CONNECTICUT STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Mastery Examination Committee Meeting November 30, 2016 9-11 a.m.

Present: Dianna R. Wentzell, Commissioner of Education, Chairperson

Patti Fusco, AFT-CT

Ajit Gopalakrishnan, Connecticut State Department of Education

Kathy Greider, CAPSS

Dr. Stephen Hegedus, SCSU Kathleen Kennedy, CT PTA

Ed Leavy, AFT-CT

Patrice McCarthy, CABE

Dr. Karissa Niehoff, CAS-CIAC

Don Romoser, CT PTA

Allan Taylor, Connecticut State Board of Education, Chair Stephen Wright, Connecticut State Board of Education

Jeffrey Villar, CCER Don E. Williams, CEA

Absent: Jim Accomando, CT PTA

Dr. Joseph Cirasuolo, CAPSS

Ted Goerner, CEA Cathy Hill, CAS

Abe Krisst, Connecticut State Department of Education

Richard Murray, Killingly, CABE Arthur Poole, Higher Education

I. Call to Order

Dianna R. Wentzell called the meeting to order at 9:09 a.m.

II. Approval of the Minutes from October 19, 2016 Meeting

Minutes from the October 19, 2016, Mastery Examination Committee meeting were approved.

III. Articles Discussion (continued)

There was a continued discussion on the articles that were distributed prior to last month's meeting.

IV. Discussion of the FINAL DRAFT REPORT

There was a discussion on the DRAFT Final Report, due by January 17, 2017. Due to time limitations, Commissioner Wentzell requested an additional 30 minutes for continued committee discussion. An electronic "revised" report will be sent to committee members prior to any vote.

V. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be December 14, 2016, 1:00 p.m. (Possible Conference Call or Electronically)

VI. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 11:36 a.m.