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Educator Professional Development Requirements Task Force  

Recommendations 2017 

 

 Legal 

Reference 
Training Personnel Frequency 

Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Connecticut General Statute (CGS) 10-220a 

CGS 10-220a  Impact of drugs 

and alcohol on 

personality 

development and 

physical and 

mental health 

mental health 

risk education 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

Biennial and to 

all teachers new 

to district, new 

evaluating 

administrators 

 

Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

.5 hours 

CGS 10-220a  Prevention of 

risk taking 

behaviors and 

correlation to 

illness and 

disease, teen 

dating violence, 

domestic 

violence, child 

abuse, youth 

suicide, HIV 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

Not referenced Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

.5 hours 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Connecticut General Statute (CGS) 10-220a (cont’d) 

CGS 10-220a Violence, teen 

dating violence, 

domestic 

violence, child 

abuse and youth 

suicide 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

Not referenced Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

Refer to 10-222n 

CGS 10-220a Growth and 

development of 

exceptional 

children 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

Not referenced Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

.5 hours 

CGS 10-220a School violence 

prevention, 

conflict 

resolution, the 

prevention of and 

response to youth 

suicide and 

identification and 

prevention of and 

response to 

bullying 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

Not referenced Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

Refer to 10-222n 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Connecticut General Statute (CGS) 10-220a (cont’d) 

CGS 10-220a Cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation and 

other emergency 

life saving 

procedures 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

Not referenced Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

6 hours 

CGS 10-220a Computer and 

other information 

technology 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

Not referenced Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

5-10 hours 

(Reflective of 

technologically- 

dependent 

initiatives in 

districts) 

CGS 10-220a Teaching of 

language arts, 

reading and 

reading readiness 

for teachers in 

grades 

kindergarten to 

three 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

Not referenced Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

5-25 hours 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Connecticut General Statute (CGS) 10-220a (cont’d) 

CGS 10-220a Second language 

acquisition 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel in 

districts required 

Not referenced Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

Determined by 

the needs of the 

district and 

students 

CGS 10-220a Mandated 

Reporting 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

Not referenced Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

.5 hours 

CGS 10-220a Teacher 

evaluation and 

support program 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

 Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

5 hours 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Connecticut General Statute (CGS) 10-220a (cont’d) 

CGS 10-220a Literacy 

Interventions 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

 Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

5 hours 

CGS 10-220a Cultural 

Competency 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel 

 Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel to 

create, train, and 

implement 

10-20 hours 

Additional Connecticut General Statute Requiring Training (not inclusive of all statutes) 
(Not covered by the charge of the Task Force) 

CGS 10-14v Reading – 

training and test 

Elementary 

teachers (K-3) 

3 hours for test 

and unspecified 

for training (one 

time) 

CSDE Time: Teacher 

preparation and 

testing, report 

submission 

3-5 hours 

CGS 10-19 Effects of 

nicotine tobacco 

and drugs 

Elementary and 

secondary 

teachers, 

administrators, 

and guidance 

Unspecified for 

training and 

implementation 

on (for 2013 – 14 

and as needed) 

Higher Education 

and Board of 

Regents 

Time: Teachers 

and 

administrators 

.5 hours 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Additional Connecticut General Statute Requiring Training (not inclusive of all statutes) (cont’d) 
(Not covered by the charge of the Task Force) 

CGS 10-148a Improving 

teacher and 

administrator 

effectiveness 

All certified staff 18 hours 

annually 

Local Boards of 

Education with 

bargaining unit 

representation 

Time: Teachers 

and administrator 

planning, 

training, and 

implementation 

Funds: 
Substitute 

coverage 

18 hours 

CGS 10-145o Teacher 

education and 

mentoring 

program 

Beginning 

teachers in 

specified subject 

areas for 5 

modules and 

some for 2 

modules 

Training for 

Beginning 

Teachers, 

mentors, and 

reviewers 

CSDE, RESCs, 

local Boards of 

Education and 

bargaining unit 

representation 

Time: Beginning 

teachers, mentor 

teachers, 

reflection paper 

reviewers  

Funds: 

