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I. Statutory and Regulatory Authority 

 
The Surrogate Parent Program is a federally mandated program (34 Code of Federal 

Regulations [CFR] § 300.519) that provides educational advocacy services for children and 

youth under the jurisdiction of the Department of Children and Families (DCF) (foster 

children) or an unaccompanied minor or homeless youth (34 CFR § 300.519[f]), who need or 

may need special education.  
 

State statute (Connecticut General Statutes [CGS] § 10-94g) currently calls for a surrogate 

to be appointed when: 

1. a child may require special education, or a child who required special education no longer 

requires such education but requires or may require services under Section 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended from time to time; 

2. the parent or guardian of such child cannot be identified; 

3. the whereabouts of the parent cannot be discovered after reasonable efforts to locate the 

parent have been made; 

4. such child is a ward of the state; or 
5. such child is an unaccompanied and homeless youth. 

 

Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies (RCSA) §§ 10-94j-1 to 10-94j-9, inclusive, 

pertain to the appointment and training of surrogate parents. 

 
See Attachment A for Statutory and Regulatory authority. 

 

 

II. Initial Surrogate Parent Assignment 
 

A. Student Eligibility for Surrogate Parent 

 

A surrogate parent must be appointed by the Connecticut State Department of Education 

(CSDE) to represent a student whenever the student requires or may require special 

education and at least one of the following is applicable to the student’s situation: 

1. no parent or guardian of the student can be identified or located after reasonable 

efforts, or is unavailable;  

2. the student is committed to the guardianship of the Commissioner of DCF; 

3. the Commissioner of DCF is the child’s statutory parent; or 
4. the student is an unaccompanied or homeless youth. 

 

Students Exited from Special Education to 504 Plan 

For students who are exited from special education as determined by a planning and 

placement team (PPT) due to determination that the student no longer requires special 
education, the student will remain eligible for surrogate parent representation if the child 

requires or may require services under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and at 

least one of the following remains applicable to the child’s situation: 

1. no parent or guardian of the child can be identified or located after reasonable efforts; 
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2. the child is committed to the guardianship of the Commissioner of DCF; 

3. the Commissioner of DCF is the child’s statutory parent; or 
4. the child is an unaccompanied and homeless youth. 

 

Once a student reaches the age of majority, 18 years of age, unless the student is determined 

by a court to be incompetent under state law, a school district must provide all notices 

required under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) to both the student 
and the student’s parent/surrogate parent.  All other rights accorded to parents under IDEA, 

transfer to the student at the age of majority (18 years of age). 

 

Once a student assigned a surrogate parent reaches 18 years of age, the student is eligible for 

surrogate parent services until he/she graduate high school or until the day before the student 
turns 22, whichever comes first.  When the student turns 18, the surrogate parent’s role 

changes and is defined by a contract outlined in the Form SP-500 (see forms section).  The 

surrogate parent must obtain the signature of the student or plenary guardian or conservator 

on the SP-500 requesting that surrogate parent services continue beyond age 18 and defines 

the scope of service.  
 

If there has been a change of surrogate parent after the student turns 18, the newly assigned 

surrogate parent must obtain authorization to advocate by obtaining a signed SP-500. 

 

As long as the student meets the criteria for surrogate parent eligibility up until his/her 18th 
birthday, the child remains eligible for a surrogate parent to ensure that the student continues 

to have access to a free and appropriate public education (FAPE) until one of the following 

occurs: 

1. the student is no longer eligible for special education; 

2. the student is no longer eligible for services needed for FAPE under Section 504; 
3. the student is determined by a court to be incompetent, under state law, and a 

guardian is appointed who has the authority to represent the student in educational 

matters and the guardian does not request the services of a surrogate parent for the 

student; or 

4. the student is determined by a court to be incompetent, under state law, and a plenary 
guardian or conservator is appointed and does not authorize the services of a 

surrogate parent for the student. 

 

B. Surrogate Parent Assignment 
 

The CSDE contracts with individuals, who are available for statewide travel and are available 

to communicate by e-mail, telephone and mail on a consistent basis, to provide surrogate 

parent representation to eligible children.   

 

Surrogate parents are independent contractors and are NOT employees of the State 

Department of Education.  The Surrogate Parent Office ensures that at least one contracted 

surrogate parent is available to accept new cases in each location in which Connecticut 

children are placed.  Often, more than one surrogate parent has responsibilities in the same 

town and school.   
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Upon receiving information from DCF that a Connecticut child is eligible for surrogate 
parent representation, a surrogate parent is assigned within thirty (30) days of receipt of the 

Form DCF-603.  See forms section for a sample DCF-603 form.   

 

Typically, individual assignments are initially based on the town in which the student’s 

educational placement is located and within a fifty (50) mile radius of the Surrogate Parent’s 
home address.  Thereafter, when a child changes residence or school, the goal of program is 

to provide as much stability and continuity for children as possible and therefore we strive to 

maintain the same surrogate appointment unless the travel time presents extenuating 

circumstances for the Surrogate Parent.  If a student’s file is closed but is reopened by DCF 

at a later time, the Surrogate Parent Office will appoint the same surrogate parent to the 
student, if that surrogate parent is available to take the assignment.  

 

C. Notification of Assignment 

 

The Surrogate Parent Office enters the assignment information in the Surrogate Parent Office 
database, issues and forwards a copy of the surrogate parent assignment letter (see 

Attachment B) by e-mail to: 

1. the child’s surrogate parent; 

2. the child’s fiscally responsible school district (nexus); 

3. the site of the child’s educational services, or if the Surrogate Parent Office does not 
have that information, the school district which provides educational services to 

students of the child’s age who reside in the same town as the child; 

4. the case worker of the DCF or other agency involved in the placement (residential or 

educational) of the student. 

 

See Attachment B for a sample of the assignment letter. 

 

Occasionally, a surrogate parent will be advised by a school district staff member, facility 

staff member, agency staff member, or another surrogate parent that the individual is a 

child’s new surrogate parent.  If the surrogate parent has not been so advised of his/her 
assignment to the student in writing by the Surrogate Parent Office, the surrogate parent 

should contact the Surrogate Parent Office and obtain written confirmation that he/she has 

been appointed as the surrogate parent for the student in question. 

 

A surrogate parent must not represent a child unless one of the following has occurred: 

1. the surrogate parent has received an assignment letter from the Surrogate Parent 

Office; or 

2. the surrogate parent has received an e-mail confirmation of assignment from the 

Surrogate Parent Office. 
 

D. No Assumption of Assignment 

 

An individual may not provide surrogate parent representation to a child unless that 

individual has been appointed by the Surrogate Parent Office as the child’s surrogate parent.  
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A surrogate parent must be certain that he or she is authorized by the Surrogate Parent Office 

to serve as a child’s surrogate parent prior to representing the child before receiving any 

confidential information by mail, email or in meeting or other discussions.  Unauthorized 

representation may result in the termination of the individual surrogate parent’s contract. 

 

E. No Substitutes 

 
A surrogate parent may not arrange for another individual to represent one or more of the 

students assigned to that the surrogate parent during a period of time in which the surrogate 

parent is unavailable.  Informally-arranged “substitute surrogate parents” or “stand-in 

surrogate parents” are not allowed, whether arranged by a child’s surrogate parent or by a 

school district or a DCF worker. 
 

In the event that a child requires services by a surrogate parent and the child’s surrogate 

parent is unavailable to represent the child, for whatever reason, the Surrogate Parent Office 

will appoint another individual as the child’s surrogate parent.  Depending upon the situation, 

the child’s new surrogate may remain as the child’s surrogate parent even after the previous 
surrogate parent becomes available.  In the event the previous surrogate parent wishes to be 

reappointed as the child’s surrogate parent, approval must be received in writing. 

 

 

III. Assignment of Students 
 

A. Duration of Assignment 

The individual who has been appointed as a child’s surrogate parent continues to serve as 

the child’s surrogate parent until one of the following occurs: 

1. it is determined that the child is no longer eligible to receive the services of a 
Connecticut appointed surrogate parent due to, but not limited to, one of the 

following reasons: 

a. graduation from high school; 

b. student reaches maximum age of eligibility; 

c. DCF guardianship has ended due to transfer or guardianship or student is returned 
to care of the parent, including protective supervision, or adoption; 

d. Student is not eligible for special education services; 

2. the child is at least 18 years old, has not been found (by a court) to be incompetent, 

and has declared in writing on the Form SP-500 that he/she no longer wishes to have 
a surrogate parent.  A copy of this form must be submitted to the Surrogate Parent 

Office (see Form SP-500) and included in the student’s file; or 

3. it is determined that a surrogate parent should not have been appointed to represent 

the child, and the surrogate parent assignment is terminated by the Surrogate Parent 

Office due to error made in the original request from DCF; or 
4. another individual is appointed by the Surrogate Parent Office to serve as the child’s 

surrogate parent. 
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B. “Whereabouts Unknown” or “AWOL” 

 
Occasionally, the whereabouts of a child become unknown, usually because the child has 

run away from a foster home or another type of residence.  In such situations, the 

surrogate parent must attempt for no more than three (3) consecutive months (or 

ninety (90) days) to determine the location of the child by contacting the nexus school 

district, DCF and any other appropriate agency likely to have knowledge of the child’s 
whereabouts, in writing (by e-mail when possible).  The surrogate parent should 

maintain a record of the attempts to determine the child’s whereabouts.  In the event 

that the location of the child cannot be discovered, after three (3) months (ninety (90) 

days) of attempts the surrogate parent shall return the file with a Form SP-206 and 

indicate that the child is now “whereabouts unknown,” also referred to as AWOL.  
The Surrogate Parent Office will close the case.  In the event the student’s whereabouts 

become known, a surrogate will be reappointed.   

