

#### CT TEACHERS' RETIREMENT BOARD

165 CAPITOL AVENUE HARTFORD CT 06106 Toll free 1-800-504-1102 (959) 867-6333 Fax (860) 241-9295

# MINUTES August 28, 2024

A special board meeting of the Teachers' Retirement Board was held virtually on August 28, 2024. The meeting convened at 3:03 p.m.

# **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Clare Barnett, Chair, Retired Teacher Member
William Myers, Vice-Chair, Retired Teacher Member
Carrie Cassady, Active Teacher Member
Joslyn Delancey, Active Teacher Member
Lisa Heavner, Public Member
Jonathan Johnson, Public Member
Mary-Beth Lang, Retired Teacher Member
Jon Moss, Active Teacher Member
Keith Norton, State Department of Education
Edwin Vargas, Retired Teacher Member

# **ABSENT:**

Charles Higgins, Public Member Kathleen Holt, Public Member Stephen McKeever, Active Teacher Member, AFT Gregory Messner, Office of Policy and Management Ted Wright, Office of the State Treasurer

#### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Helen Sullivan, Administrator Charlene Hill, Assistant Administrator Amanda Harley, Retirement & Benefits Officer Naomi Calvi, IT Analyst

#### **ALSO PRESENT:**

Bruce Barth, Robinson & Cole Terry DeMattie, Segal Consulting

Nicolette Niedzwiecki, OFA Rita McDougald-Campbell

Karen Nolen, OPM June Bray

Robyn Kaplan-Cho, CEA Sebastian Prusik DeDe Raybuck, UnitedHealthcare Patricia Farmer Tammy Gowash, ARTC **Bonnie Sherman** Careen Jennings Paulette Powell Walter O'Connor Dan Williams Robert Buck Mary Hendrickson Jane Hillman Nancy Charest Greg Bohnsack Karen Greenstein Bonnie Lieberman Peter Mars

Mary Minichiello Sandra Bove
Agnes Riera Mimi Herald
Nancy Zukowski Patty Linardos
Kathy Hennessey Lynn Griswold
John Dresko Barbara Oppedisano

Nancy Moskowitz Bob Johnson

John Hackett Jeanne McDonagh
Mary Ann McDonald Thomas Bruenn
Marc Audet Joanne Klein
Linnea Stenberg Charlotte C.

Mimi Hostetter Patricia Marcinczyk
Moira Schiffer Jane Ellen Peregrin
Marilyn Tracy Robin Rockafellow
Arlene Foodman JoAnn Laskoski
Sue Hart Martha Williams
Judy Fitz Don Kaletsky

Douglas Fainelli Judy S.

# Call to Order

Chairperson, Clare Barnett called the regular meeting of the Teachers' Retirement Board to order at 3:03 p.m.

# 1. Approval of the Healthcare Vendor Rates.

Terry DeMattie, Segal Consulting and Helen Sullivan, Administrator provided information regarding the medical (which includes prescription, drug, vision and hearing) rates effective 01/01/2025. The member rates for the Medicare Advantage are \$94.00 per member per month. The Medicare Supplement rates are \$269.00 per member per month. The CMS changes had a great impact on the rates, causing the increases. The CMS changes are the result of the Inflation Reduction Act which Medicare is implementing for 2025. They are federal changes which none of us have control over. Open enrollment meetings will be held in person and via webinar throughout the state for members to get more information regarding the Inflation Reduction Act changes. Members can also refer to the Medicare website and information they will be receiving from UnitedHealthcare.

#### A discussion followed.

A motion was moved by Bill Myers and seconded by Edwin Vargas to approve the healthcare rates effective January 1, 2025. A roll call vote was taken, all members voted in favor and the motion was passed.

# **ADJOURNMENT:**

With no other comments, a motion was moved by Edwin Vargas and seconded by Bill Myers to adjourn the meeting. All members voted in favor and the motion was passed. The meeting was adjourned at: 3:39 p.m.