Tax on Gasoline, Gasohol and Natural Gas Inventory
PURPOSE: This Special Notice provides information concerning the next occasion on which the motor vehicle fuels tax rate on gasoline, gasohol and natural gas will increase and the next occasion on which a tax on gasoline, gasohol and natural gas inventory will be imposed.
BACKGROUND: Since its June 1991 Special Session, the Connecticut General Assembly has enacted two laws that will increase the motor vehicle fuels tax on gasoline, gasohol and natural gas in 1 cent or 2 cents per gallon increments on each of 14 different occasions, the first of which was September 1, 1991 and the last of which is January 1, 1997. In conjunction with those tax rate increases, the General Assembly also enacted a law that imposes a tax on the gasoline, gasohol and natural gas inventory of each person who is licensed to sell fuel under Conn. Gen. Stat. §14-319 as of the close of business on the day before each of the 14 different occasions when the motor vehicle fuels tax rate is increased.
EFFECTIVE DATE: Effective upon issuance and applicable to gasoline, gasohol and natural gas inventory as of the close of business on June 30, 1994.
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Conn. Gen. Stat. §12-458d(a), as amended by 1993 Conn. Pub. Acts 74, §35.
FLOOR TAX: All persons who are licensed to sell fuel under Conn. Gen. Stat. §4-319 must take an inventory of gasoline, gasohol and natural gas (gaseous form) as of the close of business on June 30, 1994 (or, for those stations open past midnight, at midnight). An inventory tax return (Form AU-926) must be filed, and a tax of 1 cent per:
- gallon of gasoline and gasohol
- 82.62 cubic feet of natural gas (at 14.73 lbs. of pressure per square inch, 60 degrees Fahrenheit)
must be paid, not later than August 1, 1994.
DIESEL FUEL AND PROPANE: The motor vehicle fuels tax rate on diesel fuel and propane will remain at 18 cents per gallon and will not increase on June 30, 1994. There is no floor tax imposed on the inventory of diesel fuel or propane as of the close of business on June 30, 1994 and no requirement that an inventory of diesel fuel or propane be taken at that time.
EFFECT OF THIS DOCUMENT: A Special Notice is a document that announces a new policy or practice in response to changes in State or federal laws or regulations or to judicial decisions. A Special Notice indicates the Department's informal interpretation of Connecticut tax law and may be referred to for general guidance by taxpayers or tax practitioners.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: CALL THE EXCISE/PUBLIC SERVICES SUBDIVISION OF THE AUDIT DIVISION AT 203-541-3225.
PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING NEW INFORMATION ABOUT DRS.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: To order forms and publications or for further information, call the Department of Revenue Services at 860-297-5962 (Hartford area or out-of-state) or 1-800-382-9463 (in-state). Forms and publications may be ordered through voice-mail 24-hours a day by choosing Option 3 on your touch tone telephone.
Electronic Delivery Options: You can also obtain tax forms and publications 24-hours a day from our Web home page at http://www.ct.gov/drs. Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (TDD/TT) users only call 860-297-4911 during business hours.
Motor vehicle fuels tax