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State Agency: Department of Children and Families 
 

 

Liaison:   Elizabeth Duryea 
Phone:    (860) 550‐6314 
E‐mail:    Elizabeth.Duryea@ct.gov 
 

 

Lead agency division requesting this proposal: Office of the Chief of Staff bvc 
 

 

Agency Analyst/Drafter of Proposal: Josh Howroyd 
 

 
 

Title of Proposal: Threatening CPS Workers 
 

 

Statutory Reference: §§ 53a‐61aa, 53a‐62 
 

Proposal Summary:   
This proposal establishes a criminal offense of threatening a child protective services worker. 
It increases the penalty for 2nd degree threatening, and certain cases of 1st degree 
threatening, when the victim is a child protective services worker, and the threat is related to 
the victim's official duties. For 1st degree threatening, the bill increases the penalty from a 
class D to a class C felony. Thus, the bill increases the (1) maximum term of imprisonment 
from five to 10 years and (2) maximum fine from $5,000 to $10,000. For 2nd degree 
threatening, the bill increases the penalty from a class A misdemeanor to a class D felony. 
Thus, the bill increases the (1) maximum term of imprisonment from one year to five years 
and (2) maximum fine from $2,000 to $5,000. 
 

PROPOSAL BACKGROUND 
 

◊ Reason for Proposal  
 

Please consider the following, if applicable: 
(1) Have there been changes in federal/state/local laws and regulations that make this legislation necessary?  
(2) Has this proposal or something similar been implemented in other states?  If yes, what is the outcome(s)? 
(3) Have certain constituencies called for this action? 
(4) What would happen if this was not enacted in law this session? 

 

DCF workers, along with other human service providers, have been the subject of serious 
threats. Three years ago, a Vermont DCF social worker was killed by a disgruntled client and 
earlier this year, an Illinois CPS worker died from injuries sustained during an assault by a 
client.  
 

 

◊ Origin of Proposal          ☐ New Proposal    ☒ Resubmission 
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 If this is a resubmission, please share: 
(1) What was the reason this proposal did not pass, or if applicable, was not included in the Administration’s package? 
(2) Have there been negotiations/discussions during or after the previous legislative session to improve this proposal?  
(3) Who were the major stakeholders/advocates/legislators involved in the previous work on this legislation? 
(4) What was the last action taken during the past legislative session? 

 
 

This proposal was submitted by DCF during the 2016 (S.B. No. 186) session and was favorably 
reported by the Children’s Committee and the Judiciary Committee and passed the Senate on 
Consent. It died on the House Calendar. 
 

 

 
PROPOSAL IMPACT 

 

◊ AGENCIES AFFECTED (please list for each affected agency) 
 

 

Agency Name: Click here to enter text. 
Agency Contact (name, title, phone): Click here to enter text. 
Date Contacted: Click here to enter text. 
 

Approve of Proposal       ☐ YES    ☐ NO      ☐ Talks Ongoing 
 

Summary of Affected Agency’s Comments 
Click here to enter text. 
 
 

Will there need to be further negotiation?  ☐ YES       ☐NO       
 

 
◊ FISCAL IMPACT  (please include the proposal section that causes the fiscal impact and the anticipated 

impact) 
 

 

Municipal (please include any municipal mandate that can be found within legislation) 

No municipal fiscal impact 

 

State 
The proposal, which increases the penalty for certain cases of threatening, results in a 
potential revenue gain from criminal fines and a potential cost for increased sentences. In FY 
16, there were 11 charges with a total revenue gain of $2,640. As of March 2017, there were 
66 inmates incarcerated for the charges specified. To the extent that offenders are 
prosecuted for new or expanded offenses under this bill, potential costs for incarceration or 
probation supervision in the community, or judicial revenue would result.  On average, it 
costs the state $7,260 (including benefits) to supervise an inmate in the community as 
opposed to $61,320 (including benefits) to incarcerate an offender. 
 
 

Federal 
No federal fiscal impact 
 
 

Additional notes on fiscal impact 
Click here to enter text. 
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◊ POLICY and PROGRAMMATIC IMPACTS (Please specify the proposal section associated with the 
impact) 
 

Click here to enter text. 

 
 

Protection of Child Protective Services Workers 
 
Section 1. Section 53a‐61aa of the 2018 supplement to the general statutes is repealed and the 
following is substituted in lieu thereof (Effective October 1, 2019): 
 
(a) A person  is guilty of threatening  in the  first degree when such person  (1)  (A) threatens to 
commit any crime involving the use of a hazardous substance with the intent to terrorize another 
person, to cause evacuation of a building, place of assembly or facility of public transportation or 
otherwise  to  cause  serious  public  inconvenience,  or  (B)  threatens  to  commit  such  crime  in 
reckless  disregard  of  the  risk  of  causing  such  terror,  evacuation  or  inconvenience;  (2)  (A) 
threatens to commit any crime of violence with the intent to cause evacuation of a building, place 
of  assembly  or  facility  of  public  transportation  or  otherwise  to  cause  serious  public 
inconvenience, or (B) threatens to commit such crime in reckless disregard of the risk of causing 
such evacuation or inconvenience; (3) commits threatening in the second degree as provided in 
section 53a‐62, as amended by this act, and in the commission of such offense such person uses 
or is armed with and threatens the use of or displays or represents by such person’s words or 
conduct  that  such  person  possesses  a  pistol,  revolver,  shotgun,  rifle, machine  gun  or  other 
firearm;  [or]  (4) violates  subdivision  (1) or  (2) of  this  subsection with  the  intent  to  cause an 
evacuation  of  a  building  or  the  grounds  of  a  (A)  house  of  religious worship,  (B)  religiously‐
affiliated community center,  (C) public or nonpublic preschool, school or  institution of higher 
education, or (D) day care center, as defined in section 19a‐87g, during operational, preschool, 
school  or  instructional  hours  or when  a  building  or  the  grounds  of  such  house  of worship, 
community  center,  preschool,  school,  institution  or  day  care  center  are  being  used  for  the 
provision of religious or community services, or house of worship, community center, preschool, 
school, institution or day care center‐sponsored activities; or (5) violates subdivision (1) or (3) of 
this subsection and the person being threatened  is a child protective services worker, and the 
threat is related to such child protective services worker’s official duties. No person shall be found 
guilty of threatening in the first degree under subdivision (3) of this subsection and threatening 
in the second degree upon the same transaction but such person may be charged and prosecuted 
for both such offenses upon the same information. 
 
