



DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES & PUBLIC PROTECTION

POLICE OFFICER STANDARDS & TRAINING

285 Preston Ave, Meriden, CT 06450 • (203) 427-2622

To: Chiefs of Police

Police Training Officers

State Police Resident Troopers

CSP Training Academy

From: William E. Tanner, III

Field Services Training Division

Date: July 9, 2024

Subject: POST Use-of-Force "Train the Trainer" (T-t-T) Initial 4-hour Program

Attendees: Instructors looking to add 209 (Use-of-Force) as an Endorsement

Tuition: None

COURSE ANNOUNCEMENT

The Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, Police Officer Standards and Training Council's Field Services Training Division is providing a one (1) day "Use-of-Force "Train the Trainer" (T-t-T)" session on the statewide POST-C Use-of-Force policy. The training will take place Friday, October 4, 2024, from 8:30 A.M. to 12:30 P.M. at the Connecticut Police Academy, 285 Preston Avenue, Meriden, 06450.

The course breaks down the <u>Model Policy</u> in its entirety covering all components of the Policy and all the related legal, moral, and ethical requirements/expectations as follows:

- Current Climate & Recent History
- The Legal Standard: Objective Reasonableness
- Moral & Ethical Obligations Regarding the Use of Force
 - Duty to Intervene
 - Duty to Render Aid
 - o Duty to Report
 - Prohibition Against Retaliation
- Moral Courage
- "Words Matter"
- Illegal Use of Force & Legal Ramifications
- Key Terms & Definitions Related to the Use of Force
- De-escalation & Mitigation

- Last Resort
- Officer Created Jeopardy
- Physical, Less Lethal & Deadly Use of Force
- Necessary vs. Permissible: "I can, but do I have to?"
- Prohibited Uses of Force (Restrictions)
- Use of Firearms

The class is limited to fifty (50) attendees. Please complete a registration form from the web and email it to William Tanner at <u>William.Tanner@ct.gov</u> no later than close of business on Friday, September 13, 2024. If you have any questions, please contact the Field Services Division at 203-427-2625.

Students successfully completing the course will receive Review Training Credit in the following areas:

Area 209 Use-of-Force (4 hours)

The uniform Dress Code for POST In-Service training (General Notice 23-02) will be in effect. We ask that all training supervisors inform assigned personnel that they are required to dress accordingly.

POST ID of the student to be enrolled (For all sworn personnel) on all applications to assure prompt communications of all in-service training matters regarding this training.

DISCLAIMER: The Police Officer Standards and Training Council (POSTC) makes every effort, within its ability and resources, to provide the highest quality, most relevant in-service training programs available at minimum cost to all Connecticut police officers and agencies. However, POSTC does not provide legal advice, and does not endorse the accuracy or completeness of specific in-service training programs provided by each of its many contractors and training providers. The materials and opinions of individual providers offered during in-service training are those of the instructor alone, and do not necessarily represent the position of the Police Officer Standards and Training Council or the State of Connecticut. Given the multitude of disparate factual scenarios with which law enforcement personnel are presented in the discharge of their official duties, students and sponsoring agencies are strongly advised and encouraged to seek the advice and counsel of their own legal advisors before implementing concepts or adopting specific measures discussed or recommended during in-service training sessions.

Training on the Web: www.ct.gov/POST