CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

DISTRICT ORIENTATION TO
CONNECTICUT CERTIFICATION

Subject to regular updates and/or changes. Please check for updates at www.ct.gov/sde/cert.
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BUREAU OF EDUCATOR STANDARDS &

CERTIFICATION

gov Home / Department of Edi ! Cerification / Bureau of Cerification

Bureau of Certification

Becoming Certified in Connecticut

Renewing / Upgrading Your Guidance for Applicants: The Bureau of Educator Standards and Certification Public Phone Lines
Certification have been reopened, with limited hours, Mondays and Thursdays from 12-2pm. During the peak
) . ) months of May through September, initial review of an application may take 8-12 weeks. Please
Certification Guides and Fact Sheets wiait at least 12 weeks from your application date to inquire about the status. After that time, you

may email inquiries to teacher.cert@ct.gov. In addition, please note there is a current delay in the
COVID-19 Updates for Educators o - . ~ B )
printing and mailing of issued certificates. However, you can log into your CECS account and print

interstate Flexibility and CT a copy of your cerrtificate while waiting for the official one to arrive in the mail. We appreciate your
Tl patience and professionalism as the Bureau works diligently to meet the needs of Connecticut
educators.

Cross-Endorsements [ Adding
Endorsements to Your Certificate

Educator Preparation Programs 'COVID-19 Updates for Current Educators, Pending Applicants & Districts

Certification News and Alerts
Updated information on educator preparation, testing, TEAM, certification, and district resources.
Certification FAQ

Contact Us

Aspiring Educators CT Certified Educators
Search Department of Education

Use our online system to Becoming a certified For Connecticut

apply for certification, educator or Connecticut certification holders:
reset password and recover educator preparation renew, upgrade or add an
your username program completers endorsement

Coaches

Out of State Educator J District Resources

Apply for the first time or Obtaining Connecticut Forms, tuterials, data
renew a permit certification for out-of-sta
educators and program procedures

completers

reporting and regulatory

Top Links

» Educator Certification Public Lookup
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CERTIFICATION RESOURCES FOR

DISTRICTS

Certification Resources for Districts

ST Overview

Contact
Flexible Staffing Strategies for Districts and LEAs (Recorded Webinar)
Information about updated forms, strategies and tools for staffing educater positions.

Provided by:
Department of Education Public Lookup: Certification
Educator Information News and Alerts

* Durational Shortage Area Permit (DSAP) * Forms for District Use

* Substitute Teacher Authorizations * Compliance

* TEAM

* Temporary Emergency Coaching Permit

* Charter School Educator Permit {CSEP) * FOIA Requests

RESOURCE GUIDE

FOR NEW ADMINISTRATORS

DISTRICT ORIENTATION TO
CONNECTICUT CERTIFICATION

Durational Shortage Area Permit (DSAP)

s Authorizes service in CT boards of education (ED 177 Application T

) when applicants have been

determined to be missing requirements for the certification area being taught.
s The application should be for a permanent placement.

* Minimally, a bachelar’s degree from a regionally-accredited higher education institution is required



STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS

Connecticut General Statutes state:

“No teacher, supervisor, administrator, special service
staff member or school superintendent shall be employed
in any of the schools of any local or regional board of
education unless such person possesses an appropriate
state certificate [CONNECTICUT] nor shall any such
person be entitled to any salary unless such person can
produce such certificate dated previous to or on the first
day of employment.” (Sec. 10-145(a))

Appropriate authorization is required prior to
issuance of a formal employment contract.



STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS

(CONTINUED)

Connecticut General Statutes state:

“If the State Board of Education determines that a local or regional
board of education is not in compliance with any provisions of
sections 10-144o0 to 10-149, inclusive, and section 10-220a, the State
Board of Education may require the local or regional board of
education to forfeit of the total sum which is paid to such a board of

education from the State Treasury an amount to be determined by the
State Board of Education...” (Sec. 10-145(b))

Service without an active, grade/subject appropriate certificate
places the teacher out-of-compliance and jeopardizes any potential

Teacher Retirement Credit (TRB) as directed in Connecticut General
Statutes, Section 10-183b(26).



