
CONNECTICUT STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification 

 
 
 
Dear MFT Certification Applicant: 
 
The MFT certification regulations became effective September 9, 2008.  The new MFT 
certification regulations are posted to our website at:  http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cert under the 
link titled Proposed Regulations. 
 
To apply for the School MFT certification endorsement, you will need to submit the following: 
 

1. ED 170 General Application for Certificate  
http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/lib/sde/PDF/Cert/certform/ed_170.pdf  

2. Official undergraduate and graduate transcripts 

3. A copy of your valid license from the Connecticut Department of Public Health pursuant 
to Section 20-195c of the Connecticut General Statutes to practice marriage and family 
therapy; 

 
4. Meet Praxis I testing requirement  

http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/cwp/view.asp?a=2613&q=321260    
 or apply/qualify for a Praxis I waiver 
http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/lib/sde/PDF/Cert/certform/ed_192.pdf    
 (see Praxis I waiver criteria at 
http://www.sde.ct.gov/sde/lib/sde/pdf/cert/praxis/praxisiwaivercriteria.pdf ) 

5. $50 money order or bank check (no personal checks) made payable to the “Treasurer, 
State of Connecticut.”  Upon review of your credentials and determination of your 
eligibility for the initial educator certificate, you will be asked to submit an additional 
$50 money order or bank check as the total fee is $100. 

On page two of the application, where you are required to list the endorsement you are 
requesting, please enter endorsement #268 for School Marriage and Family Therapy. 

Upon receipt of the above, we will evaluate your application for eligibility and advise you in 
writing.   

If you have any questions, you may contact our office at 860-713-6969 or e-mail 
teacher.cert@ct.gov or in writing. 

 
Georgette Nemr 
Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification 
Connecticut State Department of Education 


