In accordance with Governor Lamont's emergency declaration, employees and the public are asked to observe social distancing measures to ensure communal safety and to slow the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). People are asked to work from home and telecommute wherever possible. Adhering to these instructions, the Department of Banking has closed its offices to the public. However, agency staff will continue to provide services to consumers and industry through telework. When contacting the Department, please use electronic communication whenever possible. Agency staff will continue to check voicemails during this time. Consumers are encouraged to use our online form for complaints. If you are unsure where to send an inquiry, you may send it to and it will be routed appropriately. Thank you for your patience during this time.

Deputy Banking Commissioners
(1900 to 2011)

  Deputy Banking Commissioners    Term of Office 
From / To
John K. Bissland 1917 1921
Lester E. Shippee 1922 1927
R. Gordon Baldwin  1928 1937
Richard Rapport  1938 1942
Lynwood K. Elmore  1943 1950
Reinhard J. Bardeck  1951 1969
Maurice J. Ferland  1970 1971
Patsy J. Piscopo  1971 1974
Thomas E. Canfield  1974 1975
Kay V. Bergin  1975 1978
Linda J. Kelly  1979 1981
Howard B. Brown Jr.  1982 1985
Paul J. McDonough  1988 1991
Barbara S. McGrath  1991 1993
Robert B. Titus  1993 1995

Alan J. Cicchetti

1999 2011