MANDATED BACKGROUND CHECKS

CRIMINAL HISTORY

A criminal history records check is conducted by the State Police on ALL
applicants seeking certification. The Bureau has no control over the timeline for
routine background checks

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY (DCF)

C.G.S. 10-221d(g) requires a records check for ALL applicants seeking
certification. If notification is received that the applicant is listed on the DCF
child abuse and neglect registry, the application for the certificate, authorization
or permit must be denied.

District Responsibility
* Required to fingerprint each person hired within 30 days of employment.

 If the district receives notice of a conviction of a crime by a person holding a
certificate, authorization or permit issued by the State Board of Education, the
district must notify the Bureau of Investigations and Professional Practices.

Note: Educators on DCF registry may work directly with DCF to be removed from registry.



TYPES OF CERTIFICATES

Initial Educator Certificate
» Valid for three years

* Requirements to advance: 10 months of successful service &
completion of TEAM, or two years of appropriate nonpublic or out-of-
state service

 May be renewed if educator has not served under certificate

Provisional Educator Certificate
 Valid for eight years
* Requirements to advance: 30 school months of successful service
under the Provisional Certificate in CT and advanced coursework
* Note: Teaching certificate require master’s degree (as of 7/1/18);
#092 requires 30 credits beyond master’s degree
 Renewable if educator has not met requirements to advance

Professional Educator Certificate
» Effective 7/1/22, valid for ten years
e Renewable



TYPES OF CERTIFICATES

(CONTINUED)

Temporary Certificates/Permits/Authorizations

* Nonrenewable Interim Educator Certificate

* Temporary 90-Day Certificate

Resident Educator Certificate

Durational Shortage Area Permit (DSAP)

Visiting International Teacher Permit (VITP)

Long-Term Substitute Authorization

* Temporary Authorization for Minor Assignment



ASSESSMENT DEFERRAL

Nonrenewable Interim Certificate

* Issued at the Initial or Provisional level

 Must meet all certification requirements other than
assessments

* Valid for three years

 Must pass all deferred assessments prior to the expiration
date to prevent lapse in certification

[f all deferred assessments are met prior to the expiration
date of the interim certificate, deficiencies are automatically
removed, and a new certificate is issued.

Available to Out-of-State Candidates Only*

*Issued to in-state graduates (summer 2020) under Executive Order #7C
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SUBSTITUTES

Daily Substitutes w/Bachelors Degree
* Hired at the local level; require no authorization from CSDE
* Cannot exceed 40 days in the same assignment*
*Can only serve as “Ms. Smith, grade 4” for 40 days in the academic year

Daily Substitutes w/out a Bachelors Degree
* Minimum requirements: At least 18 years old, high school diploma or
equivalent and experience with school-age children
* Cannot exceed 40 days in the same assignment
* Online application available on District Resources page

Long-Term Substitute Teacher Authorization
* For service in the same assignment for 40+ days in a school year
* Requires bachelor’s degree and 12 credits in the subject area

 Cannot be issued for special service or administrative endorsements
* Form ED 175
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DURATIONAL SHORTAGE AREA PERMIT

Required Qualifications
* Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution
* 12 semester hours of credit in the subject area

* Enrollment in approved certification program, if required (many cross-
endorsements do not require enrollment in a program)

District must request the DSAP

e Application ED 177
« ED 177 Attachment (evidence of enrollment) requires signature of district and
Certification Officer

Only valid for service in requesting district

May be renewed twice if:
* District submits new ED 177 requesting reissuance
* Candidate has completed an additional nine credits during previous DSAP period
* Note: Renewal of DSAP for Special Education (#165) requires passing score on
the Praxis Il Special Education test
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PARAEDUCATOR EQUIVALENCY

Paraeducator Equivalency for Temporary

Authorizations

* A district may request a Temporary Authorization
(Long Term Substitute or Durational Shortage
Area Permit) in special education for a
paraeducator who:

