
 
 
 
 
 
        
July 10, 2008 
 
 
 
Dear Driving School Owner: 
 
 Re:   Teen Driving Law Changes 
  Driving School Two Hour Parent Training - Curriculum Standard 
  Parent/Guardian Driving Instruction Log 
 
On August 1, 2008 several changes in the laws and Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) 
procedures that relate to teen drivers take effect.  DMV Commissioner Robert M. Ward outlined 
some of those changes in his June 17, 2008 letter to you.  We will continue to provide you with 
guidance to assist you to implement these changes successfully. 
 
   Two Hour Parent Training – Curriculum Standard,  Driving Instruction Log 
 
The parent or guardian of a 16/17 year old Learner Permit holder is required to take a two hour 
parent training session with their teen, which is now included in the eight hour Safe Driving 
Course.  Enclosed is a copy of the new CT DMV Two Hour Parent Training Curriculum 
Standard for your use in developing the Two Hour Parent Training module.  One of the topics 
included in the Curriculum Standard is the Parent/Guardian Driving Instruction Log, a copy of 
which is also enclosed.  Both of these documents, and other related resources and materials are 
available on the DMV Center for Safe Teen Driving website. (http://ct.gov/teendriving). This 
component is to be incorporated without additional cost to the student or parent. 
 
The Curriculum Standard refers to the Risk Awareness Perception Training (RAPT-3), which is 
a self-guided exercise we recommend parents and teens review and practice at home.  RAPT-3 is 
an interactive training tool developed by University of Massachusetts-Amherst Engineering 
Professor Donald Fisher.  The training offers hazardous driving scenarios to teach teens and 
other novice drivers how to anticipate and safely navigate such situations.  CT DMV will soon 
provide RAPT-3 to each Driving School on a CD so that your instructors are familiar with the 
training.1 The curriculum standard only requires the driving schools to introduce the RAPT-3 
training, not preview or offer examples of it.  RAPT-3 will be available to parents and teens 
through a link on the DMV Center for Safe Teen Driving website. 
 
 
 
                                                 
1 You may view RAPT-3 now at www.ecs.umass.edu/hpl  From the Human Performance Laboratory “Welcome” 
Screen, click on “For Parents/Drivers”, then click on “ Go To Version 3.0”. 
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  25 Question Knowledge Test – Driving School Administered Tests 
 
The enclosed teen driving training steps illustration (“DMV’s Recommended Steps for Teen 
Driver Training”) may help to resolve some of the driving school industry questions about the 
sequence of the new procedures to obtain a graduated license.  While DMV will be administering 
a one-time 25 question knowledge test at the time a teen applies for a learner permit, we also 
encourage the schools to administer tests to students periodically as part of the classroom 
training.  We recommend that students avoid practice driving (on-the-road) until they show 
proficiency in the class material in the driver manual. 
 
 
 
  All Adult “First Time” Drivers – October 1, 2008 / 8 Hour Safe Driving Course 
 
In addition, the 2008 Connecticut General Assembly adopted a requirement effective October 1, 
2008, that all adults(18 years-old and older) who have never held a license in Connecticut or any 
other state must take an eight-hour Safe Driving Course prior to being licensed to drive by the 
DMV. Please plan your operations and resources to prepare for this new law. 
 
 
As always, we welcome your input, comments, and suggestions.   
 
Very truly yours, 
 
 
 
Lynn C. Blackwell 
Division Chief 1 
Division of License Integrity & Standards 
 
 
 
 
  


