UPDATE as of August 6, 2020- Due to damage from the storm, Camp Harkness will remain closed today, Thursday August 6, 2020. Please check back for updates. Thank you

Reactivation Re-evaluation Fact Sheet

This section applies to individuals, who previously were active clients of the Department of Developmental Services, and who are now inactive, closed or discharged, or who are thought to be former DDS consumers.
  1. All requests to reactivate former individuals, or someone felt to be a former consumer, must be referred to the eligibility liaison in each region.
    1. The liaison will determine if there is a record of the individual in the department’s database.
    2. If there is no record in the database or in the department’s historical card file at Central Office, the individual will be directed to the Department’s Eligibility Unit  to apply for services.
    3. If there is an individual record in the database or a historical file with a DDS number, the liaison will make every effort to obtain the individual record/file for the individual, either from their own region, or from the region in which the individual previously received services.
    4. If the old file/record cannot be found and there is no prior information to make a determination of eligibility under Connecticut General Statute §1-1g, the individual will be directed to the Department’s Eligibility Unit to apply for services.
    5. If the old file/record is located, the individual’s record will be reviewed for eligibility determination as defined in Section D.  Individuals will be reactivated for DDS services if determined eligible.  Additional documentation may be requested for the eligibility determination.

  2. If DDS is contacted by an individual other than the applicant or by another agency or facility about an inactive consumer or someone felt to have been a consumer of the Department, the request shall be referred to the regional eligibility liaison. The case shall not be discussed without a release from the applicant or their legal representative.  Once the appropriate release is obtained, the regional liaison will follow the steps outlined in this procedure as applicable.
For children between 5 and 8 years of age, the following shall apply.
  • Children who obtained a DDS number when they were under age 5, MUST when they reach 5 years of age, prove that they meet Connecticut General Statute §1-1g eligibility criteria by providing documentation to support this.
  • If documentation is not received by age 8 years, a reminder letter will be sent to the family reminding them that if documentation is not received by the due date indicated, their child will be made ineligible for the services of the Department.  The Eligibility Unit will be notified and the individual will be made ineligible with a right to a hearing by the Eligibility Unit.
  • When documentation regarding eligibility is received by the region, it will be evaluated by the region.  All information in the master file will be reviewed to determine if there is sufficient information to determine eligibility based on Connecticut General Statute §1-1g.  If determined eligible, documentation will be placed in the master file.
  • If the region believes that the child does not meet the criteria of  Connecticut General Statute §1-1g, the Eligibility Unit will be notified, all regional information will be sent to the Eligibility Unit where it will be reviewed.  If found ineligible, the guardian will notified of the decision and of their right to an appeal hearing.
For persons of any age, the following shall apply.
  1. The Department may at any age re-evaluate a person’s continued eligibility based on clinical opinion, new information, or any other relevant basis that brings into question continued eligibility based on Connecticut General Statute §1-1g.  (See Eligibility for DDS Services Procedure I.A.PR.001  for more information directly related to the eligibility process.)
  2. For any consumer of the Department for whom there is documentation that brings into question continued eligibility based on Connecticut General Statute §1-1g, the region shall review the new documentation and the information in the person’s file for continued eligibility.  If determined eligible, documentation will be placed in the master file.
  3. If the region believes that the individual does not meet the criteria of Connecticut General Statute §1-1g, the Eligibility Unit will be notified and all regional information will be sent to the Eligibility Unit where it will be reviewed.  If found ineligible, the individual/guardian will notified of the decision and of their right to an appeal hearing.

Reactivation Re Evaluation KJM 9.23.13