 

C. Drop Out 

 

One of the core goals of the Surrogate Parent Program is to have our students 

graduate from high school.  Occasionally, a child who is eligible for surrogate parent 

representation will choose to refuse educational services despite the encouragement of 

the surrogate parent and other individuals.  

 
In such situations, the surrogate parent should maintain a record of the efforts made to 

encourage the student to remain in school and the student’s stated reasons for wanting to 

drop out.  The surrogate parent should specifically inform the student that he/she is 

eligible to receive the help of a surrogate parent until the end of the day before the 

student turns 22.  If the student refuses education services, the surrogate parent shall close 
the file and return it to the Surrogate Parent Office with a Form SP-206.  If the student 

returns to participate in education services and requests the re-assignment of a surrogate 

parent, a surrogate parent may be appointed as appropriate. 

 

D. Adult Education 
 

Occasionally, a student who is eligible for surrogate parent representation will choose to 

drop out of school, despite the advice of the surrogate parent, and will enroll in adult 

education.  In such situations, the surrogate parent shall notify the Surrogate Parent 
Office and return the file to be closed with a Form SP- 206.  The Surrogate Parent Office 

will close the file until such time the student requests the re-assignment of a surrogate 

parent.  However, be aware that if the PPT develops an individualized education program 

(IEP) that includes participation in a nontraditional educational program, as has occurred 

on some occasions, the child continues to have active status and representation may 
continue. 
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E. Unable to Advocate Adequately 
 

If an individual indicates to the Surrogate Parent Office that he/she is unable to advocate 

adequately as the surrogate parent for a particular child, either due to a possible conflict 

of interest or extended unavailability or any other reason, the Surrogate Parent Office will 

appoint another individual as the child’s surrogate parent. 
 

F. Change of Residence, School Or Nexus 

 

The Surrogate Parent Office strives to provide stability and continuity for the children 

served by surrogate parents.  Statewide travel as well as occasional out-of-state travel is 
necessary, at times, to meet the needs of the child.  If the Surrogate Parent Office receives 

notification (typically from the surrogate parent, DCF or a school district) that a child has 

changed the town of residence or school, the surrogate parent will stay assigned to the 

student. 

 
If the student is moved to a foster home or residence out-of-state, the surrogate parent 

should notify the Surrogate Parent Office and discuss if travel is necessary to contiguous 

states (Massachusetts, New York or Rhode Island).  If a student is placed in a non-

contiguous state, the surrogate parent may communicate with the education staff and 

participate in PPTs with the receiving schools by phone or virtual means to assist in the 
transition, until guardianship is transferred or the surrogate parent services are no longer 

needed and can close the case.   

 

 

IV. Required Duties and Responsibilities 
 

The Surrogate Parent is required by contract to perform the duties within the guidelines of 

the Surrogate Parent Program Procedures Manual. 

A. Caseload:  The Surrogate Parent shall represent a minimum of ten (10) cases of assigned 

foster children in the educational decision-making process.   
 

1. The maximum agreed upon number of cases that a Surrogate Parent will accept will 

not be altered by the Surrogate Parent without an amendment to the contract.  

2. The Surrogate Parent shall agree to travel up 50 miles from home address or to 100 
miles roundtrip to provide services to an assigned child. 

3. The Surrogate Parent will not refuse assignments based on the location of the school 

in which the child attends (i.e., urban, suburban or rural setting) unless there are 

extenuating circumstances preapproved by the Surrogate Parent Program. 

4. The Surrogate Parent shall email surrogate.office@ct.gov when a file is to be closed 
and return the file to the office in a timely manner as described in Attachment D. 

 

B. Meeting Requirements:  The Surrogate Parent shall conduct a minimum of three (3) 

meetings or visits per year for each of the assigned students.   

 

mailto:surrogate.office@ct.gov
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1. Of the three (3) meetings or visits, one (1) must be a PPT annual review meeting.  

However, surrogate parents are expected to attend all PPT meetings. 
2. Two (2) of such visits or meetings must be on-site meetings or a visits with the 

student (such as a student observation).  One (1) visit must occur between July and 

December and the other must occur between January and June.   

3. Observations or meetings with assigned students are mandatory. If the school 

district where the student is attending refuses to allow the surrogate parent to observe 
the student in class or meet with the student, the surrogate parent should contact the 

Surrogate Parent Program Coordinator. 

4. Any additional meetings (i.e., preparation of and attendance at due process hearings) 

shall be based on the educational plan and needs of the student. 

5. Meetings or visits may include any one of the following: 
a. Attendance at all PPT meetings as necessary beyond the annual review; 

b. Observation of assigned children in education settings (30 minute minimum per 

session); 

c. Participation in 504 team meetings for students who previously were eligible for 

special education services; 
d. Participation in manifestation determination reviews for suspensions or 

expulsions and at expulsion hearings; 

e. Participation in a mediation pursuant to the due process proceedings; 

f. Participation in due process hearings; and 

g. Participation in required training convened or authorized by the CSDE Surrogate 
Program Coordinator. 

 

C. Routines Duties:  The surrogate parent shall engage in the following routine duties and 

responsibilities:  
 

1. Maintaining and updating each student’s file folder (also see section V. B. below); 

2. Returning files to the Surrogate Parent Office at case closing; 

3. Providing annual written updates of student’s progress to the CSDE Surrogate 
Program Coordinator; 

4. Participating in other duties and activities as reasonably requested by the CSDE 

Surrogate Program Coordinator. 

 
D. DCF Meetings:  The surrogate parent may also be invited to participate in DCF 

coordinated meetings.  Surrogate parents will be required to sign DCF Confidentiality 

Statements.  Attendance at the following meetings is discretionary and may be in person 

or by phone.  If participating via telephone, confidentiality is implied. 

 
1. Administrative Case Reviews (ACR) meetings.  The surrogate parent may be asked 

by DCF and/or the parties to leave the meeting if the topics discussed are deemed to 

be private and beyond the scope of the surrogate parent’s educational decision-

making authority. 

2. Placement Review Team (PRT) meetings are focused on discussion of decisions 
related to clinical treatment of the student which may affect educational needs.  These 

meetings are held for all students who are placed in residential care by DCF, special 

education or regular education and regardless of nexus.   
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V. Implementation of Duties and Responsibilities  
 

A. Communication:  Timely and professional communication by e-mail and phone are 

fundamental parts of the surrogate parent responsibilities.  The surrogate parent must: 

1. Be available by e-mail in a timely manner, but should respond no later than 24 hours 

after receipt of e-mails during the work week (Monday through Friday). 
2. Notify the Surrogate Parent Office in advance of a scheduled vacation, or break for 

medical reasons. 

3. Be available for meetings both planned and unplanned/emergency made on behalf of 

the student and collaborate with school staff members in arranging for mutually 

convenient meeting times. 
4. Cooperate in a timely manner with requests of the Surrogate Parent Office, whether 

by e-mail, phone or mail. 

5. Interact in a professional and courteous manner with district representatives, foster 

parents, DCF case workers, the CSDE fiscal office representatives and members of 

the Surrogate Parent Office.  
 

B. Record Keeping:  The surrogate parent must keep timely, accurate and reliable written 

documentation in the student’s file at all times to reflect the efforts (formal or informal) 

that are being made on behalf of the student. A surrogate parent creates and maintains 

notes related to the child’s education and maintains copies of IEPs, evaluations, progress 
reports, and other education-related documents created by school staff and other 

individuals authorized to provide services to the child.   

1. Create a folder labeled with the child’s name and date of birth. 

2. Identify the e-mail addresses and phone numbers of the DCF caseworker, child’s 

attorney, district in which the child is being educated, and, if different, nexus district. 
In addition, the contact information for the foster parent, if any, probation officer, if 

any and any other service provider will be made a permanent part of the file. 

3. Maintain confidentiality of notes, documents and student information shall be at all 

times.  

4. Keep a log of phone calls, including date, person called, time of call, length of call 
and reason/purpose of call. 

5. Keep transcripts or journal summaries of documentation and relevant e-mail entries 

written on behalf of the students assigned.  If journal summaries are kept, summaries 

will include date/time sent, individual sent to and summary of e-mail. 
6. Keep emails that are relevant to the case status (e.g., changes in foster home, 

residence, end of guardianship, adoption, AWOL status, etc. 

7. Document all site visits and observations with the child. 

8. Keep all documents in the assigned student’s file.  When a file is closed or when there 

is a change of surrogate for any reason, including retirement, illness or surrogate 
request to transfer case, the entire file, including all forms, notes and e-mails must be 

returned to the Surrogate Parent Office along with the appropriate/relevant form (SP-

206 or SP-600).   
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9. In the case of a file transfer for any reason, the Form SP-600 must accompany the file 

with a brief summary of the status of the case for the next surrogate parent to review 
upon receipt. 

10. If the student whose case is transferred to another surrogate parent is 18 or over, it is 

the responsibility of the newly assigned surrogate parent to obtain the student’s 

signature on the SP-500 to assign legal authority to access the student’s confidential 

information.  The rights provided to a former surrogate parent under the SP-500 do 
not “transfer” to the newly assigned surrogate. 

