Special Education Cost Model Task Force DRAFT Minutes of Meeting September 17, 2018

Call to Order

Pursuant to notice filed with the Secretary of the State, the Special Education Cost Model Task Force met on Monday, September 17, 2018 by teleconference at (203) 309-6713. A meeting room for public participation with an open telephone line was provided at the Office of Policy and Management, Conference Room 3A, 450 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT.

Matthew Galligan, chair, called the meeting to order 2:37 PM.

Task force members in attendance:

- Stephen DiCenso, Consulting Actuary, Milliman, Inc.
- John Flanders, Executive Director, Connecticut Parent Advocacy Center
- Matthew Galligan, Town Manager, South Windsor (Chair)
- Jeffrey Kitching, Executive Director, EdAdvance
- David Lenihan, Connecticut Association of School Business Officials
- Patrice McCarthy, Deputy Director and General Counsel, Connecticut Association of
- Jan Perruccio, Superintendent, Old Saybrook Public Schools
- Marie Salazar Glowski, Assistant Executive Director, Connecticut Association of Schools
- David Scata, Executive Director, Connecticut Council of Administrators of Special Education
- Jeyaraj Vadiveloo, Director, Goldenson Center for Actuarial Research, University of Connecticut

Task Force Members Absent:

• Kathy Demsey, Chief Financial Officer, State Department of Education

Others in attendance:

- Kyle Abercrombie, Connecticut School Finance Project
- Rakesh Beniwal, Morgan Lewis, LLP
- Martha Deeds, Connecticut School Finance Project
- Michael D'Agostino, Morgan Lewis, LLP and State Representative, 91st District
- Patrick Gibson, Connecticut School Finance Project
- Mary Glassman, Capitol Region Education Council
- Leah Grenier, Connecticut Office of Policy and Management
- John Harnick, Office of Legislative Management
- Kerry Kelly, Connecticut Office of Policy and Management
- Shiela McKay, Connecticut Association of Boards of Education
- Tina Mohr, Office of Legislative Management
- Marybeth Sullivan, Office of Legislative Research

1. Review and Acceptance of Minutes

Task force members reviewed the draft meeting minutes from the September 11, 2018 meeting. Mr. Flanders moved, and Ms. McCarthy seconded, a motion to accept the minutes of the September 11, 2018 task force meeting.

VOTE ON MOTION

In favor: Flanders, Galligan, Glowski, Kitching, Lenihan, McCarthy, Perruccio, Vadiveloo

Opposed: o

Abstained: DiCenso Absent: Demsey

1. Review, discuss, and vote to approve updated scopes of work

Ms. Glassman led task force members in a discussion of the three, updated scopes of work: one for insurance consulting services, one for captive insurance legal services, and one for education legal services. Ms. McCarthy asked that clarification be made between the report of the task force and the reports of the consultants. Ms. Glassman provided clarification regarding Capitol Region Education Council's (CREC) required indemnity language. Ms. McCarthy addressed a typographical error in the dates for deliverables in legal services Scope A and asked that school board members be added to the focus groups held by the insurance consultant. Mr. DiCenso asked whether the bulk of the work in the scope of work for insurance services would need to be provided by an actuary or a captive manager. Ms. Glassman clarified that the task force is not empowered to hire a captive manager, as the General Assembly must approve any proposals made by the Task Force, but that the scope of work contains both actuarial and management consulting services. Task Force members decided to remove the words "alternative models" from the title of the document and the introductory paragraph on page two, to clarify that the alternative models to be reviewed are being researched by the UCONN Goldenson Center and the Education Commission of the States. All actuarial models will be independently reviewed during the feasibility study.

Mr. Scata moved, and Ms. Glowski seconded a motion to approve the three scopes of work, as amended.

VOTE ON MOTION

In favor: DiCenso, Flanders, Galligan, Glowski, Kitching, Lenihan, McCarthy, Vadiveloo

Opposed: o

Abstained: Perruccio Absent: Demsey, Donohue

2. Discussion of the acceptance of pro-bono legal services

Mr. Galligan informed the task force that Morgan Lewis, LLP has offered to provide the services defined in Legal Services Scope B pro-bono to the task force. He explained that Morgan Lewis has extensive experience with captive insurance law, and introduced Attorney Michael D'Agostino and Attorney Rakesh Beniwal, who made themselves available for questions and responded to questions asked by task force members.

Special Education Cost Model Task Force Minutes September 17, 2018 Page 2 of 3 Mr. Flanders moved, and Mr. Scata seconded a motion to approve Morgan Lewis, LLP to provide Legal Services Scope B to the task force, pro bono.

VOTE ON MOTION

In favor: DiCenso, Flanders, Galligan, Glowski, Kitching Lenihan, McCarthy, Perruccio,

Vadiveloo Opposed: o Abstained: o

Absent: Demsey, Donohue, Perruccio

3. Discussion of the selection of participants for feasibility study focus groups

Mr. Galligan led a discussion regarding the selection of participants for the focus groups to be held by the consultant in the six Regional Education Service Center (RESC) regions of the state. Mr. Galligan asked that each task force member who represents stakeholders named in the scope of services to work with their organization to identify three representatives in each RESC region to attend such focus groups, and that these members represent geographically diverse communities in each region.

Ms. McCarthy moved, and Mr. Leninan seconded, a motion to approve Task Force members identifying a diverse group of stakeholders to attend upcoming focus groups.

VOTE ON MOTION

In favor: DiCenso, Flanders, Galligan, Glowski, Kitching, Lenihan, McCarthy, Vadiveloo

Opposed: o Abstained: o

Absent: Demsey, Donohue, Perruccio

4. Other Business

Mr. Galligan stated, and there was agreement among Task Force members, that the selection committee for the Requests for Proposals (RFPs) would remain the same as when the RFP was issued by OPM, and would include Ms. Demsey, Mr. Galligan, Ms. McCarthy, and Dr. Vadiveloo.

5. Adjournment

At 3:45 PM, Ms. McCarthy moved, and Mr. Lenihan seconded, a motion to adjourn the meeting.

VOTE ON MOTION

In favor: DiCenso, Flanders, Galligan, Glowski, Kitching, Lenihan, McCarthy, Vadiveloo

Opposed: o Abstained: o

Absent: Demsey, Donohue, Perruccio