CONNECTICUT STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION Hartford

Special Meeting

Minutes Special State Board of Education Meeting Via Teleconference

August 21, 2014

(approved September 3, 2014)

Pursuant to notice filed with the Secretary of the State and posted on the agency's web site, the State Board of Education (hereinafter "Board") met via teleconference on Thursday, August 21, 2014. A speaker phone was set up in Room 307 of the State Office Building, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, Connecticut.

I. Call to Order

Chairman Taylor called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

Participating Via Telephone:	Allan B. Taylor, Chairperson Theresa Hopkins-Staten, Vice Chairperson Megan Foell, student member Estela Lopez Patricia Keavney-Maruca Robert Trefry, ex officio Joseph Vrabely
Present in Meeting Room:	Charles Jaskiewicz
Absent:	Michael Caminear, student member Gregory Gray, ex officio Terry Jones Stephen Wright

Commissioner Pryor noted that he did not participate in the preparation of the report regarding the allocation of charter school seats, and stated that, due to his prior affiliation with Achievement First, he will voluntarily recuse himself from the meeting at this time.

Minutes of Special State Board of Education Meeting August 21, 2014 Page 2 of 2

II. Approval of Reallocation of Charter School Seats

Mr. Jaskiewicz moved, Mr. Vrabely seconded, that the Board, pursuant to Section 10-66bb(c) of the Connecticut General Statutes, approves the redistribution of 99 seats in state charter schools and 1 seat at a local charter school for the 2014-15 school year, and grants enrollment waivers for 4 schools, as delineated in the August 21, 2014, memorandum to the Board, "Approval of Redistribution of 100 Seats in Charter Schools," for the 2014-15 school year, and directs the Commissioner to take the necessary action.

VOTE ON MOTION:	In favor:	Hopkins-Staten, Jaskiewicz, Lopez, Keavney-Maruca, Taylor, Vrabely
(by roll call)	Opposed: Abstained: Absent:	0 0 Jones, Wright

Motion carried unanimously.

III. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned by unanimous consent at 3:45 p.m.

Signed:

Allan B. Taylor, Chairperson