 

C. Confidentiality 
 

The surrogate parent must maintain confidentiality of the student’s information 
and records at all times in email, during meetings and phone conversations.  Do not 

share access to your email account or share email addresses with another family member 

or friend.   

 

Under federal law, each participating agency must protect the confidentiality of 
personally identifiable information at collection, storage, disclosure, and destruction 

stages. 

 

Confidentiality will apply to information shared through the following: 

 School district education records; 

 PPT Process; 

 Records and case-related information provided by the Surrogate Parent Program;  

 Records and case-related information provided by the DCF; 

 Emails about students if they contain personally identifiable information (PII); 

 IEPs; and 

 Test protocols and reports. 

 

NOTE:  Confidentiality may be violated when speaking in an inappropriate place, 

discussed where others are listening and discussed inappropriate information about a 

student or his family that is protected under the law. 
 

Attestation at time of resignation, non-renewal and retirement will be required to 

confirm that all hardcopy records have been returned to the Surrogate Parent Office and 

that all electronic records have been destroyed. 

 
If the Surrogate Parent is non-renewed or terminated, all hardcopy records shall be 

returned by the Surrogate Parent to the Surrogate Office in complete and organized order 

within one month of contract expiration or termination as determined by the CSBE with 

the appropriate summary documentation as requested by the Program Coordinator, and 

all electronic records associated with all students appointed shall be destroyed within one 
month of contract non-renewal or termination. 
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D. Processing and Notification of Change of Residence, School or Nexus 

 
Changes related to the student’s residence, school placement, etc., should be reported to 

the Surrogate Parent Office by the surrogate parent on Form SP-205 or by email.  In 

email, include SP-205 in the subject line and include in the body of the message the 

changes to the student’s status, placement, etc.  If there is a change in the surrogate 

parent, a new appointment letter will be issued to formally notify all relevant parties of 

the change in surrogate parent; 

 

See Attachment C for a sample letter sent to the surrogate parent. 

 

E. Returning Files 
 

Closed case files should be returned to the Surrogate Office within one week of 

determining that closure is necessary (i.e., DCF no longer guardian, exited from or 

ineligible for special education and no 504 services required, etc.).  See form SP-206 for 

reasons to close the case.  NOTE:  Students who were ineligible for special education but 
may be eligible for 504 services are not eligible for a surrogate parent appointment and 

the case will need to be closed. 

 

If awaiting further documentation from the school/district, you may hold on to the file for 

no more than three weeks after determining files that need to be closed. 
 

Prior to mailing the closed file, please e-mail surrogate.office@ct.gov to report the files 

of the students you are closing.  Include the name and birthdate of student(s) in the email.  

 

Refer to Attachment D for instructions for preparing closed files and mailing. 
 

Cases returned to the surrogate office will be reviewed to ensure that the case was 

closed in a timely manner when guardianship or other reasons for closure have 

occurred. If the surrogate parent failed to close a student file in a timely manner and 

received payment for such closed file, then any overpayments may be deducted from 
future payments or the surrogate will be invoiced for overpayment.    

 

 

F. Case Flow for Initial Referral and Evaluation or Review of Existing IEP 
 

The surrogate parent appointed for a child shall: 

1. Contact the DCF Social Worker to discuss the case and rationale for requesting a 

referral for special education evaluation. 

 
2. Contact the School District by phone or email to hold an initial discussion about the 

student’s educational performance and needs, and necessity for referral. The student 

may be referred for evaluation by either the school or DCF.    

 

mailto:surrogate.office@ct.gov
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NOTE:  if after discussing the student with a district special education representative, 

the district does not find there is academic or behavioral evidence to support the need 
to evaluate for special education eligibility determination and the student is 

performing well academically and behaviorally, then the surrogate parent does not 

need to insist on a referral or initial evaluation, unless there is data and evidence of 

student need that is contrary to that of the school district. 

 
3. Send introductory e-mail within seven calendar days of a new assignment to the 

school district (both nexus district and educational placement district if they are 

different) which includes the surrogate’s contact information.  (See sample 

Introductory Letter to District in the Attachment E.)   

 
Request copies for the file of all available/relevant educational records pertaining to 

the student.  NOTE:  If the student was previously assigned to a surrogate and has 

a file, the Surrogate Parent Office will mail that pre-existing file to you.  

However, if there is a gap between when the file was previously closed and reopened, 

the surrogate parent will need to obtain updated assessment and/or evaluation 
information. 

 

The school district, either the nexus or the educationally responsible district, is 

responsible for maintaining the child’s education records and for providing them to 

the surrogate parent.  The surrogate parent is responsible for getting the child’s 
education records for the surrogate parent’s file and for obtaining them in a timely 

manner, before the first PPT meeting, including:   

 statewide assessments; 

 curriculum based or intervention based assessments (reading, 

writing, math); 

 report cards and progress reports; 

 all evaluations pertaining to the education of the student.  The term 

“evaluation” includes psychological evaluations, psychiatric 

evaluations, hospital discharge summaries, triennial evaluations, 

neurological evaluations, and evaluations concerning a child’s need for 
a related service.  Note:  Some of the student’s information may be 

subject to Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) and is 

filed in a separate file than the regular education cumulative file.  

Surrogate parents are bound by confidentiality laws; and 

 all available disciplinary records pertaining to the student including 

specific data on all suspensions, expulsions, manifestation reviews, 

restraints or seclusions. 
 

NOTE:  To request specific confidential DCF records to inform the PPT process, such 

as DCF evaluations of the student, the surrogate parent must make such written 

request on the DCF RECORD REQUEST form (see Attachment F) via email to 

DCF.RECORDS@ct.gov.  These evaluations will go through a legal review and 
redaction process as necessary and may take up to one month before it can be issued 

to the requester.  For more timely information, contact the DCF social worker to 

https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DCF/Policy/NEW-fillin-Forms/RecordsRequestForm.pdf
file://///sde-fs1hfdm/speced/NemrG/_Bureau%20Spec%20Ed/Surrogate%20Parent%20Program/SPP%20Manual%20and%20Forms/2019-20%20SPP%20Manual/DCF.RECORDS@ct.gov
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receive a briefing on DCF evaluations to determine if there is information that might 

inform the PPT process. 
 

4. Meet with and/or observe the student in school within one month of new 

assignment.  At the first meeting, the surrogate parent may provide the student with 

his/her contact information as appropriate to age and development of student, which 

will include a telephone number and e-mail address.  Subsequent contacts with the 
student should be strategic to answering questions or discussion progress. Other 

monitoring of the student’s progress should be conducted within the scope of the 

contract.   

 

5. Authority to give consent is assigned to the surrogate parent as provided by state 
and federal law. The types of documents that a surrogate parent has authority to sign 

consent for: 

 

 Initial evaluation or reevaluation 

 Provision of initial special education placement and services; and 

 Release of educational records. 

 

 

6. Participate in referral for Special Education or Review of IEP.  If a decision is 
made to proceed to a referral, the initial PPT meeting must be requested of the school 

district responsible in writing by e-mail as soon as possible but in no case more than 

thirty (30) calendar days after assignment.  Before the day of the PPT meeting the 

surrogate parent shall: 

 

 review the student’s educational records including statewide assessments if 

any;  

 review any disciplinary history, if any exists for the student; 

 meet with the child and observe him in his program;  

 talk to his primary teacher/s;  

 talk with the DCF social worker; and  

 talk with the foster parent, if available. 

 

7. PPT Participants.  Federal and state law stipulate which members of the PPT are 
required and discretionary.  DCF and the Surrogate Parent Program have developed 

guidelines to assist DCF staff, surrogate parents and district representatives in 

understanding which individuals from these three agencies are required members and 

which possible attendees must secure the approval of both DCF and the surrogate 

parent. 
 

Refer to Attachment G for a description of the PPT Participation Guidelines. 

 

8. Ensure the student’s initial evaluation occurs within the required time frame that 

will allow the eligibility PPT meeting to occur at a date which would allow for 

implementation of an IEP no later than 45 school days after the referral to PPT 
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meeting by the surrogate was made. Refer to Attachment H for Connecticut 

Timelines for Special Education Referral and Evaluation.  
 

If student has an IEP, and after initial PPT to review the IEP and available progress 

data, it may be necessary to request a targeted or additional assessments. 

 

9. Document decision not to evaluate by the PPT.  If the PPT decides not to evaluate 
(as part of initial referral), and the surrogate agrees, before a case is closed without 

evaluation, the surrogate must include in the student’s file written documentation to 

support that decision.   

 

10. Document disagreement with PPT decision not to evaluate.  If the PPT decides not 
to evaluate, and the surrogate does not agree, the surrogate may request that the 

meeting minutes reflect disagreement or send an email to the special education 

supervisor or director to request opportunity to discuss disagreement and request 

dispute resolution.  Refer to the Complaint Resolution Process packet and Procedural 

Safeguards. 
 

11. Ensure the school district implements IEP for the student within 45 school days 

of referral.  For students who are found eligible for special education after 

evaluation, the student must have his IEP implemented no later than 45 school days 

after the date of referral (written request for PPT meeting by the surrogate parent) or 
whoever made the referral. Refer to Attachment H for Connecticut Timelines for 

Special Education Referral and Evaluation. 

