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COURSE ANNOUNCEMENT 

 

The Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection, Police Officer Standards and 
Training Council’s Field Services Training Division, has scheduled a 3-day “DWI Detection and 
Standardized” (SFST) training class on Wednesday, January 10, 2024, to Friday, January 12, 
2024.  This class is scheduled to meet 0800-1600 hours daily, at the Connecticut Police Academy, 
285 Preston Avenue, Meriden, 06450.  This class will satisfy the prerequisite for attendance in 
the ARIDE class. 
 
This course is intended to teach Law Enforcement Officers how to detect a DWI offender and to 
become trained and proficient in administering the National Highway Traffic Standards 
Administration (NHTSA) Standardized Field Sobriety Test.  Students will also receive the latest 
training in accordance with 2018 NHTSA revised guidelines, including a one-day wet lab and an 
introduction to "Drugged Driving." After completion, the student will be able to: 

• Explain DWI detection and general deterrence for impaired driving 
• Define the DWI problem by referencing NHTSA Traffic Safety Facts and validation studies 
• Define and describe impaired driving enforcement programs 
• List the three phases of a DWI arrest 
• Demonstrate proficiency in each of the three evaluations in the SFST battery 
• List all the clues for each SFST battery 
• Explain processing the arresting subject and preparation for trial 
• Explain overcoming impaired driving defenses and legal issues 

 



 
All students must successfully complete all work assignments, including homework and all other 
components of this training program, within the time allowed.  Students are expected to be 
punctual for all class meeting times and assignments. 
 
The class is limited to twenty-five (25) attendees.  Please complete a registration form for each 
attendee from the web and email it to William Tanner at william.tanner@ct.gov no later than 
close of business, Friday, December 15, 2023.  If you have any questions, please contact the 
Field Services Training Division at 203-427-2625. 
 
Students successfully completing this course will receive Review Training Credit in the following 
area(s): 
  

• Area 610      Impaired Driving  (21 hours) 
 
There is no tuition for this course.  Lunch may be purchased at local restaurants.  The uniform 
Dress Code for POST In-Service training (General Notice 23-02) will be in effect.  We ask that all 
training supervisors inform assigned personnel that they are required to dress accordingly. 
 
Training Officers:  Please be sure to include your department email address and the email AND 
POST ID (Sworn personnel) of the student to be enrolled on all applications to ensure prompt 
communications of all in-service training matters. 
 
 
DISCLAIMER:  The Police Officer Standards and Training Council (POSTC) makes every effort, within its 
ability and resources, to provide the highest quality, most relevant in-service training programs available 
at minimum cost to all Connecticut police officers and agencies.  However, POSTC does not provide legal 
advice, and does not endorse the accuracy or completeness of specific in-service training programs 
provided by each of its many contractors and training providers.  The materials and opinions of individual 
providers offered during the course of in-service training are those of the instructor alone, and do not 
necessarily represent the position of the Police Officer Standards and Training Council or the State of 
Connecticut.  Given the multitude of disparate factual scenarios with which law enforcement personnel 
are presented in the discharge of their official duties, students and sponsoring agencies are strongly 
advised and encouraged to seek the advice and counsel of their own legal advisors before implementing 
concepts or adopting specific measures discussed or recommended during in-service training sessions. 
 

Training on the Web: www.ct.gov/POST 
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