
      
 

 
TO:               Superintendents of Schools, Executive Directors, Adult Education Directors,  

Pupil Services Directors, and School Counselors 
 

FROM:         John D. Frassinelli, Division Director 
 Irene Parisi, Chief Academic Officer  
                        
DATE:           March 24, 2025 

SUBJECT:    Requirements for Withdrawal of Students from Public School - Connecticut General 
Statutes Section 10-184   

 

Background 
The purpose of this memorandum is to outline the current requirements for withdrawing students from 
school depending on the age of the student. 
 
Connecticut General Statutes (C.G.S.) Section 10-184  prescribes the manner in which a student who is 
seventeen or eighteen years of age may be withdrawn from public school. 
 

Students who are Seventeen Years Old  
Seventeen-year-old students cannot withdraw themselves from school. A parent or guardian of a 
seventeen-year-old child may withdraw such child from school if they also enroll the child in an adult 
education program as defined in C.G.S. Section 10-69. 
 
Parent/Guardian Responsibilities for Seventeen-Year-Old Students Seeking to Withdraw 

• The parent or guardian must personally appear at the school district office and sign a withdrawal 
form and an adult education enrollment form. 

• Such parent or other person must attest in writing that such child will be enrolled in an adult 
education program upon such child’s withdrawal from school. 

 
School District Responsibilities for Seventeen-Year-Old Students Seeking to Withdraw 

• The school district must provide the parent/guardian with information on the educational options 
available in the school system and in the community. 

• The district must provide specific information on the school district’s process by which the parent 
must immediately enroll the student in adult education. 

 

Students who are Eighteen Years Old 
The statute also addresses the withdrawal from school of students who have reached the age of eighteen. 
There is no requirement of parental consent or enrollment in adult education for an eighteen-year-old 
student. Specifically, the statute provides: 
 

For the school year commencing July 1, 2023, and each school year thereafter, a student 
who is eighteen years of age or older may withdraw from school. Such . . . student shall 
personally appear at the school district office and sign a withdrawal form. Such 
withdrawal form shall include an attestation from a guidance counselor, school 
counselor or school administrator of the school that such district has provided such . . . 
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student with information on the educational options available in the school system and in 
the community.   

 
Please see page three for frequently asked questions. For additional information, please contact Kimberly 
Traverso at kimberly.traverso@ct.gov regarding withdrawals or transfers or Sabrina Mancini at 
Sabrina.Mancini@ct.gov regarding Adult Education.  
 
 
JDF:ip 
 
cc:  Charlene M. Russell-Tucker, Commissioner  
       Ajit Gopalakrishnan, Chief Performance Officer  
       Kimberly Traverso, Education Consultant 
       Sabrina Mancini, Education Consultant 
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Frequently Asked Questions Regarding School Withdrawal 
 

1. Can a 16-year-old ever "withdraw" from school? 
No. 
  

2. Can a 16-year-old transfer to another school? 
Yes, a 16-year-old can transfer to a different district, go to private school, go to another state, 
move out of the country, or be homeschooled. 
  

3. Can a 17-year-old withdraw from school? 
Yes, but only with parent/guardian permission and only to adult education per C.G.S. 10-69 (i.e., 
state funded adult education). The withdrawal form must include an affirmation by the 
parent/guardian that they will enroll child in an adult education program. 
  

4. Can an 18-year-old withdraw from school? 
Yes, per C.G.S. 10-184 a student who is eighteen years of age or older may withdraw on their 
own by signing a formal withdrawal form and must include a signature from a school official (i.e. 
school counselor, school administrator). 
  

5. Do 17 and 18-year-olds need withdrawal forms to enroll in adult education? 
Yes. In all cases.  
  

6. Does confirmation of enrollment in adult education need to be reported back to the high school 
prior to the student being exited from PSIS? 
No. The statute asks for signature from school counselor (i.e., guidance counselor) of the high 
school and the parent/guardian, but it does not require any confirmation from adult education. 
  

7. Does a student new to the country who is 17 or 18 years old need to go to the district office to 
execute a withdrawal form before enrolling in adult education? 
Yes. Adult education cannot enroll the student without that withdrawal form. 
  

8. Does a student coming from another state to CT, who is 17 or 18 years old need to go to the 
district office to execute a withdrawal form before enrolling in adult education? 
Yes. Adult education cannot enroll the student without that withdrawal form. 
  

9. Does the above 17 or 18-year-old who is new to the country need to be registered in PSIS and 
then withdrawn to go to adult education? 
No. The withdrawal form can be executed without PSIS registration because the form is a means 
for the parent/guardian or student to communicate that they have been made aware of the options 
available to them and are choosing to enroll themselves/their child in adult education. 
  

10. Can a 17-year-old withdraw and enroll in Job Corps?? 
Job Corps is not a recognized adult education program as defined in C.G.S. Section 10-69.  
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