 

12. Document in the student’s file findings of ineligibility after evaluation.  For 

students who are found ineligible for identification after evaluation, if the surrogate 
parent agrees, before a case is closed, the surrogate parent must include in the 

student’s file written documentation to support the PPT decision.  If the student has 

participated in any of the statewide assessments, copies of those assessments must be 

in the file before it is returned for closure, including any documentation of any 

disciplinary history, if any exists.  If the surrogate parent disagrees, the surrogate 
parent may either request that the meeting minutes reflect disagreement or send an 

email to the special education supervisor or director to request opportunity to discuss 

disagreement and request dispute resolution.  Refer to the Complaint Resolution 

Process packet and Procedural Safeguards. 
 

13. Ensure that the child is receiving appropriate educational services as described in 

the IEP and determine if the IEP needs review and revision to ensure that the 

student’s needs are met sufficiently to make educational progress.  This requires that 

the surrogate parent monitor and review the student’s progress via progress reports, 
emails or calls to the school district’s case manager.   

 

14. Represent the child in the educational decision-making 504 processes.  If the 

student is a student who required special education and the child is determined to no 

longer require special education but requires or may require services under Section 

https://portal.ct.gov/SDE/Special-Education/Special-Education-Legal-and-Due-Process
https://portal.ct.gov/SDE/Special-Education/Special-Education-Legal-and-Due-Process
https://portal.ct.gov/SDE/Special-Education/Special-Education-Legal-and-Due-Process
https://portal.ct.gov/SDE/Special-Education/Special-Education-Legal-and-Due-Process
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504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the surrogate parent will represent the child in 

the evaluation and planning procedures provided for in Section 504.  There may not 
be a need to continue to advocate beyond the 504 planning and implementation 

process and the surrogate parent may close the case thereafter. 

 

NOTE:  Students who were ineligible for special education but may be eligible for 

504 services are NOT eligible for a continued surrogate parent appointment and the 
case will need to be closed. 

 

15. Take formal action to ensure that the child receives appropriate educational 

services, when necessary.  Prior to filing a complaint, request for mediation or a 

hearing, the surrogate parent should speak with the: 
 

 school district director of special education against whom the complaint (or 

mediation or hearing request) would be filed to ensure the director is aware of 

the concern/s and has an opportunity to resolve them prior to pursuing dispute 

resolution; and 

 surrogate parent program coordinator to discuss the grounds for the complaint.  

 

The options available for dispute resolution are: 
 

 filing a formal complaint, requesting mediation or a due process hearing; or 

 requesting a school residency or accommodations hearing pursuant to C.G.S. 

10-186. 

 

If the surrogate parent disagrees with the PPT’s decision in any regard, whether it be 

timeliness of scheduling a PPT meeting, composition of the PPT, evaluations 

recommended, evaluation instruments, validity of evaluation, skill of evaluator, 
identification category, refusal to identify, goals, objectives, type of services, 

intensity of services, implementation of IEP, qualifications of implementers, fidelity 

of implementation, progress monitoring frequency or substance, need for re-

evaluation or additional evaluation or independent evaluation, the surrogate parent 
must take timely steps to address and remedy the situation.  This begins with 

attempting to communicate the concerns to the district Director of Special Education 

(which can go under the title of Pupil Services Director, or similar).  This 

communication, both attempted and completed must be documented by e-mail.  If the 

Director does not return calls, even after a follow-up e-mail, the surrogate parent must 
document this in an e-mail to the Director.  It must be polite but clear and become 

part of the surrogate parent’s file record on the student. 

 

All steps must be taken in a timely manner to advance the educational outcome for 

the student, minimize any disruption to his/her regular school attendance and keep 
him/her in school and actively engaged in learning. 

 

16. Document closure without need for referral to special education.  If the surrogate 

parent determines that there is no need to refer the student for special education 
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evaluation, the surrogate parent must document in writing such a decision and 

rationale to close the case, including information from: 
a. the student’s academic performance (e.g., Connecticut statewide assessments, 

grades, etc.)  

b. documentation of the surrogate’s observation of the student,  

c. primary teacher/s report of progress,  

d. foster parent or DCF social worker’s report, and  
e. review of educational files. 

 

 

VI. Transition From Birth to Three to Special Education 

 
For children under DCF guardianship, the State of Connecticut operates two systems for the 

assignment of surrogate parents in order to serve eligible children in accordance with the 

requirements of IDEA.  Eligible children who are younger than three years of age are 

provided a surrogate parent through the Birth to Three System administered by the Office of 

Early Childhood (OEC).   Therefore, during the time period from 30 months of age through 
36 months of age, a child may have two surrogate parents:  

17. a Birth to Three surrogate appointed (typically the foster parent) to represent the 

child in decisions regarding Birth to Three Services; and  

18. a CSDE appointed surrogate parent to represent the child in decisions regarding the 

evaluation and eligibility for preschool special education and, if eligible, the 
development of any IEP that needs to be in effect by the child’s 3rd birthday. 

 

The procedure for transitioning an eligible child from the OEC surrogate parent assignment 

to the CSDE Surrogate Parent is as follows: 

 
A. After the child reaches 30 months of age, the Birth to Three Program may: 

1. obtain from the Birth to Three surrogate parent consent to release information 

regarding the child to the school districts with responsibility for the child at age three; 

2. request from DCF a copy of the DCF-603; and 

3. obtain consent from the Birth to Three surrogate parent to include the school district 
in the transition planning conference and sends to the school district relevant 

information (e.g., the Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP), evaluation data, health 

information, etc.) along with the Birth to Three form “3-8” referral for preschool 

special education. 
 

B. Upon receipt of the referral packet from the Birth to Three Program, and in preparation 

for the first PPT meeting for the child, the school district should verify receipt of a Form 

603 from DCF and the appointment of a CSDE surrogate parent.   

 
C. Until CSDE appoints a surrogate parent to represent the child, the child’s Birth to Three 

surrogate parent is authorized to grant consent for evaluations necessary to determine 

eligibility for preschool special education services. 
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D. CSDE shall appoint a surrogate parent upon determination of the child’s eligibility for 

such representation. 
 

E. Either the surrogate parent initiates a request for a PPT or the school district invites the 

CSDE surrogate parent to a scheduled PPT meeting to determine whether the child is 

eligible for preschool special education services.  The Birth to Three surrogate parent 

may also attend the meeting as an individual who is knowledgeable regarding the child.  
The school district must also invite the Birth to Three provider to the referral and 

eligibility determination PPT. 

 

Note: if the Birth to Three transition conference and referral PPT meeting are held on the 

same day, the two meetings must be separate, distinct and consecutive meetings.  If both 
surrogate parents are duly appointed and attend the PPT, the CSDE surrogate parent 

has the decision-making authority.   

 

F. All children who are referred to Birth to Three within forty-five (45) calendar days of 

their third birthday will be referred directly on to the responsible school district, and will 
have only a CSDE surrogate parent appointed. 

 

VII. Required Documentation of Services 

 

Submit quarterly reports on surrogate services/activities rendered as requested by the 
Program Coordinator based on the following schedule: 

 

 Quarterly Activity 

Reports Due 

Months Covered in Reports Documentation 

Required 

Quarter 1 July 15, 2024 April, May, June To be submitted 

quarterly on 

forms as 

required by the 
Surrogate Office 

Quarter 2 October 15, 2024 July, August, September 

Quarter 3 January 15, 2025 October, November, December 

Quarter 4 April 15, 2025 January, February, March 

 

All forms must be submitted in a timely manner and based on the schedule above.   

 
A. On forms provided by the Surrogate Office quarterly activities shall be documented 

related to each active case and the progress status of the student and meetings attended on 

behalf of a student. This includes in-person or virtual observations of or meetings with 

the student for no more than 30 minutes per session can be documented in objective 
observational note-taking (not judgments).  Observe younger students in two settings, 

therefore for one hour of observation.   

 

B. Report changes in data about the student (e.g., district, school, etc.) to the Surrogate 

Parent Office by using and emailing the Form SP-205 or by e-mailing the change and 
putting “Form SP-205” in the subject line and the student’s initials.   
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C. Required reporting forms may be completed/scanned and emailed to 

surrogate.office@ct.gov and surrogate.parent@ct.gov.   

 
 
 

 

VIII. Contractual Payments 

 

Payments are made to each surrogate parent who has a valid contract with the Connecticut 

State Board of Education and are subject to the terms outlined in the contract and in this 

procedures manual. 
 

A. Payments 

For the fiscal year 2024-2025, the Surrogate Parent payment calculation will be based on a 

$1,200.00 per assigned student per year, which shall be calculated and paid quarterly as 

described in this section during the contract year from July 1 through June 30. 
 

The CSDE shall calculate $300 (25% of $1200) multiplied by the number of active students 

assigned on the last day of the month prior to the payment date scheduled below. The 

assigned and active students will be listed on a roster produced and provided by the 

Surrogate Parent Office to each surrogate parent for review prior to payment.   
 

