State of Connecticut

Police Officer Standards and Training Council
Connecticut Police Academy

GENERAL NOTICE 20-03

To: Chief Law Enforcement Officers
Training Officers
Protective Services
Resident Troopers

From: Karen Boisvert \@

Police Academy Administrator
Date: May 21, 2020
Subject: New and Renamed DMV Form “N-105"

Under Sec. 14-217-1 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, if an operator of a motor
vehicle is deemed unfit to drive due to medical, physical, and/or mental condition(s), an officer may
take possession of the operator’s license. As of June 2019, the N-105 form was revised and renamed
“Impairment Report™. Connecticut law enforcement agencies must use this form to report an
operator, who in the judgment of the officer, is unfit to drive due to medical, physical and/or mental
condition(s). The officer must describe the condition(s) that were witnessed and include a brief
description of the incident or violation. The N-105 form, license and any additional
reports/information is to be mailed to DMV Driver Services Division within 24 hours of taking
possession of the license.

A significant change from the previous 5/2004 N-105 version is under the “NOTICE TO LAW
ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES”. The previous instructions “Connecticut law enforcement agencies
are permitted to take possession of an operator’s license issued ONLY by the state of Connecticut™
has been removed. DMV is now instructing officers/agencies to seize the out of state operator’s
license when appropriate and to forward as instructed. DMV will then forward the license and
supporting documents to the operator's home state and the onus is on that state's licensing agency to
take action.

The N-105 form may be downloaded from DMV’s website: ct.cov/dmyv, under “Forms and Manuals”,
and “Law Enforcement Use Only”. https:/portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/N105pdf.pdf?la=en
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IMPAIRMENT REPORT
N-105 Rev. 6-2019

NOTICE TO LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES:

3

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
DRIVER SERVICES DIVISION
60 Sfate Street, Wethersfield, CT 06167-1013
TELEPHONE: (860) 263-5720

Connecticut law enforcement agencies must use this form only to report an operator, who in the judgment of the officer, is deemed

unfit to drive due to medical, physical and/or mental condition(s).

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Complete this N-105 form after taking possession of an operator’s license, in accordance with Sec. 14-217-1 of the Regulations

of Connecticut State Agencies.

2. Mail N-105 form, license, and any additional reports/information to the above address within 24 hours of taking possession of

the license.

LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY (Town, Troop, Or Precinct):

LAW ENFORCEMENT CASE NUMBER:

CASE OFFICER:

DATE:

CPERATOR'S NAME (Last, First, Midd!e):

DATE OF BIRTH:

OPERATOR'S LICENSE NUMBER:

OPERATCR’S ADDRESS (Numher_', Street, City, State, Zip Code):

OFFENSES OR VIOLATIONS, IF ANY (Specify Statute Number or Orginance Number):

OFFICER’S STATEMENT (DETAILS OF OFFENSE/VIOLATION/INCIDENT):

SIGNATURE OF CASE OFFICER:

TITLE:

BADGE NUMBER: DATE SiGNED:




