What is the Towing Inquiry System?
What is a Nonconsensual Tow?
A nonconsensual tow is the towing or transporting of a motor vehicle for which arrangements are made by order of a law enforcement officer or traffic authority or without mutual agreement between the vehicle owner and the towing entity. Some examples are private property trespass tows, abandoned vehicle tows, tows for illegal parking and tows from a highway upon request of the police or a traffic authority. (See sections 14-145, 14-150, 14-307).
Who can access this information?
Only a Connecticut licensed dealer or repairer that engages in nonconsensual tows (has at least one wrecker plate) will be able to register to use this system. DMV will authorize up to two (2) authorized users per licensed business. A licensed business will be responsible for reporting to DMV when an authorized user of the system is no longer employed by that business.
How do I register for access to the Towing Inquiry System?
In addition to being a licensed dealer or repairer with one or more wrecker registrations, you must have an approved Dealer Towing Inquiry System Access Request (Form #1) and Dealer Towing Inquiry System Authorized User Agreements (Dealer; Form #2 and Authorized User; Form #3) on file with the CT DMV. Once approved, you will receive an e-mail from Connecticut Interactive LLC (allow 2 days), who will provide you with access to the Towing Inquiry System. Completed Dealer Towing Inquiry System Access Request and Authorized User Agreements must be e-mailed to DMV.TowingPortal@ct.gov.
All forms must be fully completed and signed or your request will not be accepted. Each authorized user of the Towing Inquiry System must have their OWN INDIVIDUAL email address to be assigned a user name for the Towing Inquiry System.
The licensed dealer or repairer and each designated user will be required to sign an Authorized User Agreement. The Dealer will be required to complete the Dealer Towing Inquiry System Access Request (Form #1).
When you access the Towing Inquiry System, you are receiving personal information from a motor vehicle record, which is protected from disclosure under state and federal law. You are authorized to receive it to send the notices required by statute, but the system and the information cannot be accessed or used for any other purpose. Through the Authorized User Agreement, the system user agrees to comply with the laws regarding use of the system and the information, and acknowledges the criminal and civil penalties for misuse of the system and/or the information.
You must enter the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) of the vehicle to get the DMV record information.
The registration information is the current record information on file at DMV.
Please verify the accuracy of the VIN and reenter it. If you continue to receive “no record found,” it is possible that the vehicle is not titled in Connecticut.
All authorized user account passwords are valid for 90 days, at which point, an authorized user will be required to create a new password. This is done for security reasons. An authorized user will begin receiving password expiration notifications 14 days prior to the expiration date.
A request to disable an authorized user account must be sent by email to DMV.TowingPortal@ct.gov and include the Dealer Towing Inquiry System Access Request form. The request must include the user’s name, name of the Connecticut licensed dealer/repairer with whom the user is associated, email and dealer/repairer license number. A licensed business should immediately request that the authorized user account be disabled when the user is no longer employed or authorized to act on behalf of the licensed business. DMV may disable the business account if there is a continual failure to report when authorized users leave that business. The DMV will immediately disable any account when there is evidence of misuse by the account user.
With some exceptions, it is illegal to engage in towing and transporting motor vehicles without a wrecker registration. You must have an active wrecker plate and a dealer/repairer license with DMV to be authorized to use the Towing Inquiry System. If your dealer/repairer license and/ or your wrecker registration expires and is not renewed, your access will be disabled.
Out-of-state towing businesses can get Connecticut registration and lienholder information by completing DMV’s Copy Records Request form found on DMV’s web site at https://www.ct.gov/dmv/lib/dmv/20/29/j23.pdf