 

 Payment 

Number 

Payment Covers 

Service in the 

Following Months 

Approximate Date 

for Payment 

Processing 

Number of Active 

Students on Date 

Below are Basis 

for Payment 

Calculation 

Quarter 1  
 

Payment 1 
 

July, August, 
September 

July 31, 2024 July 1, 2024 

Quarter 2  Payment 2 October, November, 
December 

November 30, 2024 October 31, 2024 

Quarter 3 Payment 3 January, February, 

March 

February 28, 2025 January 31, 2025 

Quarter 4 Payment 4  April, May, June May 31, 2025 April 30, 2025 

 

Additional stipend for due process hearings:  Upon request, submission of official 

documentation and approval by the Surrogate Program Coordinator, the CSBE may provide a 

$250 stipend per student per quarter for participation in extensive due process hearings, 
which are above and beyond the typical expectations of the contractor.  The CSBE may pay 

$250 to a Contractor who supports another Contractor in their preparation for due process 

hearings, manifestation determination reviews, and expulsion hearings.  The Program 

Coordinator shall create and implement a process for Contractors to communicate the need 

for this support and to identify interested Contractors who meet minimum requirements to 
provide such support.   

 

 

mailto:surrogate.office@ct.gov
mailto:surrogate.parent@ct.gov
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Conditions to Hold Payment or Non-Renew the Contract 

It is the responsibility of each surrogate parent to verify the accuracy of the student caseload 

rosters, ensure that the required minimum services have been provided and submit sufficient 

documentation of required services to each student.  

 
If file closure is necessary (e.g., DCF no longer guardian, student exited from special 

education and no 504 services required, student has aged-out or is over 18 and does not sign 

the SP-500 contract to continue surrogacy, etc.), it is the responsibility of the Surrogate 

Parent to notify the office by email to surrogate.office@ct.gov when a file is to be closed and 

return the file along with SP-206 Closed Case Form, as appropriate, within one week of 

notification.  Cases returned to the surrogate office will be reviewed to ensure that the 

case was closed in a timely manner when guardianship or other reasons for closure 

have occurred. If the surrogate parent failed to close a student file in a timely manner and 

received payment for such closed file, then any overpayments may be deducted from future 

payments or the surrogate will be invoiced for overpayment.    
 

Furthermore, the contractual payment will be made only if the required minimum services 

identified in the contract and in this procedures manual have been successfully completed.  

Required minimum services and beyond will be documented on such forms as made 

available by the Surrogate Parent Program.   
 

If the surrogate parent demonstrates a pattern of failure to provide required services, comply 

with documentation requirements or close cases in a timely manner, payment may be 

withheld and the contract may be subject to non-renewal or termination. 

 
Please note that the CSDE intends to develop an on-line method of verifying services and 

will advise surrogate parents of the new system when it becomes available.  

 

 

 

 

 

  

mailto:surrogate.office@ct.gov
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Attachment A 
 

 
Federal Legislation:  34 CFR Sec. 300.519 Surrogate parents. 

 
(a) General. Each public agency must ensure that the rights of a child are protected when— 

(1) No parent (as defined in Sec. 300.30) can be identified;  
(2) The public agency, after reasonable efforts, cannot locate a parent;  

(3) The child is a ward of the State under the laws of that State; or  
(4) The child is an unaccompanied homeless youth as defined in section 725(6) of the McKinney-Vento 
Homeless Assistance Act (42 U.S.C. 11434a(6)).  

 
(b) Duties of public agency. The duties of a public agency under paragraph (a) of this section include the assignment 
of an individual to act as a surrogate for the parents. This must include a method— 

(1) For determining whether a child needs a surrogate parent; and  
(2) For assigning a surrogate parent to the child.  

 

(c) Wards of the State. In the case of a child who is a ward of the State, the surrogate parent alternatively may be 

appointed by the judge overseeing the child’s case, provided that the surrogate meets the requirements in paragraphs 
(d)(2)(i) and I of this section.  

 
(d) Criteria for selection of surrogate parents.  

(1) The public agency may select a surrogate parent in any way permitted under State law.  

(2) Public agencies must ensure that a person selected as a surrogate parent— 
(i) Is not an employee of the SEA, the LEA, or any other agency that is involved in the education or 
care of the child;  
(ii) Has no personal or professional interest that conflicts with the interest of the child the surrogate 

parent represents; and  
(iii) Has knowledge and skills that ensure adequate representation of the child.  

 
(e) Non-employee requirement; compensation. A person otherwise qualified to be a surrogate parent under paragraph 
(d) of this section is not an employee of the agency solely because he or she is paid by the agency to serve as a 

surrogate parent.  

 
(f) Unaccompanied homeless youth. In the case of a child who is an unaccompanied homeless youth, appropriate staff 
of emergency shelters, transitional shelters, independent living programs, and street outreach programs may be 
appointed as temporary surrogate parents without regard to paragraph (d) (2) (i) of this section, until a surrogate parent 
can be appointed that meets all of the requirements of paragraph (d) of this section.  

 
(g) Surrogate parent responsibilities. The surrogate parent may represent the child in all matters relating to— 

(1) The identification, evaluation, and educational placement of the child; and  
(2) The provision of FAPE to the child.  

 
(h) SEA responsibility. The SEA must make reasonable efforts to ensure the assignment of a surrogate parent not more 
than 30 days after a public agency determines that the child needs a surrogate parent.  

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1415(b) (2))  

 

  

http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Ca%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Ca%2C1%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Ca%2C2%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Ca%2C3%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Ca%2C4%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cb%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cb%2C1%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cb%2C2%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cd%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cd%2C1%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cd%2C2%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cd%2C2%2Ci%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cd%2C2%2Cii%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cd%2C2%2Ciii%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Ce%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cf%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cg%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cg%2C1%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Cg%2C2%2C
http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/%2Croot%2Cregs%2C300%2CE%2C300%252E519%2Ch%2C


 

 

Attachment A 

Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) 

Sec. 10-94f. Definitions. As used in sections 10-94f to 10-94l, inclusive: 

(1) “Surrogate parent” means the person appointed by the Commissioner of Education as a child's advocate in 

the educational decision-making process in place of the child's parents or guardian and such person shall be deemed 

to be an “other employee” for purposes of section 10-235; 

(2) “The educational decision-making process” includes the identification, evaluation, placement, hearing, 

mediation and appeal procedures provided for in this chapter and the evaluation and planning procedures provided 
for in Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended from time to time, which may be available to a 

child subsequent to the receipt of special education and related services pursuant to this chapter.  

Sec. 10-94g. Commissioner of Education to appoint surrogate parent. Procedure for objection to or 

extension of said appointment. (a)(1) When in the opinion of the Commissioner of Education or a designee of 

said commissioner, (A) a child may require special education, or a child who required special education no longer 
requires such education but requires or may require services under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 

as amended from time to time, and (B) the parent or guardian of such child cannot be identified, the whereabouts 

of the parent cannot be discovered after reasonable efforts to locate the parent have been made, such child is a ward 

of the state or such child is an unaccompanied and homeless youth, both as defined in 42 USC 11434a, as amended 

from time to time, the commissioner or a designee of said commissioner shall appoint a surrogate parent who shall 
represent such child in the educational decision-making process. (2) A surrogate parent may also be appointed for 

a child who is under the supervision of the Department of Children and Families and receiving education services 

from Unified School District #2, provided the parent or guardian: (A) Is notified by certified mail that the child is 

or may be eligible to receive special education and related services; (B) agrees or fails to object to the appointment 

of a surrogate parent; (C) receives identical notices as the surrogate parent; and (D) may revoke the appointment of 
a surrogate parent at any time. 

(b) A parent or guardian of a child for whom a surrogate parent has been appointed in accordance with the 

provisions of this section, or the Commissioner of Children and Families or a designee of the commissioner on 

behalf of any such child in the custody of the commissioner, or a pupil for whom a surrogate parent has been 

appointed in accordance with the provisions of said section if such pupil is an emancipated minor or at least eighteen 
years of age who objects to the appointment or extension of the appointment of a surrogate parent, shall notify the 

commissioner in writing of such objection or request. The commissioner or his designee shall schedule a conference 

relating to such objection or request within ten days of the receipt of such notice. Upon failure of the commissioner 

to schedule such conference or upon the inability of the parties to resolve the issues within thirty days of the receipt 

of the notice, such parent, guardian, commissioner or a pupil shall be provided a hearing within thirty days following 
a written request directed to the commissioner in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54, provided that a final 

decision on such hearing shall be rendered within fifteen days following the close of evidence.  

Sec. 10-94h. Duration of appointment as surrogate parent. Appointment of successor surrogate 

parent. Appointment of a surrogate parent shall be effective until the child reaches eighteen years of age, provided 

the Commissioner of Education, not less than thirty days prior to the child's eighteenth birthday, may extend such 
appointment until the child graduates from high school or reaches the age of twenty-one years, whichever occurs 

first. If the surrogate parent resigns or dies or for any other reason is unable to continue as surrogate parent for the 

child, the Commissioner of Education shall, if said commissioner deems the appointment of a successor surrogate 

necessary, appoint a successor surrogate parent. 

Sec. 10-94i. Rights and liabilities of surrogate parents. The surrogate parent of any child appointed pursuant 
to section 10-94h shall have the same right of access as the natural parents or guardian to all records concerning the 

child, including, but not limited to, educational, medical, psychological and welfare records. No surrogate parent 



 

 

appointed pursuant to the provisions of said section 10-94h shall be liable to the child entrusted to such surrogate 

parent or the parents or guardian of such child for any civil damages which result from acts or omissions of such 
surrogate parent which constitute ordinary negligence. This immunity shall not apply to acts or omissions 

constituting gross, wilful or wanton negligence. 

