Police Memorial Plate - In the Line of Duty
Thank you for showing interest in the Police Memorial - In the Line of Duty license plate.
Any citizen of Connecticut can apply for this license plate. However, if you are the spouse, parent or child of a state trooper or municipal police officer who was killed in the line of duty, please reference the "Special Reserved Passenger Series" information listed below. For all other applicants, please reference "Off-the-Shelf License Plates."
To order these plates, the vehicle must be currently registered in Connecticut. Applications for vehicles registered out-of-state or with a temporary registration will not be accepted. Also, if your registration is due to expire within the next 45 days, you must renew your registration before applying for these plates.
You may only acquire the same registration type as currently on your vehicle. For instance, if you currently have combination plates on your vehicle, you can only receive combination plates - you cannot request combination plates if your vehicle is currently registered with passenger plates.
Special Reserved Passenger Series
The Connecticut General Statute allows for the first thousand plates in the "passenger" series to be reserved for spouses, parents, and children of state troopers and municipal police officers killed in the line of duty.
Any requests for the special reserved passenger series plates need to be directed to:
Phone: (203) 427-2601
Below you will find information on the different ways you can purchase a Police Memorial plate and the cost involved:
Off-the-Shelf License Plates
These assigned number plates are available in the passenger, combination, commercial, camper, camp trailer, and handicapped registration types. Any citizen of Connecticut can apply for the Police Memorial - In the Line of Duty license plate and will be provided with off-the-shelf generic lettered special interest plates.
All requests for special interest plates must be applied for on the Special Order Plate Application (form M-22).
The fee is $50.
Remake of a current marker plate
Police Memorial plates are available for passenger, combination, commercial, camper, camp trailer and handicapped registration types.
You maintain your current marker plate number and have it re-made with the Police Memorial Background.
Plate requests are made on the Special Order Plate Application (form M-22). Your present marker plate number would be the same marker plate number being requested.
The fee is $70.