

State of Connecticut Emergency Response Commission

Minutes of Regular Meeting November 21, 2024

The meeting was held **online**.

- 1. The meeting came to order at 1:35 p.m.
- 2. Introductions and welcomes
- 3. The September 2024 Meeting Minutes were approved on a motion by Bob Araujo, seconded by Kyle Zimmer.
- 4. On a motion by Anthony Salvatore, seconded by Robert Araujo, all members agreed to maintain the same calendar schedule for 2025, specifically, the third Thursday of odd-numbered months, from 1:30 p.m. 3:30 p.m. and also agreed on nominating the current officers to serve another two-year term, to be considered and voted on at the January 2025 meeting. It was noted that if anyone wishes to nominate themselves or others they may inform the chair prior to the January meeting. Current officers are Chair Gerard Goudreau, Vice-Chair Robart Araujo, Secretary Jeffrey Morrissette. The Secretary of State's State Agency Public Meeting Calendar (online) and the SERC webpage will be updated with the meeting dates for 2025.
- 5. State Fire Administrator Jeff Morrissette provided Hazardous Materials Emergency Preparedness (HMEP) Grant Training Activities updates. Regional Fire School hazmat training has been conducted in the past months and additional hazmat training will be offered at the CT Fire Academy February 21-23, 2025. The HMEP grant provided for the purchase of 2 electric vehicle fire blankets that will be used to train responders. This training need was identified as part of preparations for this year's exercise, which focused on responding to a hazardous material [emissions from a burning electric vehicle battery] incident on a ferry in Long Island Sound. This scenario was a drill.
- 6. As a follow up to the September 2024 exercise in DEMHS Region 4 it is possible there will be a field component this winter. Bill Seward of the CT State Fire Academy is assessing the feasibility and will coordinate if possible.
- 7. State Emergency Response Commission Director Diane Duva and State Emergency Management Director Bill Turner identified steps taken and planned to update LEPCs, including acquisition of an online platform for LEPCs to submit their plans. An overview of this system will be provided at the January 2025 meeting. Robert Araujo recommended conferring with the Councils of Government regarding any information they have from towns within their region on current or future plans to

regionalize LEPCs. Steve Huleatt of the Capitol Region Council of Governments/Capitol Region Emergency Planning Council offered to describe their experiences working as a region.

- a. Updates LEPC status and plans: No new LEPC designations were identified.
- b. Diane Duva noted that the <u>LEPC map</u> and the <u>LEPC Chairperson database</u> are dynamic and if updates are needed, please send an email with those revisions to the <u>DEEP.CTEPCRA@ct.gov</u> email address.
- 8. A Commodity Flow Study for the state is being planned, as resources allow.
- 9. Information sharing between Agencies and partners. Highlights included: State Emergency Management Director Turner flagged summarized the ongoing state response to drought-induced wildfires outbreak that accelerated in October and noted that the state is working with FEMA on a Fire Management Assistance Grant. Jeff Morrissette noted that all eight regional foam trailers have been delivered with non-AFFF concentrate and staged at local fire departments near key transportation locations across the state. He noted that 150 units of local fire apparatus have requested and are receiving reimbursement for draining AFFF concentrate. Additional information sharing by commission members and partners. Karen Way of EPA noted that she is arranging for testing of Geographic Response Strategies for the Housatonic River, possibly at 3 locations, in 2025. Carlyn McGowan of EPA introduced herself as the state coordinator for emergency response actions for Connecticut. The CISA ChemLock program training that is available to facilities at their site or via online training was flagged along with other training and resources in the Meeting Guide [slides].

Notably, Bill Abbott, State Fire Marshal, announced that he will retire December 1, 2024. A Certificate of Appreciation for his many years of service to the SERC, LEPCs, and to the state was presented. Members expressed their gratitude for his assistance over the years and the value of his technical expertise, which has supported numerous operations, responses, and consultations.

- 10. Public Comments: There were no public comments.
- 11. Adjournment 2:25 p.m. on a motion by Bob Araujo, seconded by Bill Abbott.

Attendance	Commission Members
Ν	Gerard P. Goudreau – Chairperson Facility member
У	Diane W. Duva , Director, Planning Office, Emergency Response and Spill Prevention Div., CT Department of Energy and Environmental Protection [<i>also</i> <i>Lori Saliby, Drew Kukucka</i>]

У	Jeffrey Morrissette, State Fire Administrator CT Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
У	David Kallander , Ph.D., Toxicologist; Environmental and Occupational Health Assessment Program/Preparedness CT Department of Public Health
У	Jason Coite Environmental Compliance, Bureau of Engineering and Construction, CT Department of Transportation [<i>also Andrew Morrill, Diana</i> <i>Palmer, Steven Jamele</i>]
У	William Turner, Director, Emergency Management, Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security, CT Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
n	Jeff Saltus, CONN-OSHA CT Department of Labor
Y	Matthew LaFayette, Budget Analyst, Budget and Financial Management Division CT Office of Policy and Management
У	William Abbott, State Fire Marshal, Office of State Fire Marshal, Division of Construction Services CT Department of Administrative Services
У	LTC Benjamin Neumon, Connecticut Military Department
n	Chief John C. Littell, Tolland Fire Department, Volunteer Fire Department member
Y	Chief Edward N. Richards , Enfield Fire Department, Municipal Fire Department member
Y	Robert J. Araujo, Facility member
N [sick]	Lisa Morrissey, CT DPH Deputy Commissioner, Facility member
n	Robert Ross, Public member

Y	Anthony Salvatore, Town Manager, Cromwell, Public member
Y	Kyle Zimmer, Jr., Public member

Also present:

Karen Way, Carlyn McGowan, US EPA; Francis Patno, DHS/CISA; Steve Huleatt, CREPC/CRCOG; Jean McInnis, Mohegan Tribe of Indians of Connecticut; Bob Kovach, environmental consultant/member of the public.