Sec. 10-94j. Regulations re appointment of surrogate parents. The Commissioner of Education shall 

promulgate regulations establishing procedures to: (1) Determine whether a child is in need of a surrogate parent; 

(2) report to the commissioner when a child may require a surrogate parent; (3) appoint, and revoke the appointment 
of, a surrogate parent; (4) establish qualifications and training procedures necessary for any surrogate parent 

appointed pursuant to section 10-94g; and (5) monitor the effectiveness of a surrogate parent. 

Sec. 10-94k. Funding of surrogate parent program. All costs incurred by the state pursuant to sections 10-94f 

to 10-94k, inclusive, shall be paid from funds available under P. L. 93-380, entitled “An Act to Extend and Amend 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 and for Other Purposes”, as may from time to time be 
amended and provided that under no circumstances will any funds of the state be expended to implement the 

purposes of said sections. 

Sec. 10-94l. Surrogate parent program. (a) The Commissioner of Education shall administer, within available 

appropriations and in consultation with the Commissioner of Children and Families, a surrogate parent program. 

The Commissioner of Children and Families shall select any foster child, as defined in section 17a-110, who resides 
in the area identified as Region 3 by the Department of Children and Families for participation in the program, and 

the Commissioner of Education shall appoint a surrogate parent for such child. The surrogate parent shall represent 

the foster child in the educational decision-making process, provided the parent or guardian of the foster child: (1) 

Agrees or fails to object to the appointment of a surrogate parent; (2) receives identical notices as the surrogate 

parent; and (3) may revoke the appointment of a surrogate parent at any time. 

(b) Not later than January 1, 2016, and annually thereafter, the Commissioners of Education and Children and 

Families shall jointly submit a report, in accordance with section 11-4a, to the joint standing committees of the 

General Assembly having cognizance of matters relating to children and education on the surrogate parent program.  
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Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies 

TITLE 10. Education and Culture 

Agency 

State Board of Education 
Subject 

Appointment of Surrogate Parents 

Inclusive Sections 

R.C.S.A. §§ 10-94j-1— 10-94j-8

CONTENTS 

Appointment of Surrogate Parents 

Sec. 10-94j-1. Authority 
Sec. 10-94j-2. Appointment 
Sec. 10-94j-3. Qualifications 
Sec. 10-94j-4. Training procedures 
Sec. 10-94j-5. Determination of a child's need for a surrogate parent 
Sec. 10-94j-6. Reports of a child's need for a surrogate parent 
Sec. 10-94j-7. Appointment of a surrogate parent 
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Appointment of Surrogate Parents 
Sec. 10-94j-1. Authority 

These regulations are authorized by Section 10-94j of the General Statutes, as amended by Public Act 81-247, 
concerning the appointment of surrogate parents. 

(Effective December 1, 1982) 

Sec. 10-94j-2. Appointment 
A surrogate parent, duly appointed pursuant to the provisions of sections 10-94f to 10-94k, inclusive, of the 

General Statutes, as amended by Public Act 81-247, shall serve as a child's representative in the educational 
decision-making process in place of the child's parents or guardian. Such child shall be a child as defined in Section 
10-76a (e) (1) of the General Statutes who requires special education or a child who may require special education.

(Effective December 1, 1982) 

Sec. 10-94j-3. Qualifications 
In order to be eligible for appointment as a surrogate parent, an individual shall meet the following requirements: 
(a) The individual shall be an adult;
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(b) The individual shall not be an employee of the public agency or the local board of education responsible for 
the education or care of that child; provided, however, that an individual shall not be deemed such an employee 
solely because he or she is paid to serve as a surrogate parent; 

(c) The individual shall have no other interest that may conflict with the best interests of the child; 
(d) The individual shall be knowledgeable about the educational system, special education laws, and the legal 

rights of the child in relation to the educational system; and 
(e) The individual shall be reasonably well acquainted with the cultural and language background of the child. 

(Effective June 7, 1979) 

 
Sec. 10-94j-4. Training procedures 

Training procedures established by the Commissioner of Education shall include, but not be limited to, training in 
the following areas: 

(a) The nature and needs of different types of exceptionalities; 

(b) The availability of programs and programming options with respect to such exceptionalities; 
(c) The responsibilities and limitations of the role of the surrogate parent, including the following skills to ensure 

effective representation of the child: 
(1) Becoming thoroughly acquainted with the child's history and other information contained in school and other 

reports relating to the child's educational needs; 
(2) Complying with state and federal laws and regulations as to the confidentiality of all records and information 

pertaining to the child, to which he or she is privy; 
(3) Using discretion in the necessary sharing of information with appropriate people for the purpose of furthering 

the interest of the child; 
(4) Becoming familiar with the educational prescription for the child and, where appropriate, giving his or her 

approval; 
(5) Reviewing and evaluating special education programs pertaining to the child as well as such other programs 

as may be available; and 
(6) Initiating the mediation, hearing and/or appeal procedures and seeking qualified legal assistance when such 

assistance is in the best interest of the child; 
(d) The sources and types of assistance available to the surrogate parent; and 

(e) The legal rights of the child in all areas relating to the child's education. 

(Effective June 7, 1979) 

 
Sec. 10-94j-5. Determination of a child's need for a surrogate parent 

In order to determine whether a child is in need of a surrogate parent, the commissioner of education shall 
undertake such investigation as may be necessary to determine that: 

(A) The child is, by virtue of his or her age, entitled to receive special education; 
(B) The child requires, or may require, special education; and 

(C) The parent or guardian of the child is unknown or unavailable or the child is a ward of the state. 

(Effective December 1, 1982) 

 



Attachment A 
 

 

Sec. 10-94j-6. Reports of a child's need for a surrogate parent 
The commissioner of education shall disseminate such information as may be necessary to ensure that local and 

regional boards of education, and other agencies as appropriate, are informed of the surrogate parent program. 
(a) Such information shall include a description of the requirements for eligibility for appointment of a surrogate 

parent. 
(b) Such information shall include a statement of the responsibility to report to the commissioner the name of any 

child who may require a surrogate parent. 
(c) Such information shall include a description of the type of data to be included in a report to the commissioner 

of a child who may require a surrogate parent. Such data shall include, but not be limited to, the following: 
(1) The child's name, age and current address; 
(2) If the child requires special education, a statement of the nature and severity of the child's handicapping 

condition as well as a copy of the child's current individualized education program; 
(3) If the child may require special education, a copy of the referral form which was forwarded to the child's 

planning and placement team; 
(4) Such information as may be available concerning the whereabouts of the child's parents or guardian and, 

where appropriate, certification from the responsible agency that the child is a ward of the state; and 
(5) The name and address of the agency making the report and, if different, the name and address of the agency 

responsible for educating the child. 

(Effective December 1, 1982) 

 
Sec. 10-94j-7. Appointment of a surrogate parent 

Upon a determination that a child is in need of a surrogate parent, the commissioner of education shall appoint a 
surrogate parent in accordance with the following requirements: 

(a) The individual appointed as surrogate parent shall meet such qualifications as are set forth in section 10-94j-3; 
(b) The individual appointed as surrogate parent shall have successfully completed training as set forth in section 

10-94j-4; 
(c) Appointments shall take into consideration the places of residence of the child and surrogate parent as well as 

the particular expertise of the surrogate parent related to the handicapping condition, educational needs, age or other 
relevant factors; 

(d) Written notice of the appointment shall be mailed to the child, to the surrogate parent, to the agency 
responsible for educating the child, and to the agency responsible for the care of the child; and 

(e) The commissioner shall advise the child, the agency responsible for educating the child and the agency 
responsible for the care of the child that the commissioner may, not less than thirty (30) days prior to the child's 
eighteenth birthday, extend the appointment of a surrogate parent until such child graduates from high school or 
reaches age twenty-one years, whichever occurs first. 

(Effective December 1, 1982) 

 
Sec. 10-94j-8. Revocation of the appointment of a surrogate parent 

The commissioner of education shall annually review the conduct and performance of each individual appointed 
as a surrogate parent. If it is found that in the performance of his or her duties the surrogate parent is not 
representing the best educational interest of the child, the commissioner shall: 

(a) Send the individual written notice of revocation of his or her appointment as surrogate parent. Such notice 
shall include the following: 
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(1) The reason(s) for the revocation; 
(2) The effective date of the revocation; and 
(3) A statement informing the individual that if he or she objects to the revocation, written reasons for the 

objection shall be submitted to the commissioner within ten (10) calendar days of the date of the notice of 
revocation. 

(b) Within twenty (20) days of the date of the notice of revocation and following consideration of any duly filed 
objections, send the individual: 

(1) Written notice that his or her appointment as surrogate parent remains in effect; or 
(2) a final written notice of revocation. 

(c) If revocation is upheld, appoint a successor surrogate parent for the child. 
(d) In the event of revocation, written notice shall be given to the child, to the agency responsible for the 

education of the child and to the agency responsible for the care of the child. 

(Effective December 1, 1982) 
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SP Name 
SP Address 
SP City, State, Zip 

 
Dear SP: 

This is to confirm your appointment as surrogate parent for the following student 
Name of Student:  XXXXX 
Case Number: 
Date of Birth: 
Town of Residence: 
Residence: 
Nexus Town: 
Agency Responsible for Education: 
Education Site: 
Case Worker: 
Office Location: 
Former Surrogate Parent 

123456 
01/01/2001 
Bloomfield 
Foster Home 
No-Nexus 
Bloomfield Public Schools 
Bloomfield High School 
Jane Doe 
DCF/New Britain (860) 832-5223 
NIA or Surrogate One Name 

 
Your appointment as surrogate parent for this student will remain in effect until this student no 
longer requires a Connecticut-appointed surrogate parent or until you are notified that a new 
surrogate parent has been appointed for this student. 