(b)  For  the  purposes  of  this  section,  “hazardous  substance” means  any  physical,  chemical, 
biological or radiological substance or matter which, because of  its quantity, concentration or 
physical,  chemical  or  infectious  characteristics, may  cause  or  significantly  contribute  to  an 
increase in mortality or an increase in serious irreversible or incapacitating reversible illness, or 
pose  a  substantial  present  or  potential  hazard  to  human  health  [and]  “religiously‐affiliated 
community  center”  means  real  property  used  for  the  provision  of  recreational,  social  or 
educational services that is owned or leased by a nonprofit organization that holds such property 
out as being affiliated with an organized religion and “child protective services worker” means a 
social worker,  supervisor, manager,  case worker,  case  aide  or  investigator  employed  by  the 
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Department of Children and Families, or a provider under contract with the department, who 
provides social work, case work or investigative services to or on behalf of the department. 
 
(c) Threatening  in  the  first degree  is a class D  felony, except  that a violation of  [subdivision] 
subdivisions (4) or (5) of subsection (a) of this section is a class C felony. 
 
Sec. 2. Section 53a‐62 of the 2018 supplement to the general statutes is repealed and the 
following is substituted in lieu thereof (Effective October 1, 2019): 
 
(a) A person  is guilty of  threatening  in  the  second degree when:  (1) By physical  threat,  such 
person  intentionally places or  attempts  to place  another person  in  fear of  imminent  serious 
physical injury, (2) (A) such person threatens to commit any crime of violence with the intent to 
terrorize  another  person,  or  (B)  such  person  threatens  to  commit  such  crime  of  violence  in 
reckless disregard of the risk of causing such terror, [or] (3) such person violates subdivision (1) 
or (2) of this subsection and the person threatened  is  in a building or on the grounds of a (A) 
house of religious worship,  (B) religiously‐affiliated community center, (C) public or nonpublic 
preschool, school or institution of higher education, or (D) day care center, as defined in section 
19a‐87g, during operational, preschool, school or instructional hours or when a building or the 
grounds of such house of worship, community center, preschool, school, institution or day care 
center are being used for the provision of religious or community services, or house of worship, 
community center, preschool, school, institution or day care center‐sponsored activities; or (4) 
such person violates subdivision (1) or (2) of this subsection and the person being threatened is 
a  child  protective  services worker,  and  the  threat  is  related  to  the  child  protective  services 
worker’s official duties. For purposes of this section, “child protective services worker” has the 
same meaning as provided in subsection (b) of section 531‐61aa, as amended by this act. 
 
(b)  For  the  purposes  of  this  section,  “religiously‐affiliated  community  center”  has  the  same 
meaning as provided in section 53a‐61aa, as amended by this act. 
 
(c)  Threatening  in  the  second  degree  is  a  class  A misdemeanor,  except  that  a  violation  of 
[subdivision] subdivisions (3) or (4) of subsection (a) of this section is a class D felony. 
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Document Name: DCF 19‐2A Wilderness School Epi‐Pens.docx 
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State Agency: Department of Children and Families 
 

 

Liaison:   Elizabeth Duryea 
Phone:    (860) 550‐6314 
E‐mail:    Elizabeth.Duryea@ct.gov 
 

 

Lead agency division requesting this proposal: Office of the Chief of Staff 
 

 

Agency Analyst/Drafter of Proposal: Josh Howroyd 
 

 
 

Title of Proposal: Use of Epinephrine Auto‐Injectors at the DCF Wilderness School 
 

 

Statutory Reference: New statute 
 

Proposal Summary:   
This proposal authorizes Wilderness School employees over age 18 who fulfill certain training 
requirements to administer epinephrine by a premeasured commercially prepared auto‐
injector (e.g., EpiPen) for emergency first aid purposes to a student who experiences a 
presumed allergic reaction. The injector may be used without a prescription.  
 
The school must ensure that injectors are maintained on the premises for such purposes. 
School employees may not administer an injector to a student unless the student's parent or 
guardian has consented to its use. 
 
No employee who administers an injector as permitted under the bill may be held liable to 
the student or the student's parent or guardian for any personal injuries that result from acts 
or omissions that may constitute ordinary negligence in administering the injector. The 
immunity does not extend to acts or omissions that constitute gross, wilful, or wanton 
negligence. 
 

PROPOSAL BACKGROUND 
 

◊ Reason for Proposal  
 

Please consider the following, if applicable: 
(1) Have there been changes in federal/state/local laws and regulations that make this legislation necessary?  
(2) Has this proposal or something similar been implemented in other states?  If yes, what is the outcome(s)? 
(3) Have certain constituencies called for this action? 
(4) What would happen if this was not enacted in law this session? 

