

## State of Connecticut Emergency Response Commission

## Minutes of Regular Meeting March 21, 2024 at 1:30 PM

The meeting was held **online** *and* **in-person at CT DESPP-DEMHS Headquarters**, 1111 Country Club Road, Middletown.

- 1. The meeting came to order at 1:35 p.m.
- 2. Introductions and welcomes
- 3. The January 2024 Meeting Minutes were approved on a motion by Bill Abbott, seconded by Bob Araujo.
- 4. Jeff Morrissette provided Hazardous Materials Emergency Preparedness (HMEP) Grant Training Activities updates.
- 5. Planning for 2024 exercise in Southeast Connecticut [September] continued.
- 6. Diane Duva provided an update on the status of Tier II Reporting cycle for 2023 reporting year. Approximately 2100 facilities submitted Tier II Chemical Inventory reports.
- 7. Updates on LEPC status and plans;
  - a. No new LEPC designations were identified.
  - b. Diane Duva provide an overview of the updated <u>LEPC map</u> and the <u>LEPC Chairperson</u> <u>database</u> and noted that these are dynamic and requested that anyone who is aware of updates please direct them to the <u>DEEP.CTEPCRA@ct.gov</u> email.
- 8. The members discussed the need to update the Commodity Flow Study for the state and agreed to proceed with pursuing such study.
- 9. Information sharing between Agencies and partners; Updates on Current Issues; Ideas and requests for future meeting topics. Among other information shared Jonathan Hartenbaum of DEMHS noted that the CT Conference of Municipalities/DEMHS Emergency Management Symposium is April 23 at Camp Nett, Niantic.
- 10. Public Comments: There were no public comments.
- 11. Adjournment 3:35 p.m. on a motion by Bob Araujo, seconded by Bill Abbott.

## Attendance 03-21-2024 DRAFT

In attendance?	Member
No	Gerard P. Goudreau – Chairperson Facility member
Yes	Diane W. Duva, Director, Planning Office, Emergency Response and Spill Prevention Div. CT Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
Yes	Jeffrey Morrissette, State Fire Administrator CT Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
Yes	David Kallander, Ph.D., Toxicologist; Environmental and Occupational Health Assessment Program/Preparedness CT Department of Public Health
Yes	Jason Coite Environmental Compliance, Bureau of Engineering and Construction CT Department of Transportation
Yes	Jonathan Hartenbaum, Regional Coordinator for William Turner, Director, Emergency Management, Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security CT Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
No	Jeff Saltus, CONN-OSHA CT Department of Labor
Yes	Matthew LaFayette, Budget Analyst, Budget and Financial Management Division CT Office of Policy and Management
Yes	William Abbott, State Fire Marshal Office of State Fire Marshal, Division of Construction Services CT Department of Administrative Services
Yes	Col. Joseph Roden for LTC Benjamin NeumonConnecticut Military Department
No	Chief John C. Littell, Tolland Fire Department  Volunteer Fire Department member
Yes	Chief Edward N. Richards, Enfield Fire Department  Municipal Fire Department member
Yes	Robert J. Araujo, Facility member

No	Lisa Morrissey, CT DPH Deputy Commissioner
Yes	Robert Ross, Public member
Yes	Anthony Salvatore, Town Manager, Cromwell, member
No	Kyle Zimmer, Jr., Public member

Also present for some or all of meeting: Andrew Morrill, CT DOT; Karen Way, US EPA; Charles Colley, CISA; Jean McInnis, Mohegan Tribal Nation; Steven Huleatt, CREPC/CRCOG; Bob Kovach, environmental consultant

