

For Immediate Release: May 25, 2012 For more information: Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -

MERRILL: FIFTH GRADERS WRITE ABOUT HISTORICAL EVENTS AND INVENTIONS IN CONNECTICUT

SECRETARY OF THE STATE HONORS DOZENS OF STUDENTS FROM ACROSS CONNECTICUT FOR THEIR WINNING ESSAYS

Hartford: Surrounded by 25 aspiring writers, Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today presented awards to the winners of her office's 17th Annual Essay Contest at a ceremony in the Old Judiciary Room of the State Capitol. More than 400 fifth graders from 38 different schools across Connecticut submitted essays this year. Students were asked to discuss an important event or invention from Connecticut that has significantly affected the history of our state. They were asked to answer the question "How is the impact of this event or invention still felt today?"

"Connecticut is a small state, yet we have had an extraordinary number of innovations in science and industry, not to mention the dozens of historically impactful events that have happened here," said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut's chief elections official. "I am very impressed with these students and the grasp they have on Connecticut's history. They also seem to understand that they too can one day play an important part in history, or create some fantastic invention that can save or improve lives all over the world. There is no telling what kind of inspiring ideas may flow from this writing exercise that may one day themselves make a huge difference in the lifetime of these young writers."

A set of five winning essays was selected from each of Connecticut's five congressional districts. Each set consisted of a 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winner, along with two students who received honorable mention. Every student honored at today's event received a gift certificate from Barnes & Noble bookstore.



2012 Essay Contest Winners

The essay contest winners are listed below:

Congressional District 1

1st Place, Kasia Janus, Elisabeth Bennet Academy, Manchester 2nd Place, James Marks, Whiting Lane School, West Hartford 3rd Place, Erin Burroughs, Eli Terry Elementary School, South Windsor Honorable Mention, Kayla Wright, Carmen Arace Intermediate School, Bloomfield Honorable Mention, Hannah Sullivan, Elisabeth M Bennet Academy, Manchester

Congressional District 2

1st Place, Marlene Healey, GH Robertson, Coventry
2nd Place, Garrett W Smith, Westbrook Middle School, Westbrook
3rd Place, Abigail Orbe, Mohegan Elementary, Uncasville
Honorable Mention, Jessica Williams, Hebron Elementary School, Hebron
Honorable Mention, Kyle Robison, Westbrook Middle School, Westbrook

Congressional District 3

1st Place, Salome Campos, Edgewood Magnet School, New Haven 2nd Place, Kayla Jefferson, Edgewood Magnet School, New Haven 3rd Place, Campbell Doyens, Edgewood Magnet School, New Haven Honorable Mention, Henry Hall, Edgewood Magnet School, New Haven Honorable Mention, Sofia Wilson, Edgewood Magnet School, New Haven

Congressional District 4

1st Place, Kyle Beck, Daniels Farm School, Trumbull
2nd Place, Jessica Sokal, Fawn Hollow Elementary School, Monroe
3rd Place, Megha Gaur, Daniels Farm School, Trumbull
Honorable Mention, Adith Velavan, Frenchtown Elementary School, Trumbull
Honorable Mention. Jordan Peck, Perry Hill School, Shelton

Congressional District 5

1st Place, Ryan Berlinger, Sherman School, Sherman 2nd Place, Danielle Katz, Whisconier Middle School, Brookfield 3rd Place, Lauren McCarthy, Whisconier School, Brookfield Honorable Mention, Bridget Fedigan, Sherman School, Sherman Honorable Mention, Brendan Smith, Warren School, Warren