 

The Wilderness School is a prevention, intervention, and transition program for adolescents 
from Connecticut. The Wilderness School offers high impact wilderness programs intended to 
foster positive youth development. Participants in Wilderness School programs are often in 
remote areas without immediate access to emergency medical care. Staff are trained in 
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wilderness medicine. This proposal will permit them to administer epinephrine auto‐injectors 
for the purpose of emergency first aid to participants who experience allergic reactions and 
who do not have prior written authorization for the administration of epinephrine. 
 

 

◊ Origin of Proposal          ☐ New Proposal    ☒ Resubmission 
 If this is a resubmission, please share: 

(1) What was the reason this proposal did not pass, or if applicable, was not included in the Administration’s package? 
(2) Have there been negotiations/discussions during or after the previous legislative session to improve this proposal?  
(3) Who were the major stakeholders/advocates/legislators involved in the previous work on this legislation? 
(4) What was the last action taken during the past legislative session? 

 
 

This proposal was submitted by DCF during the 2018 (S.B. No. 314) session and was favorably 
reported by the Children’s Committee but died on the Senate Calendar. 
 

 

 
PROPOSAL IMPACT 

 

◊ AGENCIES AFFECTED (please list for each affected agency) 
 

 

Agency Name: Office of Early Childhood 
Agency Contact (name, title, phone): Maggie Adair, Director, Government & Community 
Relations, 860‐713‐6413 
Date Contacted: September 13, 2018 
 

Approve of Proposal       ☒ YES    ☐ NO      ☐ Talks Ongoing 
 

Summary of Affected Agency’s Comments 
OEC suggested the revised language. 
 
 

Will there need to be further negotiation?  ☐ YES       ☐NO       
 

 
 

Agency Name: Department of Public Health 
Agency Contact (name, title, phone): Brie Wolf, Legislative Liaison, 860‐509‐7246 
Date Contacted: September 13, 2018 
 

Approve of Proposal       ☒ YES    ☐ NO      ☒ Talks Ongoing 
 

Summary of Affected Agency’s Comments 

 
 

Will there need to be further negotiation?  ☐ YES       ☐NO       
 

 
◊ FISCAL IMPACT  (please include the proposal section that causes the fiscal impact and the anticipated 

impact) 
 

 

Municipal (please include any municipal mandate that can be found within legislation) 

No municipal fiscal impact 
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State 
The current cost for generic epinephrine auto‐injectors is $313.50 (for a two pack). The 
Wilderness School estimates that they would purchase 24 two‐packs to cover their summer 
needs.  This is an annual cost of $7524.00.   
 
 

Federal 
No federal fiscal impact 
 
 

Additional notes on fiscal impact 
Click here to enter text. 
 

 

◊ POLICY and PROGRAMMATIC IMPACTS (Please specify the proposal section associated with the 
impact) 
 

To ensure the safety of Wilderness School program participants. 

 
 

Use of Epinephrine Auto‐Injectors at the DCF Wilderness School 
 
Section 1. (NEW) (Effective upon passage) (a) A staff member of the Department of Children and 
Families Wilderness School who is no less than eighteen years of age may, with written parent 
permission, administer epinephrine by a premeasured commercially prepared auto‐injector to a 
child participating in the Department of Children and Families Wilderness School program who 
experiences a presumed allergic reaction and who does not have an individual written order from 
an authorized prescriber.  
 
(b)  Prior  to  the  administration  of  such  medication,  in  addition  to  satisfying  the  training 
requirements of section 19a‐428‐6(a)(2)(A) of the regulations of Connecticut state agencies, a 
staff member  shall  have  satisfactorily  completed  training  by  a  physician  in  the  past  twelve 
months that includes how to identify common causes of allergic reactions, identify the signs and 
symptoms of a mild and severe allergic reaction, identify how signs and symptoms of anaphylaxis 
differ from other medical conditions and emergency follow‐up procedures. The documentation 
requirements  of  sections  19a‐428‐6(a)(2)(B)  and  19a‐428‐6(a)(2)(D)  of  the  regulations  of 
Connecticut  state  agencies,  and  the  storage  and  labeling  requirements  of  section  19a‐428‐
6(a)(2)(E) of the regulations of Connecticut state agencies except the child’s name shall apply.  
 
(c) No staff member of the Department of Children and Families Wilderness School administering 
medication  pursuant  to this  section  shall  be  liable  to  a  participant  in  the Wilderness  School 
program or a parent or guardian of such participant for civil damages for any personal injuries 
that  result  from  acts  or  omissions  of  such  staff member  administering medication  pursuant 
to this section in administering such preparations that may constitute ordinary negligence. This 
immunity does not apply to acts or omissions constituting gross, wilful or wanton negligence. 
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State Agency: Department of Children and Families 
 

 

Liaison:   Elizabeth Duryea 
Phone:    (860) 550‐6314 
E‐mail:    Elizabeth.Duryea@ct.gov  
 

 

Lead agency division requesting this proposal: Office of the Chief of Staff 
 

 

Agency Analyst/Drafter of Proposal: Josh Howroyd 
 

 
 

Title of Proposal: Revisions to Certain Statutes of the Department of Children and Families  
 

 

Statutory Reference: §§ 17a‐28(g), 17a‐62, 17a‐101(b), 17a‐101g(a), 17a‐103c  
 

Proposal Summary:   
 

This proposal makes the following revisions to DCF statutes: 
§ 1 amends § 17a‐101 to add new categories of mandated reporters 

§ 2 amends § 17a‐101g to change number of days to complete Intakes from 45 calendar day to 
33 business days.  
§ 3 amends § 17a‐28(g) to provide disclosure of information to the Board of Pardons and 
Parole. 
§ 4 repeals reporting requirements regarding at‐risk youth and reports of abuse for youth committed 
delinquent. 
 