Substitute 

teachers for 

mentors,  

beginning 

teachers, and 

reviewers 

10-20 hours 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Additional Connecticut General Statute Requiring Training (not inclusive of all statutes) (cont’d) 
(Not covered by the charge of the Task Force) 

CGS 10-151c Teacher 

Evaluation 

Training 

Administrators Periodic training 

on educator 

evaluation 

Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: 

Administrators to 

attend training, 

create local 

calibration 

activities 

Referenced in 

10-220a 

CGS 10-212a Administration 

of Medication 

Teachers, 

administrators, 

and other staff 

who may need to 

administer 

Various staff 

taking field trips, 

holding after 

school events on 

annual basis 

 Time: Various 

staff, nurses 

.5 hours 

CGS 10-212a Epi Pen Training Employees 

selected by 

principal and 

nurse 

Annual training 

(to be created)  

CSDE and Dept. 

of Public Health 

and School Nurse 

Advisory 

Time: Training 

of large number 

of certified and 

non-certified 

staff 

Funds: Epi-pens 

.5-2 hours 

CGS 10-212c Food Allergies School Personnel   Time .5 hours 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Additional Connecticut General Statute Requiring Training (not inclusive of all statutes) (cont’d) 
(Not covered by the charge of the Task Force) 

CGS 10-212d Emergency 

Action Plans for 

Cardiac Arrest 

AEDs and CPR 

(if funding is 

available) 

School personnel 

at each school 

and athletic 

events 

 Schools develop 

emergency action 

plans 

Time: Plan 

creation, training 

Funds: purchase 

of AEDs and 

possible expense 

of trainers 

Referenced in 

10-220a 

CGS 10-222d  Teen dating 

violence and 

bullying (PBIS, 

safe school 

climate, peer 

training, safe 

school climate, 

promotion of 

parent 

involvement, 

culturally 

competent school 

base curriculum) 

Certified 
teachers, 

administrators, 

and pupil 

personnel  

 Local Board 

provides training 

Time: Teachers, 

administrators 

and others for 

plan creation, 

training, and 

implementation 

Funding: 

Substitute 

teachers 

Refer to 10-220a 

and 10-222n 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Additional Connecticut General Statute Requiring Training (not inclusive of all statutes) (cont’d) 
(Not covered by the charge of the Task Force) 

CGS 10-222j Teen dating 

violence and 

bullying (PBIS, 

safe school 

climate, peer 

training, safe 

school climate, 

promotion of 

parent 

involvement, 

culturally 

competent school 

base curriculum 

Non-certified 

staff 

Annual  CSDE Time: Para-

educators and 

other non-

certified staff 

Refer to 10-222n 

CGS 10-222n School and 

security safety 

plan creation and 

implementation 

All school 

employees 

 Local Boards of 

Education 

Time: Create, 

train and 

implement  

Funds: 

Substitute 

coverage 

20 hours 

(Inclusive of 10-

220a, 10-222d, 

and 10-222j 

requirements. 

Inclusive of all 

drills and 

modifications to 

plans.) 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Additional Connecticut General Statute Requiring Training (not inclusive of all statutes) (cont’d) 
(Not covered by the charge of the Task Force) 

CGS 46a-150 et 

seq 

Physical 

Restraint and 

Seclusion on 

Persons at Risk 

All providers and 

assistant 

providers of care, 

education or 

supervision of 

persons at risk 

  Time: 

Administrators 

teachers and 

para-educators, 

train and 

implement 

Funds: 

Substitute 

coverage 

7-14 hours (2 

days initially and 

1 day annually 

after) 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Additional Connecticut General Statute Requiring Training (not inclusive of all statutes) (cont’d) 
(Not covered by the charge of the Task Force) 

CGS 17a-101i(f) DCF Mandated 

Reporter 

Training 

All school 

employees 

*teacher, 

substitute 

teacher, 

administrator, 

superintendent 

guidance 

counselor, 

psychologist, 

physician nurse 

paraprofessional 

coach or anyone 

else who in the 

performance of 

his duties 

provides services 

on behalf of 

students 

One time and 

refresher course 

every 3 years 

DCF Time: All 

employees 

.5 hours 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Additional Connecticut General Statute Requiring Training (not inclusive of all statutes) (cont’d) 
(Not covered by the charge of the Task Force) 

