

State of Connecticut Emergency Response Commission

Minutes of Regular Meeting May 16, 2024 at 1:30 PM

The meeting was held **online** *and* **in-person at CT DESPP-DEMHS Headquarters**, 1111 Country Club Road, Middletown.

- 1. The meeting came to order at 1:35 p.m.
- 2. Introductions and welcomes
- 3. The March 2024 Meeting Minutes were approved on a motion by Bob Araujo, seconded by Jeff Morrissette.
- 4. Jeff Morrissette provided Hazardous Materials Emergency Preparedness (HMEP) Grant Training Activities updates.
- 5. Bill Seward provided updates on planning for 2024 exercise in Southeast Connecticut [September 13 & 14]. Jason Coite will provide contact information for the CT Port Authority to provide them situational awareness and welcome participation if they choose.
- 6. Bill Turner and Diane Duva led discussions on strategies to update LEPC status and plans;
 - a. No new LEPC designations were identified.
 - b. Diane Duva reviewed the updated <u>LEPC map</u> and the <u>LEPC Chairperson database</u> and noted that these are dynamic and requested that anyone who is aware of updates please send an email with those revisions to the <u>DEEP.CTEPCRA@ct.gov</u> email address.
 - c. Bob Araujo and others described strategies for focusing LEPCs on updating their status and on their plans.
- 7. A Commodity Flow Study for the state will be initiated in the coming months and was discussed. Progress is being made in determining the project management.
- 8. Information sharing between Agencies and partners; Updates on Current Issues; Ideas and requests for future meeting topics. Len Wallace provided an overview of recent EPCRA enforcement in Connecticut. Fran Patno summarized the CISA ChemLock program-training is available to facilities at their site; or online training is available, dates were shared. Idea for a future topic included inviting the Norwalk Fire Chief and DEMHS staff to provide an after action review summary for the recent I-95 Norwalk fire. Additional information sharing.
- 9. Public Comments: There were no public comments.
- 10. Adjournment 3:15 p.m. on a motion by Bob Araujo, seconded by Jeff Morrissette.

Attendance	Commission Members
У	Gerard P. Goudreau – Chairperson Facility member
У	Diane W. Duva, Director, State Emergency Response Commission/Assistant Division Director, Remediation Division CT Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
У	Jeffrey Morrissette, State Fire Administrator CT Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
n	David Kallander, Ph.D., Toxicologist; Environmental and Occupational Health Assessment Program/Preparedness CT Department of Public Health
У	Jason Coite, Environmental Compliance, Bureau of Engineering and Construction CT Department of Transportation
У	Bill Turner; Jonathan Hartenbaum, Regional Coordinator for William Turner, Director, Emergency Management, Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security CT Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
n	Jeff Saltus, CONN-OSHA CT Department of Labor
У	Matthew LaFayette, Budget Analyst, Budget and Financial Management Division CT Office of Policy and Management
N [contacted to say schedule conflict]	William Abbott, State Fire Marshal Office of State Fire Marshal, Division of Construction Services CT Department of Administrative Services
Υ	CST Col. MacSweeney, Capt. Donlon for LTC Benjamin Neumon Connecticut Military Department
n	Chief John C. Littell, Tolland Fire Department
	Volunteer Fire Department member
n	Chief Edward N. Richards, Enfield Fire Department
	Municipal Fire Department member
У	Robert J. Araujo, Facility member

n	Lisa Morrissey, CT DPH Deputy Commissioner
У	Robert Ross, Public member
У	Anthony Salvatore, Town Manager, Cromwell, member
n	Kyle Zimmer, Jr., Public member

Also present:

Diana Palmer, Andrew Morrill, CT DOT; Len Wallace, US EPA; Fran Patno, US DHS CISA; Steve Huleatt, CREPC/CRCOG; Bill Seward, CT Fire Academy; Andrew Morrill, Diana Palmer, CT DOT; Bob Kovach, environmental consultant/member of the public