PROPOSAL BACKGROUND 
 

◊ Reason for Proposal  
 

Please consider the following, if applicable: 
(1) Have there been changes in federal/state/local laws and regulations that make this legislation necessary?  
(2) Has this proposal or something similar been implemented in other states?  If yes, what is the outcome(s)? 
(3) Have certain constituencies called for this action? 
(4) What would happen if this was not enacted in law this session? 

 

This is an omnibus proposal to amend various DCF statutes. § 1 adds DCF providers, who 
have regular contact with children, and employees of juvenile justice programs to the list of 
mandated reporters. § 2 ‐ DCF currently has per statute 45 calendar days to complete 
Intakes.   Due to the variability in the number of working days in a 45 calendar day period, 
DCF would like to change the days to completion within 33 working days. DCF has been 
conducting time studies of worker caseloads.   During this process DCF studied periods of the 
year when DCF experienced higher than normal caseloads, along with reduced working days 
to due to holidays, snow days, etc. There were clusters of non‐workdays that far exceeded 
the normal weekends off in 45 calendar day cycles. In one cycle there were only 25 working 
days within the 45 calendar period cycle and this coincided with the peak in accepted 
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reports. It is believed that when this occurs, Intakes may not be done as thoroughly as 
possible and it could result in more cases being transferred to on‐going to ensure meeting 
the deadline of 45 working days. § 3 addresses a concern raised by the Board of Pardons and 
Parole. § 4 repeals burdensome and/or obsolete reporting requirements. 
 

 

◊ Origin of Proposal          ☒ New Proposal    ☐ Resubmission 
 If this is a resubmission, please share: 

(1) What was the reason this proposal did not pass, or if applicable, was not included in the Administration’s package? 
(2) Have there been negotiations/discussions during or after the previous legislative session to improve this proposal?  
(3) Who were the major stakeholders/advocates/legislators involved in the previous work on this legislation? 
(4) What was the last action taken during the past legislative session? 

 
 

Click here to enter text. 
 

 

PROPOSAL IMPACT 
 

◊ AGENCIES AFFECTED (please list for each affected agency) 
 

Agency Name: Judicial 
Agency Contact (name, title, phone): Doreen DelBianco, Deputy Director, (860) 757‐2276 
Date Contacted: September 21, 2018 

Approve of Proposal       ☒ YES    ☐ NO      ☐ Talks Ongoing 
 

Summary of Affected Agency’s Comments 
 
 

Will there need to be further negotiation?  ☐ YES       ☒NO       
 

 
 

Agency Name: Board of Pardons and Parole 
Agency Contact (name, title, phone): Leland Moore, Legislative and Regulations Advisor, 
(203) 805‐6605 
Date Contacted: October 5, 2018 

Approve of Proposal       ☒ YES    ☐ NO      ☒ Talks Ongoing 
 

Summary of Affected Agency’s Comments 
 
 

Will there need to be further negotiation?  ☐ YES       ☒NO       
 

 
◊ FISCAL IMPACT  (please include the proposal section that causes the fiscal impact and the anticipated 

impact) 
 

 

Municipal (please include any municipal mandate that can be found within legislation) 

No municipal fiscal impact. 

 

State 
No state fiscal impact. 
 
 

Federal 
No federal fiscal impact. 
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Additional notes on fiscal impact 
Click here to enter text. 
 

 

◊ POLICY and PROGRAMMATIC IMPACTS (Please specify the proposal section associated with the 
impact) 
 

This proposal expands the list of mandated reporters to professionals with regular contact with 
children, consistent with the statutory public policy goal of this state to “protect children whose 
health and welfare may be adversely affected through injury and neglect.” The proposal also 
promotes efficiency in agency operations. 

 

 
 
Revisions to Certain Statutes of the Department of Children and Families  
 
Section 1. Subsection (b) of section 17a‐101 of the general statutes, as amended by public act 18‐
17, is repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof (Effective July 1, 2019): 
 
(b) The  following persons shall be mandated reporters:  (1) Any physician or surgeon  licensed 
under the provisions of chapter 370, (2) any resident physician or intern in any hospital in this 
state, whether or not so licensed, (3) any registered nurse, (4) any licensed practical nurse, (5) 
any medical examiner,  (6) any dentist,  (7) any dental hygienist,  (8) any psychologist,  (9) any 
school employee, as defined in section 53a‐65, (10) any social worker, (11) any person who holds 
or  is  issued  a  coaching  permit  by  the  State  Board  of  Education,  is  a  coach  of  intramural  or 
interscholastic athletics and is eighteen years of age or older, (12) any individual who is employed 
as a coach or director of youth athletics and is eighteen years of age or older, (13) any individual 
who is employed as a coach or director of a private youth sports organization, league or team 
and is eighteen years of age or older, (14) any paid administrator, faculty, staff, athletic director, 
athletic coach or athletic trainer employed by a public or private institution of higher education 
who is eighteen years of age or older, excluding student employees, (15) any police officer, (16) 
any juvenile or adult probation officer, (17) any juvenile or adult parole officer, (18) any member 
of  the clergy,  (19) any pharmacist,  (20) any physical  therapist,  (21) any optometrist,  (22) any 
chiropractor,  (23)  any  podiatrist,  (24)  any  mental  health  professional,  (25)  any  physician 
assistant, (26) any person who is a licensed or certified emergency medical services provider, (27) 
any person who is a licensed or certified alcohol and drug counselor, (28) any person who is a 
licensed marital and  family  therapist,  (29) any person who  is a  sexual assault  counselor or a 
domestic violence counselor, as defined  in section 52‐146k, (30) any person who  is a  licensed 
professional counselor, (31) any person who is a licensed foster parent, (32) any person paid to 
care for a child in any public or private facility, child care center, group child care home or family 
child care home  licensed by  the state,  (33) any employee of  the Department of Children and 
Families or any other person who, in the performance of his or her duties, has regular contact 
with children and who provides services to or on behalf of children pursuant to a contract with, 
or a credential  issued by, the Department of Children and Families,  (34) any employee of the 
Department  of  Public  Health,  (35)  any  employee  of  the  Office  of  Early  Childhood  who  is 
responsible  for  the  licensing of  child  care  centers,  group  child  care homes,  family  child  care 
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homes or youth camps, (36) any paid youth camp director or assistant director, (37) the Child 
Advocate and any employee of the Office of the Child Advocate, (38) any person who is a licensed 
behavior analyst, [and] (39) any family relations counselor, family relations counselor trainee or 
family  services  supervisor  employed  by  the  Judicial  Department,  (40)  any  victims  services 
supervisor employed by  the  Judicial Department, and  (41) any employee of a  juvenile  justice 
program operated by, or pursuant to a contract with, the Court Support Services Division of the 
Judicial Department. 
 