If you have any questions concerning this assignment, please contact the Surrogate Parent 
Office at surrogate.office@ct.gov. 

 
Sincerely, 

 
 

Georgette Nemr, Education Consultant 
Surrogate Parent Office 

 
cc:  Bloomfield Public Schools 

Bloomfield High School 
Surrogate Parent 
DCF Social Worker 

P.O. BOX 2219 I HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT 06145 
An Equal Opportunity Employer 

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 

 
 

 
 

mailto:surrogate.office@ct.gov.


STATE OF CONNECTICUT 

Attachment C 

SP Name 
SP Address 
SPCity, State, Zip 

Dear SP: 
This is to notify you that there has been a change in this student’s status as indicated in one 
or more of the following fields: 

Name of Student: 
Case Number: 
Date of Birth: 
Town of Residence: 
Residence: 
Nexus Town: 
Agency Responsible for 
Education: Education Site: 
Case Worker: 
Office Location: 
Former Surrogate Parent 

xxxxx 
123456 
01/01/2001 
Bloomfield 
Foster Home 
No-Nexus 
Bloomfield Public Schools 
Bloomfield High School 
Jane Doe 
DCF/New Britain (860) 832-5223 
N/Aor Surrogate One Name 

Your appointment as surrogate parent for this student will remain in effect until this student 
no longer requires a Connecticut-appointed surrogate parent or until you are notified that a 
new surrogate parent has been appointed for this student. 

If you have any questions concerning this assignment, please contact the Surrogate 
Parent Office at surrogate.office@ct.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Georgette Nemr, Education Consultant 
Surrogate Parent Office 

cc:  Bloomfield Public Schools 
Bloomfield High School 
Surrogate Parent 
DCF Social Worker 

P.O. BOX 2219 I HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT 06145 
An Equal Opportunity Employer 
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Connecticut State Department of Education 

Bureau of Special Education  

Surrogate Parent Program, Suite 604 
450 Columbus Boulevard 

Hartford, CT 06103-1841 

 
 

Instructions for Returning Closed Case Files to the Surrogate Parent Office via FedEx 

2024-25 

 

CSDE has contracted with FedEx to express mail closed file packages back to our office at no cost to 

surrogate parents. 

 

Closed case files should be returned to the Surrogate Office within one week of determining that 

closure is necessary (i.e., DCF no longer guardian, exited from or ineligible for special education 

and no 504 services required, etc.).  If awaiting further documentation from the school/district, you 

may hold on to the file for no more than three weeks after determining files need to be closed. 

 

Instructions for preparing closed files and mailing: 

 

1. Please e-mail surrogate.office@ct.gov to report the files of the students you are closing.  

Include with the name and birthdate of student(s) in the email. 

 

2. Enclose a completed SP-206 Closed Case Form attached to each case to be closed. 

 

3. Package the closed files in an appropriate envelope or box. 

 

4. Affix the FedEx label provided by CSDE to package.   

 

5. Take package to the FedEx drop-off location near you to be processed.  Keep a copy of the 

mailing receipt for your records as it will have a tracking number on it which we can 

reference in the event the package is lost. 

 

6. To find the nearest FedEx drop-off location, go to https://local.fedex.com/en-us  

 

 
 
 

NOTE: As a requirement under FERPA, confidentiality of student information is based on legal and ethical precepts 

derived from constitutional law, federal and state mandates related to health and education, and social work ethical 

standards.  All contracted surrogate parents must comply with FERPA regulations making special effort to protect 

the privacy of student education records.   
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Sample Introductory Letter to District and Other Relevant Stakeholders 
 

 

 

Dear District Special Education Director: 

 
I am the surrogate parent for John Doe, d.o.b. 1/1/00.  I would appreciate you e-mailing 

me his SASID number.  Also, within the next two weeks (no later than one month) I 

would like to observe him at his school and meet with him and members of his school-

based team, review and obtain copies of his records and SASID.  

 
As we move through the year together, I am requesting that you provide me with report 

cards, progress reports, statewide assessment results, any disciplinary notices or any other 

areas of concern regarding John, just as you would a typical parent.  This will help me 

discharge my duties as a surrogate parent in a proper and timely manner.  It would be most 

helpful if you could do as much of this, as is possible, by e-mail as this helps with the 
record-keeping, but any timely method you chose will be fine.   

 

Below is my contact information and I would appreciate it if you would provide me with 

the contact information for his school.  I look forward to working with you this year.  

Thank you for your assistance. 
 

Sincerely, 

 

 

xxxxxxxxxxxx 
Surrogate Parent 

Address 

Phone Number 

Email:  Name@aol.com  

 
cc: Sam Smith, DCF Social Worker 
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RECORD REQUEST TODAY'S DATE: 

A LL REQU ESTS MUST BE SUBM ITTED IN W RI TIN G. YOU MAY EITH ER EMAIL, FAX O R MAI L YOUR 

REO UES TO THE FOL LOWING ADDRESS: 

DCF Lega,1 Di1visio 111 
Attn:: Record Reque.sts 
505 lrlludson Stlreet 
Hartford, CT 06106 
Facsi m Ue: 860,-92:0-3013, 

Eimairl: DCF.RECORD5@ct. gov 

You must provide t he fol lowi1111g infornmatii.on in order for DCF to process your request - print d ea1rlly: 

Your name: DC F Li1111k Number· (if kno111m) : 

Your address.: Street: 

Cirty:: State: Zip Code:: 

¥our erna'ill : 

¥our telephone 111 umber: 

Your date of birth: 

Pleaise list specific. information you are requesting: 

Your chirldren's. names a rid date of b"rtllS: 

Were yourparenta,1 rights terminated? Yes O No O 
(Documents Wii lll be sent to he• ema il] ad dr,ess you provided. You wii llll be instructed to, create a password to open he 
fiile. ) 
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Surrogate Parent and DCF Planning and Placement Team Participation Guidelines 
 

The Planning and Placement Team (PPT) is responsible for developing, reviewing and revising the special education program for a student with a 

disability.  Although districts (as well as parents) are free to invite other individuals who have knowledge or special expertise about the child, the IDEA 

requires a PPT to include certain core members including: 

1. Parents; 

2. One general education teacher (if child is participating in general education environment);  

3. One special education teacher or provider; 

4. A district representative qualified to provide or supervise the provision of specially designed instruction to meet the needs of the child, and is 

knowledgeable about the general education curriculum and the availability of resources;  

5. An individual who can interpret the instructional implications of evaluation results; 

6. At the discretion of the parent or the district, other individuals who have special expertise regarding child (e.g., related service personnel); 

7. Whenever appropriate, the child. 

 

Based on federal and state law, the following chart refers specifically to PPT participants related to the Surrogate Parent and DCF representatives:  

 

PPT Participant 
Legal Requirement to 

Attend PPT Meeting 
NOTES 

Surrogate Parent Mandatory upon 

appointment by CSDE 
 Must be on PPT invite 

 Meeting cannot proceed without surrogate parent 

DCF Social Worker Recommended but not 

mandatory  
 Must be on PPT invite 

 Meeting may proceed without DCF SW in attendance 

DCF Regional Educational 

Services Staff & other  
 

DCF professionals 

(nurse/clinician) 

Discretionary based on 

PPT need 

May be invited to PPT by DCF SW and/or Surrogate Parent and/or the School District, as necessary, 

to request consultation regarding student’s IEP needs 

 Foster Parents  

 Therapeutic Foster 

Care Support Workers 

 Mental Health 

Providers 

 Police or Correctional 

Officer 

 

NONE May attend PPT only if there is joint agreement between the Surrogate Parent and DCF SW.  If no 
agreement, please refer matter to CSDE Surrogate Parent Program Coordinator and the DCF Regional 

Educational Consultant. 
 

Communicate with DCF SW and Surrogate Parent prior to meeting to share any concerns relevant to 

PPT and IEP focus.  Confidential case issues related to student’s mental health, physical health, 
biological parents or foster parent concerns should be discussed first with surrogate parent by phone or 

in person in order to determine if relevant to PPT focus.  Matters not relating to educational decision 

making of the PPT should be referred to DCF SW/SWS for case documentation and planning. 
 

Biological Parents NONE School districts (LEAs) need not include the biological parent once a Surrogate Parent is appointed.  It 

is a discretionary decision by the School district but should be made in consultation with the Surrogate 

Parent and the DCF SW.  C.G.S. Section 10-94i assigns the surrogate parent the same right of access 
as the natural parents or guardian to all records concerning the child, including but not limited to, 

educational, medical, psychological and welfare records.  
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SAMPLE DCF 603 
 

[Page 1 of 2] 

DCF-603 Department of Children and Families 
08-2014 (rev) DCF Notification to the Local Education Agency 
 
 
To: Office of the Superintendent   [District Name]    Date 
 (School district with financial responsibility) 
 
Please be advised that:    [Student Name]    [Date of Birth] 
 
Has been placed 
 
 Date of Placement [Date] 
 
By the Department of Children and Families in a     Name and Address of Placement 
 (Check one box below)        [Name and address of  
           placement location] 
 

 Foster Home    Parent/Guardian Home 

 Group Home    Shelter 

 Residential Facility 

 Other (specify) 

 The child requires special education and related services or has been referred to determine  

  special education eligibility 

 To the best of DCF’s knowledge, Nexus exists with 

Nexus School District: [Nexus District inserted here] 

 
Basis of Nexus:  (include name and address of the individual listed below who lives in town listed on the  
    line above) 
 

 Mother       Father      Guardian 
 

Address:    Address:   Address: 
 
Telephone:    Telephone:   Telephone:  
 
 

 No Nexus Exists 
 

Parent   Basis for Nexus 
 

 Mother   [e.g., Parental Rights have been Terminated, etc.] 
 Father   [e.g., Deceased, etc.] 

