Members of the public have reported receiving calls, reportedly from the Judicial Branch of the Public Defender’s office, indicating that their loved one is in jail and they need to immediately send cash or provide a credit card number for bail. These calls are scams, so please do not send cash or provide your credit card number or any other personal information. A public defender would never call and ask for money or credit card information. If you receive such a call, contact the State Police in your state.

GAL / AMC Training Registration
The Judicial Branch Standing Committee on Guardians Ad Litem (GAL) and Attorneys for the Minor Child (AMC) in Family Matters is pleased to announce that it will sponsor a “Virtual” GAL/AMC Training via Zoom in June, 2021.  The training will consist of eight (8) 2-hour virtual training sessions from 3:00-5:00 pm on June 2, 9, 14, 16, 21, 23, 28 and 30, 2021.  In addition to the virtual training sessions, attendees will be required to complete 4 additional hours of reading and assignments in preparation for the training sessions.  Only those individuals who complete this 20-hour comprehensive preservice training required by Connecticut Practice Book Section 25-62 are eligible to be a GAL or AMC in Family Matters.  
 
Eligibility Requirements
Persons eligible to serve as a guardian ad litem or attorney for the minor child:
 
1.  Are either an attorney in good standing, licensed to practice law in the State of Connecticut by the Judicial Branch, or are a mental health professional licensed by the Connecticut Department of Public Health and in good standing in the areas of clinical social work, marriage and family therapy, professional counseling, psychology or psychiatry;
2.  Do not have a criminal record;
3.  Do not appear on the Department of Children and Families’ central registry of child abuse and neglect; and
4.  Meet all eligibility criteria in Connecticut Practice Book Sec. 25-62.
 
Registration Instructions
Click registration link below
 
Registration will accept up to 50 registrants on a first come first serve basis.  Attendees who complete the full 20 hours of training will be issued a Certificate of Completion. There are no provisions to make-up any missed portions of this training.