Taking the Vision and Learner's Permit TestsLearner's permit testing is offered by appointment only at the following DMV offices: Bridgeport, Cheshire, Danbury, Hamden, Norwalk, Old Saybrook, Waterbury, Wethersfield and Willimantic. Make your appointment here.
Taking the Eye (Vision) and Law (Knowledge) Test:
You must be prepared with all necessary documents before vision and knowledge testing will be given. Photocopies or faxed copies of any documents are not acceptable.
To begin testing you will need to bring:
Your documents required as acceptable forms of identification.
NOTE: Puerto Rico-issued birth certificates dated before July 1, 2010, need to be replaced. Please see more detailed information.
- Completed Application for Driver License (form R-229). This can be printed after making your online appointment. If you need to reprint, you can get the form by using your appointment PIN through DMV's online service and selecting "print receipt."
- Connecticut Identification Card (If applicable – this ID card must be surrendered when the learner's permit is issued).
- Glasses or contact lenses if needed for testing.
Acuity (how clearly you see). Minimum vision requirements for a Class D license is 20/40 or better, with or without corrective lenses.
Peripheral vision (how far you can see to either side while looking straight ahead). To meet the vision requirements a person must have one hundred forty degrees of Binocular Peripheral Visual Field.
Failing the Vision Test:
- If you fail the vision test, you will not be able to proceed to the knowledge test and you will be required to reschedule through DMV's online service.
- The knowledge test is based on the information contained in the Connecticut Driver's Manual.
- The exam consists of 25 questions. An applicant needs 20 correct answers to pass. [$IF ROLE IN '364'$]Written results are valid for 2 years. [$ELSE IF ROLE$][$END IF ROLE$]
Failing the Knowledge Test:
If you fail the knowledge test portion, you will be required to reschedule through DMV's online service and must repay the License Exam Fee. You can make your new appointment immediately, however the new appointment date selected must be at least seven (7) days from your failed knowledge test date.
- Knowledge test results are valid for 2 years.
Listen to Podcast on: