

DR. DIANNA R. WENTZELL, COMMISSIONER

April 28, 2017

For Immediate Release: Contact: Abbe Smith 860.713.6525

## Commissioner Wentzell Congratulates U.S. Presidential Scholars Program Semifinalists from Connecticut

(HARTFORD, CT) – State Department of Education Commissioner Dianna R. Wentzell on Friday congratulated the 12 Connecticut students selected as 2017 semifinalists in the prestigious U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program recognizes scholars for outstanding achievement in academic and artistic endeavors, leadership, and involvement in school and community. The U.S. Department of Education Presidential Scholars Commission this month announced 723 semifinalists from high schools across the country. The Presidential Scholars will be chosen from this pool of semifinalists.

"These 12 students demonstrate what is possible when you combine hard work, perseverance, and a passion for learning," Commissioner Wentzell said. "I congratulate our semifinalists and their families on this tremendous honor and I look forward to following their future successes. I am so proud of these students and all of Connecticut's students for rising to high expectations and ensuring a bright future for our state."

U.S. Presidential Scholars Program Semifinalists - Connecticut		
Student	Town	High School
Bhaskar S. Abhiraman	New Canaan	New Canaan High School
Katherine Du	Darien	Greenwich Academy *
Megan Greenop	Fairfield	Fairfield High School **
Joon Kim	Glastonbury	Miss Porter's School
Steven Miano	Berlin	Berlin High School **
Kristen Richichi	New Fairfield	New Fairfield High School
Emma W. Sherrill	Farmington	Farmington High School
Emily Toby	Sandy Hook	Newtown High School **
Jackson Walker	Wilton	Wilton High School
Eric Xia	Madison	Daniel Hand High School

Ryan T. Xu	East Lyme	East Lyme High School
William Yin	Riverside	Greenwich High School

\* Recommended for Scholar in the Arts

\*\* Recommended for Scholar as Career and Technical Education (CTE) Candidate

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the president, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program expanded to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. In 2015, the program expanded again to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

To learn more, visit the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program website.

###

**CONTACT:** Abbe Smith, Director of Communications Connecticut State Department of Education Phone: 860-713-6525 Mobile: 860-381-7096 Email: Abbe.Smith@ct.gov