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POLICE OFFICER STANDARDS & TRAINING

To: Chiefs of Police
Police Training Officers
State Police Resident Troopers
CSP Training Academy

From: William E. Tanner, llI
Field Services Training Division

Date: July 1, 2024

Subject: POST Use-of-Force “Train the Trainer” (T-t-T) Initial 4-hour Program
Attendees: Instructors looking to add 209 (Use-of-Force) as an Endorsement
Tuition: None

COURSE ANNOUNCEMENT

The Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, Police Officer Standards and
Training Council’s Field Services Training Division is providing a one (1) day “Use-of-Force “Train
the Trainer” (T-t-T)” session on the statewide POST-C Use-of-Force policy. The training will take
place Monday, September 9, 2024, from 12:00 P.M. to 4:00 P.M. at the Connecticut Police
Academy, 285 Preston Avenue, Meriden, 06450.

The course breaks down the Model Policy in its entirety covering all components of the Policy
and all the related legal, moral, and ethical requirements/expectations as follows:

e Current Climate & Recent History
e The Legal Standard: Objective Reasonableness
e Moral & Ethical Obligations Regarding the Use of Force
o Duty to Intervene
o Duty to Render Aid
o Duty to Report
o Prohibition Against Retaliation
e Moral Courage
e “Words Matter”
e |llegal Use of Force & Legal Ramifications
e Key Terms & Definitions Related to the Use of Force
e De-escalation & Mitigation



o Last Resort
o Officer Created Jeopardy
e Physical, Less Lethal & Deadly Use of Force
o Necessary vs. Permissible: “I can, but do | have to?”
e Prohibited Uses of Force (Restrictions)
e Use of Firearms

The class is limited to fifty (50) attendees. Please complete a registration form from the web
and email it to William Tanner at William.Tanner@ct.gov no later than close of business on
Monday, August 19, 2024. If you have any questions, please contact the Field Services Division
at 203-427-2625.

Students successfully completing the course will receive Review Training Credit in the following
areas:

e Area209 Use-of-Force (4 hours)

The uniform Dress Code for POST In-Service training (General Notice 23-02) will be in effect. We
ask that all training supervisors inform assigned personnel that they are required to dress
accordingly.

Training Officers: Please be sure to include your department email address and the email AND
POST ID of the student to be enrolled (For all sworn personnel) on all applications to assure
prompt communications of all in-service training matters regarding this training.

DISCLAIMER: The Police Officer Standards and Training Council (POSTC) makes every effort, within its
ability and resources, to provide the highest quality, most relevant in-service training programs available
at minimum cost to all Connecticut police officers and agencies. However, POSTC does not provide legal
advice, and does not endorse the accuracy or completeness of specific in-service training programs
provided by each of its many contractors and training providers. The materials and opinions of individual
providers offered during in-service training are those of the instructor alone, and do not necessarily
represent the position of the Police Officer Standards and Training Council or the State of Connecticut.
Given the multitude of disparate factual scenarios with which law enforcement personnel are presented
in the discharge of their official duties, students and sponsoring agencies are strongly advised and
encouraged to seek the advice and counsel of their own legal advisors before implementing concepts or
adopting specific measures discussed or recommended during in-service training sessions.

Training on the Web: www.ct.gov/POST
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