STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF EMERGENCY SERVICES AND PUBLIC PROTECTION

Police Officer Standards and Training Council
Connecticut Police Academy

To: Chiefs of Police
Police Training Officers
State Police Resident Troopers
CSP Training Academy

From: William E. Tanner, lll
Field Services Training Division

Date: November 7, 2023

Subject: Mandatory Training (New Criteria)
POST Use-of-Force “Train the Trainer” (T-t-T) Refresher Program

Tuition: None

COURSE ANNOUNCEMENT

The Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, Police Officer Standards and
Training Council’s Field Services Training Division is providing a series of 2-hour Use-of-Force
“Train the Trainer” (T-t-T) Refresher sessions on the POSTC Use-of-Force Training Program. This
training is meant for instructors who previously attended the full 4-hour training class and
need the mandatory annual refresher. The training will take place at the Connecticut Police
Academy, 285 Preston Avenue, Meriden, CT 06450.

This course is required for instructors who already have the 4-hour initial training and are
teaching all subcategories within the following subject areas; 301, 302, and 306, as well as
endorsement areas 203, 309, and 312.

Training will be on Wednesday, January 17, 2024, with two different sessions offered,

Morning session 0900 to 1100
OR
Afternoon session 1300 to 1500

INDICATE IF YOU ARE REGISTERING FOR THE MORNING OR AFTERNOON SESSION ON THE
REGISTRATION FORM.

CALEA Internationally Accredited Public Safety Training Academy

285 Preston Avenue = Meriden, Connecticut 06450-4891
An Affirmative Action/Equal Employment Opportunity Employer



The course revisits the Model Policy covering all components of the Policy and related legal,
moral, and ethical requirements and expectations.

Attendance is limited to fifty (50) attendees. Please complete a registration form from the web
and email it to William Tanner at William.Tanner@ct.gov no later than close of business on
Wednesday, December 27, 2023. If you have any questions, please contact the Field Services
Division at 203-427-2625.

Students successfully completing the course will receive Review Training Credit in the following
areas:

e Area209 Use-of-Force (2 hours)
The dress code as outlined in General Notice 23-02 is in effect for this class.
Training Officers: Please be sure to include your department email address and the email AND

POST ID of the student to be enrolled (For all sworn personnel) on all applications to assure
prompt communications of all in-service training matters regarding this training.

DISCLAIMER: The Police Officer Standards and Training Council (POSTC) makes every effort, within its
ability and resources, to provide the highest quality, most relevant in-service training programs available
at minimum cost to all Connecticut police officers and agencies. However, POSTC does not provide legal
advice, and does not endorse the accuracy or completeness of specific in-service training programs
provided by each of its many contractors and training providers. The materials and opinions of individual
providers offered during the course of in-service training are those of the instructor alone, and do not
necessarily represent the position of the Police Officer Standards and Training Council or the State of
Connecticut. Given the multitude of disparate factual scenarios with which law enforcement personnel
are presented in the discharge of their official duties, students and sponsoring agencies are strongly
advised and encouraged to seek the advice and counsel of their own legal advisors before implementing
concepts or adopting specific measures discussed or recommended during in-service training sessions.

Training on the Web: www.ct.gov/POST
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