Sec. 2. Subsection  (a) of  section 17a‐101g of  the 2018  supplement  to  the general  statutes  is 
repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof (Effective July 1, 2019): 
 
(a) Upon receiving a report of child abuse or neglect, as provided in sections 17a‐101a to 17a‐
101c, inclusive, or section 17a‐103, in which the alleged perpetrator is (1) a person responsible 
for such child’s health, welfare or care, (2) a person given access to such child by such responsible 
person, or  (3) a person entrusted with  the care of a child,  the Commissioner of Children and 
Families, or the commissioner’s designee, shall cause the report to be classified and evaluated 
immediately.  If  the  report  contains  sufficient  information  to  warrant  an  investigation,  the 
commissioner  shall make  the commissioner’s best efforts  to commence an  investigation of a 
report concerning an imminent risk of physical harm to a child or other emergency within two 
hours of receipt of the report and shall commence an  investigation of all other reports within 
seventy‐two  hours  of  receipt  of  the  report. A  report  classified  by  the  commissioner,  or  the 
commissioner’s  designee,  as  lower  risk may  be  referred  for  family  assessment  and  services 
pursuant  to  subsection  (g)  of  this  section.  Any  such  report may  thereafter  be  referred  for 
standard  child  protective  services  if  safety  concerns  for  the  child  become  evident.  A  report 
referred for standard child protective services may be referred for family assessment and services 
at  any  time  if  the  department  determines  there  is  a  lower  risk  to  the  child.  If  the  alleged 
perpetrator is a school employee, as defined in section 53a‐65, or is employed by an institution 
or facility  licensed or approved by the state to provide care for children, the department shall 
notify the Department of Education or the state agency that has issued such license or approval 
to  the  institution or  facility of  the  report and  the  commencement of an  investigation by  the 
Commissioner of Children and Families. The department shall complete any such  investigation 
not  later  than  [forty‐five calendar]  thirty‐three business days after  the date of  receipt of  the 
report. If the report is a report of child abuse or neglect in which the alleged perpetrator is not a 
person specified in subdivision (1), (2) or (3) of this subsection, the Commissioner of Children and 
Families shall refer the report to the appropriate local law enforcement authority for the town in 
which the child resides or in which the alleged abuse or neglect occurred. 
 
Sec.  3.  Subsection  (g)  of  section  17a‐28  of  the  2018  supplement  to  the  general  statutes  is 
repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof (Effective July 1, 2019): 
 
