

October 4, 2023

The Honorable Jeffrey Beckham Secretary Office of Policy and Management 410 Capitol Avenue Hartford, CT 06106

Dear Secretary Beckham:

Pursuant to Section 32-9j of the Connecticut General Statutes, I am providing you with the 2023 Connecticut Distressed Municipalities list. The Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) has designated the following twenty-five communities as "distressed":

Ansonia	Bridgeport	Chaplin	Derby	East Hartford
East Haven	Griswold	Hartford	Lisbon	Mansfield
Meriden	Montville	New Britain	New London	Norwich
Plymouth	Putnam	Sprague	Sterling	Torrington
Voluntown	Waterbury	West Haven	Winchester	Windham

The above municipalities received this designation based upon their ranking in the areas of per capita income, change in per capita income, the percentage of poverty in the population, the change in population between 2010 and 2020, the change in employment between 2012 and 2022, the unemployment rate, the percentage of housing stock built before 1939, the percent of adults age 25 and older with a high school degree or higher and the adjusted equalized net grand list per capita.

The municipalities mentioned above will be provided with a copy of this list.

Sincerely,

Alexandra Daum Commissioner

cc: Charlene Russell-Tucker – Commissioner, SDE Katie S. Dykes, Commissioner, DEEP