CGS 17a-101q Sexual abuse 

awareness and 

prevention 

program 

Certified teachers   Time: Teachers .5 hours 

CGS 46q-54 Sexual 

Harassment 

Training for 

supervisors 

All new within 

six months  

As scheduled  Various sources Time: 
Supervisors; 

training  

Funds: Trainer 

6 hours 

Public Acts 

PA 14-196 Sexual abuse 

assault awareness 

– to identify, 

prevent and 

address  

Certified teachers Implement by 

October 2015 – 

full program with 

opt out for 

parents – One 

time, new 

teachers and 

refreshers 

DCF, CSDE and 

Sexual Assault 

Crisis Services 

Time: 
Implementation 

at local level 

Funding: 
Substitute 

coverage 

Referenced in 

17a-101q 
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Legal Reference Training Personnel Frequency 
Training 

Created by 

Impact on 

Resources 

At a Minimum, 

# of Hours 

Required 

Public Acts  

PA 13-3  Threatening and 

Disturbing 

Behavior – safe 

school climate 

Designated 

mental health and 

first aid 

responders 

(teachers, 

counselors, 

nurses, etc.) 

Annual – starting 

July 1, 2015 

CSDE to safe 

school climate 

coordinator since 

July 1, 2014 

Time: To write 

annual report, 

time for training, 

and 

implementation 

Referenced in 

10-222d 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 

34 CFR 

(FERPA) 

Training re: 

personally 

identifiable 

student 

information 

All persons 

collecting or 

using such 

information 

  Time: 

Administrators, 

secretaries, 

counselors, some 

teachers 

.5 hours 

29 CFR (OSHA) Blood-borne 

pathogens – 

prevention and 

exposure 

All school 

employees 

Annual  OSHA Time: training .5 hours 

    Overall Total of Minimum Hours 

Required to Annually Complete 

Mandated PD 

106+ hours  

OR 13 days  

(based on 8 hour-

day) 
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This table (same as on page 5 of the report) describes the cost to districts in paid time for certified and non-certified staff to complete 
the minimum 106 hours of mandated professional development. A strong clarification must be made related to the table below. It 
should not be interpreted that savings would be incurred, except for substitute coverage, travel, technology, etc., because in most cases 

this is existing contractual time that could be better used for professional learning and classroom instruction, rather than compliance 
related in-service training. In all cases, districts distribute these trainings throughout a school year during the school day with the use 
of substitute instructors, full day professional development days, after-school faculty meetings, and other opportunities that primarily 
come from existing contractual time. 

 
Staffing Costs for Mandated Trainings (based on an estimated 13 days/annually)* 

Certified and Non-Certified 

Staff 

Estimated Paid Time Per 

Individual 

Estimated Cost Districts Pay 

in Time State-wide** 

Sample: 
Large Urban District** 

Teachers 

$4,216 (based on an annual 
salary of $60,000 and a 185-day 

contract) 

$205,835,676 (based on 48,820 
teachers FTE) 

N = 1,813 teachers 
$7,614,600 

Administrators 

$6,704 (based on an annual 

salary of $115,000 and a 223-
day contract) 

$24,013,857 (based on 3,582 
administrators FTE) 

N = 163 administrators 

$1,092,100 

Non-Certified 
$1,560 (based on an hourly rate 

of $15) 
$25,239,240 (based on 16,179 

non-certified staff FTE) 

N = 550 non-certified staff 
$858,000 

 Total cost in time for 

Connecticut public school 

educators to complete 

mandated training for 

teachers, administrators, and 

paraeducators 

$255,088,773  
annually in paid FTE staff 

time statewide 

$9,564,700 annually in 

paid FTE staff time for a 

single district 

*Estimated amounts should not be interpreted as additional costs, as this time is primarily FTE or contractual time that is already an expense 

incurred by the district. The FTE dedicated to completing the mandated training could be used to address critical professional learning aligned to 

student/ educator/school/district needs and/or increases in instructional time with students.  

 

**Based on 2014-15 data from EdSight 

 

 