* Has 20 months of successful service as a
paraeducator (accepted in lieu of 12-credits)

* Meets all other requirements for corresponding

temporary authorization
12



SPECIAL AUTHORIZATIONS

Temporary Authorization for Minor
Assignment (TAMA)

* Candidate must have a primary assignment in the
district in an area for which they hold a valid
certificate

* Authorizes educator to teach up to 2 periods per day
in separate subject area

* Requires 12 credits (6 with good cause) in subject
area for which the minor assignment is requested

* Educators who hold only elementary certification are
not eligible
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TRANSITIONAL CERTIFICATION

Temporary 90-Day Permit

Issued to candidates who have completed an approved Connecticut
alternate route to certification program:

 Requires district request (ED 172)

 Position should be one expected to extend beyond the 90-day
period
 All assessment requirements must be met; no testing deferrals

 Following a successful 90-day period, candidate applies for Initial
Educator Certificate (ED 172A); district attestation to successful
service under 90-Day Certificate should be signed no earlier than

two weeks prior to the expiration of the 90-Day Certificate »



TRANSITIONAL CERTIFICATION

Resident Educator Certificate

Available to candidates enrolled in an approved program with an
established residency model:

 Valid for two years; may be extended for one additional year
: Requires the submission of form ED 199 - completed in conjunction with
the employing school district and certification program

: Requires at least one of the following:

. Passing scores on all assessments required for endorsement; or
. Major or 30 credits in endorsement area; or
. Completion of at least one year in the residency program

: Following at least one year of successful service as teacher of record under
Resident Educator Certificate, candidate then applies for Initial Educator

Certificate with forms ED 170A s



VISITING INTERNATIONAL TEACHER PERMIT

(VITP)

* Issued for one year - renewable up to five times

* Teachers come to Connecticut from Spain, China and other countries
via approved DOD exchange programs under J-1 Visas

 Candidates are fully certified in their home country, most have
master’s degrees, at least 3 years of teaching experience, and
backgrounds in bilingual and multicultural education

* Passing scores on ACTFL OPI in English or equivalent required

* District Responsibility: work with sponsoring agency, provide salary
and benefits, provide mentoring, support and professional
development

For additional information, email Wendy.Harwin@ct.gov
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CERTIFICATION FLEXIBILITY

Emergency Pathways for Special Education Paraeducators

« Two years of experience as a SpEd para may be accepted in lieu of 12 credits in
special education for issuance of a Long-Term Substitute Authorization or DSAP

 All other requirements must be met (e.g., bachelor’s degree)

DSAPs for endorsements not identified as a Designated Shortage
Area

Kindergarten and Birth to Three Authorizations

e Educators who hold an Elementary, 1-6 (#305) certificate can request approval
from Commissioner to serve in kindergarten for one school year

e Educators who hold #113 or #165 certificate can request approval from
Commissioner to serve in a Connecticut Birth to Three program

Substitute Authorization for Candidates Who Do Not Hold a
Bachelor’s Degree

 For service as a daily substitute

e Science Crosswalk
17



CROSS ENDORSEMENT

Designated Subject Shortage Areas™ only require a
passing Praxis Il score to become cross-endorsed:
= Mathematics (4-8, 7-12)
= Science (4-8, 7-12)
= World Languages
* Technology Education (PK-12)
= Computer Science (P.A. 19-128)

*excludes Special Ed., TESOL, Bilingual, School Library Media or
Speech Language Pathology



OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS

INTERSTATE AGREEMENT

Facilitates certification of teachers and special service
educators from other states

Applicable to all 50 states, D.C. and Puerto Rico

Does not waive degree, experience, or assessment
requirements, although some out-of-state tests may be
accepted as equivalent and/or assessments may be
deferred for three years

Agreement does not apply to administrative
certificates

: Out-of-State Educat .
Direct educators to on our website
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OUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS

(CONTINUED)

NORTHEASTERN RECIPROCITY

An Initial certificate may be issued to candidates who hold a
valid certificate (equivalent to a CT Initial certificate) in:
Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts,
New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto
Rico, Rhode Island, Vermont and Virginia. Exempts educator
from Connecticut testing.

