

For Immediate Release: July 17, 2012

For more information: Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

-PRESS RELEASE-

## MERRILL: AT LEAST 24 STATE AND FEDERAL PRIMARIES IN CONNECTICUT ON AUGUST 14<sup>TH</sup> BALLOT

SECRETARY OF THE STATE ENCOURAGES UNAFFILIATED VOTERS TO ENROLL WITH MAJOR PARTY IN ORDER TO CAST 2012 STATEWIDE PRIMARY BALLOTS

HARTFORD: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today announced that registered Democrats and Republicans in Connecticut will be able to vote on August 14, 2012 in at least 24 primaries for federal and state elections. Primaries will be held for Republican and Democratic voters for the offices of United States Senator, Congress, General Assembly, Registrar of Voters and Probate Judge. Statewide, Republicans in Connecticut are eligible to cast ballots in a total of at least five primaries, depending on their geographic location. Democratic voters statewide can vote in a total of at least 19 primaries, depending on their community of residence. A list of primaries on the ballot for August 14, 2012 can be found below.

"It is important that voters are fully aware of the primaries taking place on August 14th," said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut's chief elections official. "Some of the most closely watched Congressional races in the country are being contested in Connecticut. I encourage registered Democrats and Republicans to find out about the candidates and make their voices heard on primary day by casting ballots. Critical issues such as our economy and our state budget are at stake and will be impacted by the decisions made by those we choose to represent us in Hartford and Washington, DC. The more than 800,000 unaffiliated voters in Connecticut should also know they can take part in choosing Democratic or Republican candidates by enrolling with either party by August 13<sup>th</sup> at noon."

Secretary Merrill is reminding Connecticut citizens of the upcoming deadline to register to vote in the August 14 primary. To register to vote by mail, voter registration cards must be received by local Registrars of Voters by August 9<sup>th</sup>. Voting age citizens and 17-year-olds who will turn 18 by the general election can also register in-person at town offices until Monday, August 13<sup>th</sup> at 12:00 p.m. Unaffiliated voters face those same deadlines if they wish to enroll with a party in order to vote in the primaries. Polls will be open for registered Democrats and Republicans on Primary Day August 14, 2012 from 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Voters can visit <a href="www.sots.ct.gov">www.sots.ct.gov</a> to learn how to register to vote, check their registration status, find their polling location, download absentee ballot applications, and view candidate lists.

The following primaries reported to the Office of the Secretary of the State will be on the ballot on August 14, 2012 (\* denotes party endorsed candidate):

<u>Office</u>	<b>Party</b>	<b>Candidate</b>
United States Senator	Republican	*Linda E. McMahon Christopher Shays
United States Senator	Democratic	*Christopher S. Murphy Susan Bysiewicz
Representative in Congress – 2	Republican	*Paul M. Formica Daria Novack
Representative in Congress – 5	Republican	*Andrew Roraback Justin Bernier Lisa Wilson Foley Mark Greenberg
Representative in Congress – 5	Democratic	*Chris Donovan Elizabeth Esty Dan Roberti
State Senate – 19	Democratic	*Tom Reynolds Catherine A. Osten
State Senate – 23	Democratic	*Ernest E. Newton II Andres Ayala, Jr. Edwin A. Gomes
State Senate – 33	Democratic	*James Crawford Mary Ellen Klinck
Assembly District – 3	Democratic	*Minnie Gonzalez Victor M. Luna, Jr.
Assembly District – 5	Democratic	*Leo Canty Brandon McGee Donald Trinks

<u>Office</u>	<b>Party</b>	<b>Candidate</b>
Assembly District – 6	Democratic	*Edwin Vargas, Jr. Hector Luis Robles
Assembly District – 13	Democratic	*Joe Diminico Tom Gullotta
Assembly District – 35	Democratic	*Tom Vicino Tony A. Palermo
Assembly District – 58	Democratic	*Kathy Tallarita David Alexander
Assembly District – 63	Democratic	*Michael J. Renzullo Doug Bendetto
Assembly District – 75	Democratic	*Victor Cuevas David Aldarondo
Assembly District – 91	Democratic	*John P. Flanagan Michael C. D'Agostino
Assembly District – 107	Republican	*Harold A. Shaker David A. Scribner
Assembly District – 116	Democratic	*Louis P. Esposito, Jr. David C. Forsyth
Assembly District - 128	Democratic	*Christina M. Ayala Angel Reyes
Assembly District – 132	Democratic	*Sue Brand Kevin Coyner
Hamden – Bethany Probate District	Democratic	*Craig B. Henrici Edward C. Burt, Jr.
Registrar of Voters - Hartford	Republican	*Salvatore A. Bramante Nyesha C. McCauley
Registrar of Voters – Hartford	Democratic	*Ramon L. Arroyo Olga Iris Vazquez