

Connecticut State Department of Education

August 2014 Update for District Contacts for Paraeducator Issues

Congratulations to the District Nominees for the 2014 Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year Award!

The following paraeducators were nominated by their districts for the Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year Award. Each nominees' application was screened by a subcommittee of members from the School Paraprofessional Advisory Council. Seven semi-finalists were interviewed at the CSDE Offices on August 1st. The Paraeducator of the Year, and all district nominees will be recognized during an awards ceremony dinner on Thursday, November 6, 2014, 5:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m. at the Crowne Plaza, Cromwell. Congratulations to the following district nominees and thank you for all you do on behalf of Connecticut's children!

*Lisa Barber	Griswold Public Schools	Denise Matusovich	Ansonia Public Schools
*Deborah Bender	Southington Public Schools	Ben Megna Coop	perative Educational Services
Ruth Bogden	Berlin Public Schools	Sharon Merkle	New Fairfield Public Schools
Maria Bowers	Derby Public Schools	*Joann Milikowski	Stafford Public Schools
Laurie Bradley	North Branford Public Schools	Matthew Montgomery	Manchester Public Schools
Marlene Bucci	Newtown Public Schools	Patricia Picard	Canton Public Schools
Deborah Cahill	Bristol Public Schools	*Jennifer Samela	Thomaston Public Schools
Carolyn Coogan	East Hartford Public Schools	*Sara Sessions	Madison Public Schools
Ray Curren	East Haven Public Schools	Karen Sturges	Wa <mark>tertown Public</mark> Schools
Joyce Donnelly	Greenwich Public Schools	Priscilla Sweet	Plainfield Public Schools
Sylvia Fagan	Hartford Public Schools	Shannon Tamosaitis	Colchester Public Schools
*Anne Feeney	Avon Public Schools	Joanna <mark>Tho</mark> mpson	Regional School District 15
Shirley Gerich	Tolland Public Schools	Susan Thorne	Somers Public Schools
Nancy Kirsch	Wallingford Public Schools	Michele Urch	Suffield Public Schools
*Geraldine Lavalle	e Simsbury Public Schools	Amber Woodworth	Mansfield Public Schools
Jolene Lesniewski	Torrington Public Schools	Nancy Elaine Ziegler	Montville Public Schools

Connecticut State Department of Education

August 2014 Update for District Contacts for Paraeducator Issues

SERC Paraeducator Learning Seminar on SRBI and Math Strategies Saturday, January 31, 2015, from 9:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

Description: Today's classrooms are constantly changing, and paraeducators working in these inclusive environments have a wide variety of responsibilities. This learning seminar will provide paraeducators with the necessary skills, strategies, and information to work more effectively in collaborative partnerships with general and special education teachers to meet the diverse needs of all students.

This seminar is composed of two sessions:

Scientific Research-Based Interventions (SRBI) (9:00 a.m.-11:30 a.m.): Paraeducators play important roles in improving student achievement and can provide valuable instructional support at the foundation of SRBI. This session will provide an overview of SRBI and explore the multiple roles of paraeducators in implementing an effective SRBI system.

Math Strategies (12:30 p.m.-3:00 p.m.): The Common Core Standards for mathematics call for learners to gain deeper understanding of math concepts. This shift in emphasis requires new instructional methods. This session will provide an overview of the math standards, including the eight Standards for Mathematical Practice. Participants will learn various teaching strategies that support the math practices and guide all students to better math comprehension.

Cost: \$45

For content questions, please contact Anthony Brisson, SERC, 860 632-1485, ext. 315 or brisson@ctserc.org.

For registration questions, please contact Heather Dawes, 860-632-1485, ext. 263 or dawes @ctserc.org.

Audience: PreK-Grade 12: Paraeducators

Presenters: Anthony Brisson, Stephen Proffitt and Clare Wurm, SERC Consultants

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/paraeducator-learning-seminar-on-srbi-and-math-strategies-registration-12136186661?. ref=wpwidget.

The State of Connecticut Department of Education is committed to a policy of equal opportunity/affirmative action for all qualified persons. The Department of Education does not discriminate in any employment practice, education program, or educational activity on the basis of race, color, religious creed, sex, age, national origin, ancestry, marital status, sexual orientation, disability (including, but not limited to, mental disorder, past or present history of mental disability, physical disability or learning disability), genetic information, or any other basis prohibited by Connecticut state and/or federal nondiscrimination laws. The Department of Education does not unlawfully discriminate in employment and licensing against qualified persons with a prior criminal conviction. Inquiries regarding the Department of Education's nondiscrimination policies should be directed to: Levy Gillespie, Equal Employment Opportunity Director, Title IX/ADA/Section 504 Coordinator, State of Connecticut Department of Education, 25 Industrial Park Road, Middletown, CT 06457, 860-807-2071.