

For Immediate Release: October 25, 2013

For more information: Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -

SECRETARY MERRILL RELEASES LIST OF REGISTERED WRITE-IN CANDIDATES FOR NOVEMBER 5TH MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS

SECRETARY OF THE STATE REMINDS ELIGIBLE VOTERS THAT FINAL VOTER
REGISTRATION DEADLINE IS TUESDAY OCTOBER 29TH

HARTFORD: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today released the complete list of registered write-in candidates for various seats on the ballot for the November 5, 2013 Municipal Elections. The list includes a total of 45 candidates from 30 different cities and towns in Connecticut (a complete list follows at the bottom of this news release). Write-in candidates must register with the Secretary of the state if they want to receive votes in the municipal elections on November 5, 2013, and the deadline to register was Tuesday October 22nd. Write-in candidates do not appear on the ballot but voting machines are programmed to accept votes for write-ins if they are registered with the Secretary of the State. Ballots containing votes for write-in candidates are deposited by the optical scan machines into a separate bin and those ballots are counted separately by hand after the polls close on Election Day. Secretary Merrill is also reminding all eligible voters in Connecticut that the final deadline to register to vote in-person at town or city offices is Tuesday October 29th.

"Barring any last-minute withdrawals, our list of candidates for the November 5th municipal election is now set," said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut's chief election official. "I want to make sure voters are informed about every candidate eligible to receive votes on Election Day whether their names appear on the ballot or not. This is a very important municipal election and crucial decisions on issues such as taxes, schools and infrastructure will be decided by those running for these important offices. I urge anyone at all thinking about the very important issues facing your city or town to register to vote now so your voice can be heard on November 5th! The in-person deadline to register for the election is next Tuesday October 29th at your town or city hall. Don't sit this one out – we want to hear from you on Election Day."

The following is a complete list of registered write-in candidates for political office in Connecticut in 2013:

Town	Office	Candidate
Bozrah	First Selectman	Christopher Sullivan
Bozrah	Board of Ed (4 year)	Kenneth Bomba
Bozrah	Board of Ed (4 year)	Scott R. Taylor
Bridgeport	Board of Ed (4 year)	Karen Jackson
Brookfield	Board of Assessment Appeals (4-year)	Louise Trojanowski-Marconi
Cheshire	Board of Ed (4 year)	Rodney Irizarry, Sr.
Cheshire	Town Council District 3 (2 year)	Cynthia Kleist
Clinton	Board of Ed (4 year)	Lois A. Ruggiero
Cromwell	Town Council (2 year)	Ann Marie Halibozek
Darien	First Selectman	Christian Noe
Easton	First Selectman	Valerie J. Buckley
Easton	Selectman (2 year)	John W. Bromer
Easton	Selectman (2 year)	Robert Webbe
Easton	Town Clerk	W. Derek Buckley
Easton	Town Treasurer	Randy Shapiro
Easton	Board of Ed (6 year)	Shaun Malay
East Windsor	Selectman (2 year)	Gilbert Hayes
East Windsor	Selectman (2 year)	Richard P. Pippin, Jr.
East Windsor	Board of Finance (4 year)	Kathleen B. Pippin
Fairfield	Planning & Zoning Comm.	Stephen Sivakoff
Hampton	Board of Finance (2 year)	Paul Wakely
Hartford	Board of Ed (4 year)	Joe A. Gonzalez
Harwinton	Zoning Board of Appeals (5 year)	Mark L. Gelormino
Killingly	Council District 4 (2 year)	John Hallbergh
Montville	Town Council (2 year)	Rosette Jones
New Haven	Mayor	Roger Uihlein
New Haven	Alderman District 11	Patricia L. DePalma
New Haven	Alderman District 25	Aaron Freeman
New Haven	Alderman District 25	Michael J. Pinto
New Haven	Alderman District 27	Kevin H. Diggs
New Milford	Mayor	Doyle Z. Lian
North Haven	First Selectman	Richard T. Hannon, III
Ridgefield	Police Comm. (4 year)	John M. McNicholas
Salisbury	Board of Ed (4 year)	Emily Egan
Seymour	First Selectman	Gary D. Bruce
Somers	Board of Ed (4 year)	Janice Martin
Southbury	First Selectman	Joseph J. Bianchini
Stamford	Mayor	John J. Zito, Jr.
Stratford	Council Member Dist. 4 (2 year)	Claire H. Martin
Torrington	Mayor	Jacque A. Williams
Voluntown	First Selectman	Thomas Sweet

Waterbury	Mayor	Willie Flowers
West Haven	Mayor	John Picard
Windham	Mayor	Ernest S. Eldridge
Windham	Board of Finance (2 year)	Anita Sebestyen

Polls will be open from 6:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. on Tuesday November 5, 2013 for municipal elections in the vast majority of Connecticut cities and towns. Secretary Merrill encourages voters to go online at www.sots.ct.gov and find out more information about the upcoming municipal elections including:

- Download a voter registration
- Download an application for an absentee ballot
- View your town or city ballot
- Find out if you are registered to vote
- Look up where your polling place is located