CONNECTICUT STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION Hartford

Special Meeting

Minutes Special State Board of Education Meeting August 4, 2015 (approved September 2, 2015)

Pursuant to notice filed with the Secretary of the State and posted on the agency's web site, the State Board of Education (hereinafter "Board") met via teleconference on Tuesday, August 4, 2015. A speaker phone was set up in Room 307 of the State Office Building, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, Connecticut.

I. Call to Order

Chairperson Allan Taylor called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m.

- Present: Allan Taylor, Chairperson (in person) Theresa Hopkins-Staten, Vice Chairperson (via conference call) Erin D. Benham (via conference call) Susannah M. Beyl, Student Member (via conference call) Terry Jones (in person) Estela López (via conference call) Maria Mojica (via conference call) Robert Trefry, Ex Officio (via conference call) Joseph J. Vrabely, Jr. (via conference call) Stephen Wright (via conference call)
- Absent: Gregory Gray, Ex Officio Timothy J. Noel-Sullivan, Student Member
- II. Items Requiring Action

Mr. Vrabely moved, Mr. Jones seconded, and by unanimous consent the Board considered agenda item II.B. at this time.

B. Approval of Application for Regional Agriscience and Technology Education (ASTE) Program at Shepaug Valley School, Region 12

Mrs. Hopkins-Staten moved, Dr. López seconded, that the State Board of Education, pursuant to Section 10-64 of the Connecticut General Statutes grants approval of the application of Regional School District 12 in cooperation with the boards of education of

the towns of Brookfield, Danbury, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, and Sherman, to establish a Regional Agricultural Science and Technology Education Center at Shepaug Valley School, subject to the conditions noted in the Commissioner's August 4, 2015, memorandum to the State Board of Education, and directs the Commissioner to take the necessary action.

VOTE ON		
MOTION:	In favor:	Benham, Hopkins-Staten, Jones, López, Mojica, Taylor,
		Vrabely, Wright
	Opposed:	0
	Abstained:	0
	Absent:	0

Motion carried unanimously.

A. Approval of Charter School Enrollments

Mr. Vrabely moved, Ms. Mojica seconded, that the State Board of Education, pursuant to Section 10-66bb(c) of the Connecticut General Statutes, approves the distribution of 9,201 seats in state charter schools and 102 seats at a local charter school for the 2015-16 school year, and grants enrollment waivers for nine schools, as delineated in the August 4, 2015, memorandum to the Board, "Approval of Charter School Enrollments," and directs the Commissioner to take the necessary action.

VOTE ON		
MOTION:	In favor:	Benham, Hopkins-Staten, Jones, López, Mojica, Taylor,
		Vrabely, Wright
	Opposed:	0
	Abstained:	0
	Absent:	0

Motion carried unanimously.

C. Appointments to Connecticut Technical High School Board

Dr. López moved, Mrs. Hopkins-Staten seconded, that the State Board of Education, pursuant to Section 10-95(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes, approves the appointments of Mr. Chris DiPentima and Dr. Daisy Cocco De Filippis as members of the Connecticut Technical High School System Board, effective immediately, for a term coterminous with the term of the Governor or until a successor is appointed and has qualified, whichever is longer, and directs the Commissioner to take the necessary action.

VOTE ON		
MOTION:	In favor:	Benham, Hopkins-Staten, Jones, López, Mojica, Taylor,
		Vrabely, Wright
	Opposed:	0
	Abstained:	0
	Absent:	0

Motion carried unanimously.

D. Appointment, Chief Performance Officer

Dr. López moved, Mrs. Hopkins-Staten seconded, that the State Board of Education, pursuant to Section 10-2a of the Connecticut General Statutes and its Bylaws, appoints Mr. Ajit Gopalakrishnan as Chief Performance Officer, effective immediately, and directs the Commissioner to take the necessary action.

VOTE ON

MOTION:	In favor:	Benham, Hopkins-Staten, Jones, López, Mojica, Taylor, Vrabely, Wright
	Opposed:	0
	Abstained:	0
	Absent:	0

Motion carried unanimously.

III. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned by unanimous consent at 2:36 p.m.

Signed:

Dr. Dianna R. Wentzell, Secretary State Board of Education