen Demsey, Designee of Commissioner of Education

Hon. Leo Paul, First Selectman of Litchfield

Joyce M. Stille, Town Administrator of Bolton

Scott Shanley, General Manager of Manchester

Hon. Marcia Leclerc, Mayor of East Hartford

Hon. Neil O'Leary, Mayor of Waterbury

Maureen Brummett, CT Association of Public School Superintendents

Lon Seidman, Connecticut Association of Boards of Education

Maureen Brummett, CT Association of Public School Superintendents

Lyle Wray, Connecticut Councils of Governments

John Filchak, Public Member, appointed by Senate President Pro Tempore

Samuel Gold, Public Member, appointed by Senate Minority Leader

Carl Amento, Public Member, appointed by Speaker of House of Representatives

Ron Thomas, Connecticut Conference of Municipalities

Hon. Barbara Henry, Designee of the Council of Small Towns

[vacant], Designee of Speaker of the House of Representatives

[vacant], Designee of the House Minority Leader

[vacant], municipal official, town of 60,000 or more, appointed by Governor

[vacant], Public Member, appointed by Governor

[vacant], Public Member, appointed by House Minority Leader

OPM Staff:Bruce Wittchen: phone (860) 418-6323   fax (860) 418-6493   e-mail