Search Department of Developmental Services Filtered Topic Search
Department of Developmental Services

What is the Department of Developmental Services?
The Department of Developmental Services (DDS) is a state agency that provides supports and services to Connecticut residents who meets our eligibility requirements.  When individuals transition to DDS, the following types of supports can be provided: employment support, training and other habilitative self-sufficiency services offered through the Department’s Day Support Program, which includes both community and employment support services designed to increase the consumers’ independence and activity within the community.
Who is eligible for DDS services?
A person must be a resident of Connecticut and have mental retardation as defined in Connecticut General Statutes 1-1g  or  a medical diagnosis of Prader-Willi Syndrome.
General Statute 1-1g defines mental retardation as significantly sub average general intellectual functioning (IQ score of 69 or lower) existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive behavior and manifested during the developmental period (before the individual turned 18 years old). For additional information or to apply for DDS eligibility go to:
Additional Requirements
To receive supports from DDS, consumers must be eligible for Medicaid and also enroll in one of the DDS Home and Community Based Service Waivers.
Please note: Supports and Services are subject to the availability of resources and may require a waiting period.
Follow this link to the DDS fact sheet page:
Specific Fact Sheets of Interest:
Follow this link to description of DDS employment and day services:
Follow this link to list of DDS Transition Coordinators and their role:
Follow this link to information on Self Advocacy:
Follow this link to information on types of transportation: