News Header

For Immediate Release
May 21, 2020

 

CT DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES AMENDS DEADLINE EXTENSIONS 
Deadline Extensions Will Apply to Several DMV-Related Items 

 

WETHERSFIELD, CT – The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, with the approval of Governor Ned Lamont, has amended previously extended deadlines for Connecticut residents with expiring credentials. Deadlines were initially extended by 90 days and have since been extended to 180 days. Eligible DMV credentials that expire between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020 are automatically covered by this extension. 

In addition to extending the expiration date of DMV credentials, late fees associated with eligible expired credentials will be waived during the time period of the extension for qualifying credentials. 

Deadlines have been extended for the following DMV-related items: 

All Licenses, Permits and Identification Cards 

  • Lengthens the credential extension to 180 days for credentials that expire between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020. 

All Registrations Including International Registration Plan (IRP) and Boat Registrations 

  • For credentials expiring between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020, credentials will be extended by 180 days from the expiration date. 

Emissions Testing and Retesting 

  • For test due dates that fall between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020, the due date will be extended by 180 days from the emissions expiration date. 

Permanent Disability Placard 

  • Any permanent disability placard that expires at the same time as a credential that is subject to a 180 day extension, will be extended by 180 days. 

Business Licenses 

  • For credentials expiring between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020, credentials will be extended by 180 days from the expiration date. 

Temporary Registrations 

  • Temporary registrations obtained after March 10, 2020 are extended by 180 days. 

Temporary (Paper) Licenses 

  • Expiration dates will be extended by 180 days for all temporary (paper) licenses obtained after March 10, 2020. 

Flashing Light Permits 

  • Expiration dates between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020 are extended by 180 days. 

New Residents

  • For any person who moved to Connecticut after March 10, 2020, the deadline for obtaining a license, registration or emissions inspection in Connecticut will be extended by 180 days. 

Suspension Related Matters 

  • Suspensions that take effect between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020 will be delayed by 180 days as a result of failure to attend an Operator Retraining or Child Safety Seat Program, or nonpayment of fees due to a returned check or rejected payment. 

VIN Verification 

  • Waived until September 10, 2020. 

School Bus Proficiency Tests 

  • Extends the validity of school bus proficiency tests that are due between March 10, 2020 and June 30, 2020 by 180 days. 

Ignition Interlock Devices 

  • Waives violations and penalties associated with failing to meet 30-day recalibration of ignition interlock devices until September 10, 2020. 

For answers to questions, updates or more information about the credential extensions: 

  • Visit CTDMV.info
  • Call 860-263-5700 (within the Hartford area) or 1-800-842-8222 (outside the Hartford area) 

The extensions are intended to help safeguard the general public against the spread of coronavirus/COVID-19 and to maintain social distance within offices. For up-to-date guidance on COVID-19 please visit ct.gov/coronavirus

###