Educator will be granted the closest comparable endorsement
offered in Connecticut. (Early childhood endorsements most
often result in an elementary endorsement, unless the out-of-
state certificate is specific to early childhood special education.)

Candidates with teaching experience (during past 10 years)
should verify this service for possible issuance of a higher level

of certificate. 20



ASSESSMENT EXEMPTION

* For out-of-state applicants only

* Educator must hold a valid certificate in another state
(equivalent to at least a CT Initial Educator Certificate); and
have one of the following:

Three years of successful, full-time, appropriately licensed teaching
experience in the endorsement area sought, within the past 10
years; or

A master’s degree in the academic subject area for which
certification is sought. Note: Pedagogical degrees (elementary
education, special education, etc.) are not applicable.
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VALIDITY OF CERTIFICATES

Integrated Early Childhood/Special Education:

e #1122 authorizes regular and/or special education in Birth to K settings
« #113 authorizes regular education in PreK - grade 3 and special education only
in grades PK-K

Elementary and Middle Grades endorsements:
* May teach only grades and subject area(s) covered by the certificate

* May not teach up or down a grade level

» Elementary (#013) authorizes K-6
» Elementary (#305) authorizes 1-6

Elementary Bilingual (#902):

* Authorizes teaching in grades K-9

Secondary Subjects, Grades 7-12:
* May teach subject down to grade 5 in a departmentalized setting

* World language endorsements authorize teaching of the language down to grade 4
22



OBSOLETE ENDORSEMENTS

PK-8 (001)
Grades 1-8 (004)
Elementary K-6 (013)

Middle Grades 4-8 (006)

Although no longer issued to new educators, these endorsements
still authorize the teaching of all academic subject areas in grades
listed

Bilingual, PreK-12 (009)

Although no longer issued to new educators, this endorsement still
authorizes the teaching of all academic subject areas to bilingual
students 23



COACHING PERMITS

Any athletic coach of intramural or interscholastic athletics in
elementary, middle or high schools, must hold a valid coaching permit,
regardless of coaching assignment or compensation.

. Five Year Renewable Coaching Permit
. Requested by candidate (ED 185)
. Requires a valid CT Educator Certificate or completion of approved 45-clock hour
coaching course
. Valid First Aid and CPR (online only not acceptable)
. Renewal requires 15 clock hours in workshops, seminars or coursework

° Temporary Emergency Coaching Permit
. Requested by district (ED 186)

. Valid for service in requesting district only

. May be reissued one time with proof of enrollment in a coaching course or two
semester hours/30 clock hours in an approved coaching course

. First Aid and CPR completed within one year of application

All coaching permits require concussion and head injury training (module 15)

Jrom CIAC. Concussion refresher module required every five years. ,



LAPSED CERTIFICATES

Encourage all certified staff to monitor their
certificates to avoid a lapse

Lapse in certification may result in:
* Test requirements to regain endorsement

* A change in endorsement (may lose authorization to teach
certain grades)

« An impact on teacher retirement contributions
* Compliance issues for the district

Educators are responsible for maintaining their
certificates and for being aware of requirements for

renewal or advancement of a certificate.
v'25



ASSESSMENT CHANGES

Tests are frequently regenerated, added,
discontinued and/or replaced.

* Praxis CORE eliminated as a certification requirement, except for
bilingual endorsements. Bilingual certification may require
Praxis CORE Writing

 CSDE may accept equivalent tests from other states; test results
must be verified by out-of-state Department of Education or
recommending college using form ED 711

Updates are regularly posted under Certification News and
Alerts and under the Guide to Assessments link
www.ct.gov/sde/cert
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EDUCATOR CERTIFICATION LOOKUP

Available under Top Links at www.ct.gov/sde/cert and at

Certification Resources for Districts

Educator Search Information
*| ast Name: Type Educator Last Name Here

*First Name:| Type Educator First Name Here
OPTIONAL(Search Within A District)