(g)  The  department  shall  disclose  records,  subject  to  subsections  (b)  and  (c)  of  this  section, 
without the consent of the person who is the subject of the record, to: 
(1) The person named in the record or such person’s authorized representative, provided such 
disclosure shall be limited to information (A) contained in the record about such person or about 
such person’s biological or adoptive minor child,  if such person’s parental rights to such child 
have not been terminated; and (B) identifying an individual who reported abuse or neglect of the 
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person,  including any tape recording of an oral report pursuant to section 17a‐103,  if a court 
determines that there is reasonable cause to believe the reporter knowingly made a false report 
or that the interests of justice require disclosure; 
(2) An employee of the department for any purpose reasonably related to the performance of 
such employee’s duties; 
(3) A guardian ad litem or attorney appointed to represent a child or youth in litigation affecting 
the best interests of the child or youth; 
(4) An attorney representing a parent, guardian or child in a petition filed in the Superior Court 
pursuant  to  section 17a‐112 or 46b‐129, provided  (A)  if  such  records do not pertain  to  such 
attorney’s client or  such client’s child,  such  records  shall not be  further disclosed  to another 
individual  or  entity  by  such  attorney  except  pursuant  to  the  order  of  a  court  of  competent 
jurisdiction, (B) if such records are confidential pursuant to federal law, such records shall not be 
disclosed to such attorney or such attorney’s client unless such attorney or such attorney’s client 
is otherwise entitled to such records, and (C) nothing in this subdivision shall limit the disclosure 
of records under subdivision (3) of this subsection; 
(5) The Attorney General, any assistant attorney general or any other legal counsel retained to 
represent the department during the course of a legal proceeding involving the department or 
an employee of the department; 
(6) The Child Advocate or the Child Advocate’s designee; 
(7) The Chief Public Defender or the Chief Public Defender’s designee for purposes of ensuring 
competent representation by the attorneys with whom the Chief Public Defender contracts to 
provide  legal and guardian ad  litem services  to  the subjects of such  records and  for ensuring 
accurate payments for services rendered by such attorneys; 
(8)  The  Chief  State’s  Attorney  or  the  Chief  State’s  Attorney’s  designee  for  purposes  of 
investigating or prosecuting (A) an allegation related to child abuse or neglect, (B) an allegation 
that an individual made a false report of suspected child abuse or neglect, or (C) an allegation 
that a mandated reporter failed to report suspected child abuse or neglect in accordance with 
section 17a‐101a, provided such prosecuting authority shall have access  to  records of a child 
charged with  the  commission of a delinquent act, who  is not being  charged with an offense 
related to child abuse, only while the case is being prosecuted and after obtaining a release; 
(9) A state or  federal  law enforcement officer,  including a military  law enforcement authority 
under the United States Department of Defense, for purposes of investigating (A) an allegation 
related  to  child abuse or neglect,  (B) an allegation  that an  individual made a  false  report of 
suspected child abuse or neglect, or (C) an allegation that a mandated reporter failed to report 
suspected child abuse or neglect in accordance with section 17a‐101a; 
(10) A foster or prospective adoptive parent, if the records pertain to a child or youth currently 
placed with the foster or prospective adoptive parent, or a child or youth being considered for 
placement with  the  foster or prospective  adoptive parent,  and  the  records  are necessary  to 
address the social, medical, psychological or educational needs of the child or youth, provided 
no  information  identifying  a  biological  parent  is  disclosed  without  the  permission  of  such 
biological parent; 
(11) The Governor, when requested in writing in the course of the Governor’s official functions, 
the joint standing committee of the General Assembly having cognizance of matters relating to 
human  services,  the  joint  standing  committee of  the General Assembly having  cognizance of 
matters relating to the judiciary or the joint standing committee of the General Assembly having 
cognizance of matters relating to children, when requested in writing by any of such committees 
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in the course of such committee’s official functions, and upon a majority vote of such committee, 
provided  no  name  or  other  identifying  information  is  disclosed  unless  such  information  is 
essential to the gubernatorial or legislative purpose; 
(12) The Office of Early Childhood for the purpose of (A) determining the suitability of a person 
to  care  for  children  in  a  facility  licensed pursuant  to  section  19a‐77,  19a‐80 or  19a‐87b;  (B) 
determining the suitability of such person for licensure; (C) an investigation conducted pursuant 
to section 19a‐80f; (D) notifying the office when the Department of Children and Families places 
an individual licensed or certified by the office on the child abuse and neglect registry pursuant 
to section 17a‐101k; or (E) notifying the office when the Department of Children and Families 
possesses  information  regarding  an  office  regulatory  violation  committed  by  an  individual 
licensed or certified by the office; 
(13)  The  Department  of  Developmental  Services,  to  allow  said  department  to  determine 
eligibility, facilitate enrollment and plan for the provision of services to a child who is a client of 
said department and who is applying to enroll in or is enrolled in said department’s behavioral 
services program. At the time that a parent or guardian completes an application for enrollment 
of a child in the Department of Developmental Services’ behavioral services program, or at the 
time that said department updates a child’s annual individualized plan of care, said department 
shall notify such parent or guardian that the Department of Children and Families may provide 
records  to  the  Department  of  Developmental  Services  for  the  purposes  specified  in  this 
subdivision without the consent of such parent or guardian; 
(14) Any  individual or entity  for  the purposes of  identifying  resources  that will promote  the 
permanency plan of a child or youth approved by the court pursuant to sections 17a‐11, 17a‐
111b, 46b‐129 and 46b‐141; 
(15) A state agency that licenses or certifies a person to educate, care for or provide services to 
children or youths; 
(16) A  judge or employee of a Probate Court who requires access to such records  in order to 
perform such judge’s or employee’s official duties; 
(17) A judge of the Superior Court for purposes of determining the appropriate disposition of a 
child convicted as delinquent or a child who is a member of a family with service needs; 
(18) A judge of the Superior Court in a criminal prosecution for purposes of in camera inspection 
whenever (A) the court has ordered that the record be provided to the court; or (B) a party to 
the proceeding has issued a subpoena for the record; 
(19) A judge of the Superior Court and all necessary parties in a family violence proceeding when 
such  records  concern  family  violence  with  respect  to  the  child  who  is  the  subject  of  the 
proceeding or the parent of such child who is the subject of the proceeding; 
(20) The Auditors of Public Accounts, or their representative, provided no information identifying 
the subject of the record is disclosed unless such information is essential to an audit conducted 
pursuant to section 2‐90; 
(21) A  local or  regional board of  education, provided  the  records  are  limited  to educational 
records created or obtained by the state or Connecticut Unified School District #2, established 
pursuant to section 17a‐37; 
(22) The superintendent of schools  for any school district  for  the purpose of determining  the 
suitability of a person to be employed by the local or regional board of education for such school 
district pursuant to subsection (a) of section 10‐221d; 
(23)  The  Department  of Motor  Vehicles  for  the  purpose  of  criminal  history  records  checks 
pursuant  to  subsection  (e) of  section 14‐44, provided  information disclosed pursuant  to  this 
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subdivision shall be limited to information included on the Department of Children and Families 
child  abuse  and  neglect  registry  established  pursuant  to  section  17a‐101k,  subject  to  the 
provisions  of  sections  17a‐101g  and  17a‐101k  concerning  the  nondisclosure  of  findings  of 
responsibility for abuse and neglect; 
(24)  The Department of Mental Health  and Addiction  Services  for  the purpose of  treatment 
planning for young adults who have transitioned from the care of the Department of Children 
and Families; 
(25) The superintendent of a public school district or the executive director or other head of a 
public  or  private  institution  for  children  providing  care  for  children  or  a  private  school  (A) 
pursuant to sections 17a‐11, 17a‐101b, 17a‐101c, 17a‐101i, 17a‐111b, 46b‐129 and 46b‐141, or 
(B)  when  the  Department  of  Children  and  Families  places  an  individual  employed  by  such 
institution or school on the child abuse and neglect registry pursuant to section 17a‐101k; 
(26) The Department of Social Services  for the purpose of  (A) determining the suitability of a 
person  for  payment  from  the  Department  of  Social  Services  for  providing  child  care;  (B) 
promoting  the  health,  safety  and welfare  of  a  child  or  youth  receiving  services  from  either 
department; or  (C)  investigating  allegations of  fraud provided no  information  identifying  the 
subject of the record is disclosed unless such information is essential to any such investigation; 
(27) The Court Support Services Division of the Judicial Branch, to allow the division to determine 
the supervision and treatment needs of a child or youth, and provide appropriate supervision 
and  treatment  services  to  such  child  or  youth,  provided  such  disclosure  shall  be  limited  to 
information that identifies the child or youth, or a member of such child’s or youth’s immediate 
family, as being or having been (A) committed to the custody of the Commissioner of Children 
and  Families  as  delinquent,  (B)  under  the  supervision  of  the  Commissioner  of  Children  and 
Families,  or  (C)  enrolled  in  the  voluntary  services  program  operated  by  the  Department  of 
Children and Families; 
(28) The Court Support Services Division of the Judicial Branch for the purpose of sharing common 
case records to track recidivism of juvenile offenders; 
(29)  The  birth‐to‐three  program’s  referral  intake  office  for  the  purpose  of  (A)  determining 
eligibility of, (B) facilitating enrollment for, and (C) providing services to (i) substantiated victims 
of child abuse and neglect with suspected developmental delays, and (ii) newborns impacted by 
withdrawal symptoms resulting from prenatal drug exposure; [and] 
(30) The Department of Public Health for the purpose of notification when the Commissioner of 
Children and Families places an individual licensed or certified by the Department of Public Health 
on the child abuse and neglect registry established pursuant to section 17a‐101k; and 
(31) The Board of Pardons and Parole for the purpose of reviewing information pertinent to the 
board’s  responsibilities  pursuant  to  subsection  (h)  of  section  54‐124a,  provided  information 
disclosed pursuant to this subdivision shall be limited to information included on the Department 
of Children and Families child abuse and neglect registry established pursuant to section 17a‐
101k, subject to the provisions of sections 17a‐101g and 17a‐101k concerning the nondisclosure 
of findings of responsibility for abuse and neglect. 
 