 
NOTE:  Based upon information available to DCF this Nexus/No Nexus status has existed since (date):  [Date] 

  



SAMPLE DCF 603 
 

[Page 1 of 2] 

DCF-603 Department of Children and Families 
08-2014 (rev) DCF Notification to the Local Education Agency 

 
Legal Status: 

 The Commissioner of the Department of Children and Families has custody but not 

guardianship 

 The Commissioner of the Department of Children and Families is the legal guardian 

of the child  

 The Commissioner of the Department of Children and Families is the statutory 

parent of this this child  

 DCF guardianship ended on:  [INSERT Date] 

 
 

Records:   The child previously attended school in:  [District] 
 
 

C.G.S. § 17a-16a   It is in the best interests of the child to remain in school of origin 
School 
Placement   It is in the best interests of the child to attend the receiving school 
Decision 
   The child will remain in the school of origin until a best interest determination is made 
 
   School placement decision is not applicable  
 
DCF Social Worker/Juvenile Justice Social Worker 
 
[Insert Name]   [Direct Telephone #]   [Date] 
  
DCF Area Office/Facility 
 
[Insert DCF Regional Office/Facility]   [Insert Address] 
 
Copies Sent to:  

 Surrogate Parent Program email:  surrogate.office@ct.gov FAX:  860-713-7052 

 School district where child is attending school: [INSERT District] 

 School district that child left:  [INSERT former district] 

 Child’s Attorney and GAL (name(s)): [INSERT Name] 

 Other: [e.g., INSERT the following 

 DCF regional consultant name and email 

 Surrogate parent name and email 

 Special education director name and email 

 Superintendent name and email where student is attending if different from 

nexus 

 School name and town 

 Siblings, if any, (we try to assign siblings to same surrogate) 

 Note if reunified or adopted and date 

 Etc.] 

mailto:surrogate.office@ct.gov


Surrogate Parent Office 
FORM SP-205 - Student Information Update (Provide only new information) 

Mail:  Surrogate Parent Office, CT State Dept of Ed – BSE, P. O. Box 2219, Hartford, CT 06145 
E-mail: Surrogate.office@ct.gov  

 
 

FORM SP-205 (Rev. 6/2012) 

 
Student:  DOB:  
    

 
A. RESIDENCE:  
Address of student’s new residence:  
 (street & town) 

 
 

 1. Foster home  
 2. Relative’s residence  
 3. With parent  
 4. Residential facility  
 5. Group home  
 6. Hospital  
 7. Temporary shelter  
 8. Safe home  
 9. Detention center  
 10. CT Juvenile Training School  
 11. Correction facility  
 12. Supported living  
 13. Other personal residence  
 14. AWOL  
 15. Other:  

 
 

B. EDUCATIONAL SITE:  
Name of new school:  
Address of new school:  
 (street & town) 

 
 

C. CASE WORKER:  
Office:  Phone #: (_____)  
 (town)    

 
 
D. 504 STATUS: 

 Determined by PPT to no longer require special education; however, student requires or may require 
services under Section 504.  You must attach a copy of 504 scheduling notice. 

 
 

Completed by:  Date:  
 
 



 

 

Connecticut State Department of Education 
Bureau of Special Education 

450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 604 
Hartford, CT 06103 

860-713-6660 

 
 

Notify the Surrogate Parent Office by email to surrogate.office@ct.gov that you are closing a case and complete this 
form and enclose it with the file returned. Refer to instructions for returning the file. It is the responsibility of the 
surrogate parent to return the files to the surrogate parent office either by mail or hand delivery within one week of 
notifying the office of file closure unless written permission is given to do otherwise. 

 

Student Name:   DOB:   
 
 1. Graduated * 

REASON FOR CLOSING CASE (see asterisk notes below): 

 2. Adoption: Enter date  
 3. DCF no longer guardian: Enter date   
 4. Exited and no 504 services required 
 5. At least 18 and indicated a written refusal of surrogate services. Submit signed Form SP-500 with file. 
 6. At least 18 years old and no longer in school 
 7. Aged out – Student will be turning 22 
 8. Ineligible for special education by PPT without evaluation; include written basis for decision 
 9. Ineligible for special education by PPT after evaluation; include copies of evaluations 
 10. I have determined there’s no need to refer to a PPT for evaluation; include written basis for decision **** 
 11. Plenary Guardian appointed (DDS client)*** 
 12. Conservator appointed (DMHAS client)** 
 13. Deceased 
 14. Mistake 
 15. AWOL or Other – specify:  

 

Surrogate Parent PRINTED Name:  Date:   
*  The child has received a regular education diploma, per the exit criterion determined by a PPT, and no one has requested a due 

process hearing to challenge the end of the child’s eligibility for special education. 
**  The individual/child has reached eighteen years of age, and a Probate Court has determined that the individual is “incapable of 

caring for oneself” and has issued a decree appointing a Conservator of the Person, pursuant to CGS 45a-644 through 45a-667, 
whose duties include consenting to professional care, treatment or services. 

***  The individual/child has reached eighteen years of age and has an intellectual disability, and a Probate Court has determined that the 
individual is not legally competent to make informed decisions and has issued a decree appointing a guardian, pursuant to CGS 45a- 
669 through 45a-684, whose duties include consenting to specifically designed educational programs. 

 
NOTE 1: An eligible student who withdraws from school remains eligible for a surrogate parent; therefore, the case should not 

be closed for reason of withdrawal from school. 

NOTE 2:  The fact that DCF has returned a child to live with her or his parent is not an absolute indicator that the child is no 
longer eligible for a surrogate parent. Many children who remain under DCF guardianship are placed home on a trial 
basis as reunification is attempted. These children continue to be eligible for surrogate parent representation until 
DCF’s guardianship ends. 

 
 
 

Revised 4-20-2022 

FORM SP-206: CLOSED CASE FORM (you must return the file with this form) 

mailto:surrogate.office@ct.gov


FORM SP-500 (9/2023) 

FORM SP-500 

Surrogate Parent Service 
Continuation Option at Age 18 

 
Once a student reaches 18 years of age, rights accorded to parents under IDEA transfer to the student.  

CFR 300.520(a)(1)(i), CGS 10-76a(13).  Students are eligible for surrogate parent services until they 

graduate high school or until the end of the school year in which they turn 22 (CFR 300.520(a) and (b), 

RCSA 10-94j-7, RCSA 10-76d-1(a)(4) as recently adjusted by Public Act 23-137), whichever comes 

first, whether or not they are continuing to receive services from DCF. 

 

Student Name:  Date of Birth:  

Address:    

    

Phone/s:     

E-mail:   

 

Current Surrogate Parent contact information:   

Name:    

Phone:     

E-mail:   
 

 

I,  attained the age of 18 on  
 Print Name of Student  Birthdate 

 

 I choose to retain the services of a surrogate parent until I graduate or become 

ineligible.  I authorize the surrogate parent to do the following and I understand I may 

change my mind and withdraw consent at any time (initial all that apply):  
 

 to advise me regarding educational matters;  

 to review and obtain educational records on my behalf;  

 to advocate for me in all educational matters and forums, including attending PPTs, 

filing educational complaints, filing for mediation and due process;  

 to consent to evaluations on my behalf;  
 

 I choose to terminate surrogate parent services as of  (date). 
 

I understand that if I change my mind before I graduate, I can have a surrogate parent reassigned 

by contacting the Surrogate Parent Office by phone (860) 713-6910 or by e-mail at 

surrogate.office@ct.gov. 

 

I have been provided a copy of this completed form, it has been explained to me to my satisfaction 

by my surrogate parent, and I agree to let my surrogate parent know if my address or other 

contact information changes for as long as they assist or advise me. 

 

   
Signature of Student  Date 
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FORM SP-600:  Active File Reassignment Form 
For Surrogate Parents Retiring or Resigning 

Surrogate Parent Program 
 
Please complete this form for each student case to be reassigned to assist our office in updating 
our database and to assist the surrogate parent receiving this new file assignment.   Clip this 
form to each file that needs to be reassigned. 
 

Name of Student:        
SASID: 
Date of Birth: 
Current Grade Level: 
Credits toward graduation: 
Town where the student resides: 
Actual placement (FH, GH, Res. Facility, etc.): 
Contact person at placement: 
 Name: 
 Phone: 
 Email: 
 
Nexus/responsible school district: 
District/Town of School Child is Attending: 
School child is attending: 
Contact person at school: 
 Name: 
 Phone: 
 Email: 
 
Last PPT date:  
Date triennial due:  
Current DCF social worker: 
 Name: 
 Phone: 
 Email: 
 
Summary of Status and Suggestions: 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Print Name of Surrogate completing this form: _______________________________________ 
 
 
Date: _______________________________     FORM SP-600  7/2018 