District:| ALL v‘
AND
*Requestors Email: Type Requestors Email Here
Clear ‘ Search
R —

* Indicates Required Field
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EDSIGHT SECURE - ACTIVE CERTIFICATE

SEARCH

Welcome to EdSight Secure! NI -

Dashboard

* Educator Preparation Providers (EPPs) - Click here to
’g t uq.n-.fu:: ‘& access the EPP Quality Measures Report!
SECURE *

Students Educators Instruction Performance

Early Indication Tool (EIT) New! Comprehensive Local Needs Assessment New! Adjusted Cohort Graduation Rates

(CLNA)

EIT for Teachers

Provides data from EIT and other sources in one exportabl
file. Data can be integrated with your existing district data
management system or used with the provided Data
Lookup Tool (instructions). Data from this tool can be Connecticut SAT School Day - PRINTABLE Student
shared with teachers in order to decrease the amount of Report (for current students only)

time spent on formal assessment upon return to school.

Educators With Active Endorsements CMT/CAPT Science

Students Receiving Rigorous Coursework Letters

Updated! Connecticut SAT School Day.

Effect of SASID Changes on Secure Student

English Learner (EL) Status Report Growth Reports
FAFSA Completion Updated! LAS Links Achievement/Mastery
Student Summary. LAS Links Growth

Updated! Next Generation Science
Standards(NGSS) Assessment

New! EdSight Secure Resource Library Need Help? Contact Us EdSight Public

EdSight Secure contains personally identifiable information that is confidential pursuant to federal and state law. By logging onto and accessing these data, | hereby acknowledge that the information contained

therein shall only be disclosed to authorized personnel and used as permitted by federal and state law.
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ANNUAL COMPLIANCE REVIEW

Annual Certified Staff File Information (EDS)
+

Annual Certification Database Information (CECS)

Annual Compliance Report
(Certification Verification Survey)

e Educators must hold an appropriate certificate for the
position(s) in which they are serving.

* Districts who have educators in “unlisted teaching” or
“unlisted non-teaching” assignments will receive a
separate 90990/90995 report. Job descriptions must
be provided for these positions. ’9



ASSIGNMENT CODES

Each certified staff member should be entered into the

EDS with the assignment code(s) that best represents

their particular position(s).

* Please refer to assignment code descriptions list for
guidance.

* If unsure, email full job description to
juliannefrost@ct.gov for review. e

T
Jooooooooo

Joooooo g
B E R Bl

........

Information in the EDS must align with = =TT EE R
information provided to the Bureau of
Educator Standards and Certification on

completed ED 126 forms.

 District explanation will be required for
inconsistencies and may result in penalty -
to the teacher. S S
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STATEMENT OF PROFESSIONAL

EXPERIENCE (ED 126)

List only endorsement(s) under which the educator has served

Experience listed on ED 126 must be consistent with information
entered in the certified staff file (EDS)

If educator served under more than one endorsement, list
experience on a separate line of the form - include percentage of
time for each (FT = 0.5 FTE or greater / PT = less than 0.5 FTE)
Include any leaves of absence on a separate line

Remember to indicate successful /unsuccessful service

ED 126 grid should not be completed by the educator; central office
must provide all information

Must include original signature of superintendent unless a letter
authorizing another designee is on file with the CSDE
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ED 126

(CONTINUED)

Successful vs. Unsuccessful Service

District must indicate successful or unsuccessful service

Examples of unsuccessful service
 Misconduct
 Failure to meet district expectations

Unsuccessful service requires letter of explanation

Note: Unsuccessful service does not necessarily result in denial -



CONTACT INFORMATION FOR THE PUBLIC

Website: www.ct.gov/sde/cert

Email: teacher.cert@ct.gov

Telephone: 860-713-6969
(Monday & Thursday, Noon - 2:00 p.m.)

Street Address: 450 Columbus Boulevard
Hartford, CT 06103

Lobby Hours for leaving materials in SDE Drop Box:
8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. (Monday-Friday)
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