Sec. 4. Sections 17a‐62 and 17a‐103c of the general statutes are repealed. (Effective July 1, 2019) 
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State Agency: Department of Children and Families 
 

 

Liaison:   Elizabeth Duryea 
Phone:    (860) 550‐6314 
E‐mail:    Elizabeth.Duryea@ct.gov 
 

 

Lead agency division requesting this proposal: Office of the Chief of Staff 
 

 

Agency Analyst/Drafter of Proposal: Josh Howroyd 
 

 
 

Title of Proposal: Foster Care Incentive for State Employees 
 

 

Statutory Reference: New statute (modeled after § 643 of June Special Session, Public Act 
17‐2) 
 

Proposal Summary:  The proposal allows state employees to take paid leave upon placement 
of a foster child by DCF in their home. This is in addition to other family and medical leave 
authorized by law. The proposal allows up to five days of paid leave. 
 

PROPOSAL BACKGROUND 
 

◊ Reason for Proposal  
 

Please consider the following, if applicable: 
(1) Have there been changes in federal/state/local laws and regulations that make this legislation necessary?  
(2) Has this proposal or something similar been implemented in other states?  If yes, what is the outcome(s)? 
(3) Have certain constituencies called for this action? 
(4) What would happen if this was not enacted in law this session? 

 

Connecticut has a severe shortage of foster parents and this proposal would provide an 
incentive for state employees to serve as foster parents. This is a similar incentive provided 
to that provided to state employees who are organ donors pursuant to § 643 of June Special 
Session, Public Act 17‐2. 
 

 

◊ Origin of Proposal          ☒ New Proposal    ☐ Resubmission 
 If this is a resubmission, please share: 

(1) What was the reason this proposal did not pass, or if applicable, was not included in the Administration’s package? 
(2) Have there been negotiations/discussions during or after the previous legislative session to improve this proposal?  
(3) Who were the major stakeholders/advocates/legislators involved in the previous work on this legislation? 
(4) What was the last action taken during the past legislative session? 

 
 

Click here to enter text. 
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◊ AGENCIES AFFECTED (please list for each affected agency) 
 

 

Agency Name: Department of Administrative Services 
Agency Contact (name, title, phone): Terrence Tulloch‐Reid, Legislative Program Manager, 
860‐713‐5085 & Erin Choquette, Legal & Policy Advisor, 860‐713‐5276 
Date Contacted: September 13, 2018, Revised language submitted September 28, 2018 & 
October 16, 2018 
 

Approve of Proposal       ☐ YES    ☐ NO      ☒ Talks Ongoing 
 

Summary of Affected Agency’s Comments 
Incorporated language drafted by DAS into revised proposal.   

 
 

Will there need to be further negotiation?  ☒ YES       ☐NO       
 

 
 

Agency Name: Office of Policy and Management 
Agency Contact (name, title, phone): Kelly Sinko, Policy Development Coordinator, 860‐418‐
6226 & Anne Foley, Undersecretary, 860‐418‐6268 
Date Contacted: September 13, 2018, Revised language submitted September 28, 2018 & 
October 16, 2018 
 

Approve of Proposal       ☐ YES    ☐ NO      ☒ Talks Ongoing 
 

Summary of Affected Agency’s Comments 
Click here to enter text. 
 
