➤ Learner’s Permit Knowledge Testing is being done by appointment only at the DMV’s Cheshire (Wednesday – Friday) and Wethersfield (Tuesday – Friday) locations. All appointments will be confirmed or canceled by email. Be sure to check your email prior to heading to the DMV.

➤ For the health and safety of the public as well as our employees, some services including road tests are postponed until further notice.

➤ Extensions provided for renewals of driver’s licenses, non-driver ID cards, vehicle registrations, emissions testing and other credentials, expiring between March 10 and June 30. For details, visit CTDMV.info

➤ Vehicle and boat registration drop-off services are available at DMV’s Enfield, Old Saybrook and Waterbury locations. Learn More

➤ Many DMV services remain available online, by phone and through the mail. For details, visit CTDMV.info

The DMV’s staff is working diligently to reduce its backlog and to provide critical services to essential businesses. Transactions are being completed as quickly as possible, in the order in which they are received. The average turnaround time is approximately four weeks. The DMV appreciates the public’s patience as it navigates through the COVID-19 pandemic.

2020 Holiday Closing Schedule

 

For Major Customer Service Offices

Offices are normally closed on Sundays and Mondays

 

DMV Holiday Schedule
Holiday Observed   DMV Schedule 

New Year's Day

Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Thursday, January 2 - offices reopen at 9:15 a.m.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday, January 20

Friday, January 17 - offices open 7:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 18 - offices closed

Lincoln's Birthday

Wednesday, February 12

Thursday, February 13 - offices reopen at 9:15 a.m. 

Washington's Birthday

Monday, February 17

Friday, February 14 - offices open 7:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 15 - offices closed

Good Friday

Friday, April 10

Saturday, April 11 - offices reopen at 8 a.m. 

Memorial Day

Monday, May 25

Friday, May 22 - offices open 7:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 23 - offices closed

Independence Day

Saturday, July 4

Friday, July 3 - offices open 7:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 4 - offices closed

Labor Day

Monday, September 7

Friday, September 4 - offices open 7:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 5 - offices closed

Columbus Day

Monday, October 12

Friday, October 9 - offices open 7:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 10 - offices closed

Veterans Day

Wednesday, November 11

Thursday, November 12 - offices reopen at 9:15 a.m.

Thanksgiving Day

Thursday, November 26

Friday, November 27 - offices reopen at 7:45 a.m.

Christmas Day

Friday, December 25

Saturday, December 26 - offices reopen at 8 a.m.

New Year's Day, 2021

Friday, January 1

Saturday, January 2, 2021 - offices reopen at 8 a.m.