CONNECTICUT STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION Hartford

Legislation and Policy Development Committee Meeting November 7, 2018

Minutes (Approved 12/5/2018)

Pursuant to notice filed with the Secretary of the State, the Board of Education Legislation and Policy Development Committee met in the North Plaza, Meeting Room E, 450 Columbus Blvd., Hartford, Connecticut, on November 7, 2018.

I. Call to Order

Committee Chair Joseph Vrabely called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m. Also present were Committee members: Erin Benham, William Davenport, Donald Harris, Terry Jones, and Malia Sieve.

Board Member Robert Trefry was present as well.

Presenters: Charlene Russell-Tucker, Chief Operations Officer; Dr. Sarah Barzee, Chief Talent Officer; Dr. Katie Moirs, Education Consultant and Committee Chair Vrabely.

Also present for all or part of the meeting were the following Department of Education staff members: Chief Financial Officer Kathy Demsey; Communications Director Peter Yazbak; Sheff Office Director Glen Peterson; Kim Traverso, Education Consultant, Legal Director Peter Haberlandt; Attorney Robin Cecere and Recorder Mildred Pagán.

II. Approval of Meeting Minutes

On a motion made by Committee Chair Vrabely and seconded by Erin Benham, the Committee unanimously approved the minutes of the October 3, 2018, Legislation and Policy Development Committee meeting.

III. Position Statement on Reducing Disproportionality in Suspension and Expulsions (Exclusionary Discipline) 2018

Committee Chair Vrabely introduced Chief Operating Officer, Charlene Russell-Tucker, who presented this topic. She explained how evidenced-based behavior interventions help meet students' educational needs while keeping them safe in school. She indicated that an effective approach to school discipline involves a proactive and comprehensive system of supports designed to provide opportunities for all students to achieve social, behavioral and learning success. Students' needs can be met by examining the factors that impact behavior as well as the relationship between environment and behavior.

Ms. Russell-Tucker also stated that exclusionary school discipline adversely affects students with disabilities, students of color and low-income students. This practice limits students' access to

classroom instruction and fail to improve student outcomes and school climate and should only be used as a last resort.

A discussion ensued with committee members asking a lot of interesting questions, which Ms. Russell-Tucker responded to accordingly.

A copy of Ms. Russell-Tucker's presentation is on file with the Office of the State Board.

IV. Educator Preparation Programs (EPP)

Committee Chair Vrabely introduced Chief Talent Officer, Dr. Sarah Barzee and Dr. Katie Moirs who presented on the continuing approval of educator preparation programs for the University of Bridgeport and approval of a new program – special education, undergraduate level – at Fairfield University. The CSDE Review Committee recommended full approval for the University of Bridgeport preparation programs and for the Fairfield special education program.

A discussion ensued with committee members asking a variety of questions, which Dr. Barzee and Dr. Moirs responded to accordingly.

On a motion made by Committee Chair Vrabely and seconded by Donald Harris, the Committee unanimously approved forwarding the two EPP programs for consideration to the State Board.

V. Discussion Regarding State Board of Education Position Statement on Public School Choice

Committee Chair Vrabely continued discussions on this topic which has been a concern for all committee members for the last several months. Chief Financial Officer Kathy Demsey continued her discussion of a funding chart she prepared concerning choice programs. Committee members asked questions and offered comments concerning the focus of the various mechanisms that exist for funding public schools in Connecticut. The Chair directed that the discussion would continue at next month's meeting.

VI. Other Matters

Committee Chair Vrabely thanked everyone for attending the meeting.

VII. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 9:32 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Mildred Pagán, Recorder