 

Will there need to be further negotiation?  ☒ YES       ☐NO       
 

 
◊ FISCAL IMPACT  (please include the proposal section that causes the fiscal impact and the anticipated 

impact) 
 

 

Municipal (please include any municipal mandate that can be found within legislation) 

No municipal fiscal impact 

 

State 
There will be a cost associated to the Personal Services account for individual state 
associated with additional utilization paid leave by their employees. It is estimated to fewer 
than 500 state employees are currently foster parents and, in any given fiscal year, fewer 
than 10% would accept new placements of foster children. We do know that 83 DCF 
employees are licensed as foster parents by the Department (this number does not include 
employee that may be licensed by private agencies). 
 
 

Federal 
No federal fiscal impact 
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Additional notes on fiscal impact 
Click here to enter text. 
 

 

◊ POLICY and PROGRAMMATIC IMPACTS (Please specify the proposal section associated with the 
impact) 
 

Click here to enter text. 

 
 

Insert fully drafted bill here 
 

Foster Care Incentive for State Employees 
 
Section 1. (NEW) (Effective July 1, 2019) (a) As used in this section: 
(1) "State employee" means any employee in the executive, judicial or legislative branch of state 
government, whether in the classified or unclassified service and whether full or part‐time;  
 (2) "Foster child" means a child placed by the Department of Children and Families in a foster 
home which is licensed pursuant to section 17a‐114 or approved by the Department of Children 
and Families pursuant to section 17a‐149; and  
(3)”Paid  leave” means  leave  from work  during  an  employee’s  regular  hours  of  employment 
without loss of pay, vacation time, sick leave, personal leave, earned overtime accumulation, or 
earned compensatory time accumulation and shall not result in a loss of credit for time or service 
or affect the employee’s rights with respect to any other employee benefits under  federal or 
state law.  
 
(b) Any  state employee who, on or after  July 1, 2019,  is approved  to  take  leave pursuant  to 
section 31‐51kk of the Connecticut General Statutes or the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, 
29 U.S.C. 2602 et seq., for the purpose of bonding with a foster child shall be entitled to up to 
five  days  of  paid  leave  from  state  employment  immediately  upon  placement  of  the  foster 
child.  Leave taken under this section shall run concurrently with the  leave taken pursuant to 
section 31‐51kk of the Connecticut General Statutes or the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, 
as applicable. Such employee may only take one such paid leave, as permitted by this section, in 
any calendar year. 
 
(c) Any state employee who takes paid leave under this section shall provide his or her employer 
with not less than seven days' notice prior to the commencement of such leave when practicable. 
 
(d) The employer may require verification from the Department of Children and Families of the 
date of the placement of the foster child for the purpose of verifying the employee’s eligibility 
for paid leave under this section. 
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State Agency: Department of Children and Families 
 

 

Liaison:   Elizabeth Duryea 
Phone:    (860) 550‐6314 
E‐mail:    Elizabeth.Duryea@ct.gov 
 

 

Lead agency division requesting this proposal: Office of the Chief of Staff 
 

 

Agency Analyst/Drafter of Proposal: Josh Howroyd 
 

 
 

Title of Proposal: Failure to Report Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect 
 

 

Statutory Reference: §§ 17a‐101a, 17a‐101i & 17a‐101o 
 

Proposal Summary:   
This proposal restructures statutes related to failure to report suspect child abuse or neglect.  
The proposal moves the failure to report language from § 17a‐101a into § 17a‐101o, thereby 
making § 17a‐101o the primary statute for failure to report and applicable to all mandated 
reporters. The proposal reorganizes some provisions specific to school employees in the new 
subsection (d) of § 17a‐101o. 
 

PROPOSAL BACKGROUND 
 

◊ Reason for Proposal  
 

Please consider the following, if applicable: 
(1) Have there been changes in federal/state/local laws and regulations that make this legislation necessary?  
(2) Has this proposal or something similar been implemented in other states?  If yes, what is the outcome(s)? 
(3) Have certain constituencies called for this action? 
(4) What would happen if this was not enacted in law this session? 

 

In recent years, DCF has seen a dramatic increase the number of instances of failure to report 
suspect child abuse or neglect. 
 

 

◊ Origin of Proposal          ☒ New Proposal    ☐ Resubmission 
 If this is a resubmission, please share: 

(1) What was the reason this proposal did not pass, or if applicable, was not included in the Administration’s package? 
(2) Have there been negotiations/discussions during or after the previous legislative session to improve this proposal?  
(3) Who were the major stakeholders/advocates/legislators involved in the previous work on this legislation? 
(4) What was the last action taken during the past legislative session? 

 
 

Click here to enter text. 
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PROPOSAL IMPACT 
 

◊ AGENCIES AFFECTED (please list for each affected agency) 
 

 

Agency Name: State Department of Education 
Agency Contact (name, title, phone): Laura Stefon, Legislative Liaison, 860‐713‐6493 
Date Contacted: Click here to enter text. 
 

Approve of Proposal       ☐ YES    ☐ NO      ☐ Talks Ongoing 
 

Summary of Affected Agency’s Comments 
Click here to enter text. 
 
 

Will there need to be further negotiation?  ☐ YES       ☐NO       
 

 
◊ FISCAL IMPACT  (please include the proposal section that causes the fiscal impact and the anticipated 

impact) 
 

 

Municipal (please include any municipal mandate that can be found within legislation) 

No municipal fiscal impact 

 

State 
No state fiscal impact 
 
 

Federal 
No federal fiscal impact 
 
 

Additional notes on fiscal impact 
Click here to enter text. 
 

 

◊ POLICY and PROGRAMMATIC IMPACTS (Please specify the proposal section associated with the 
impact) 
 

Click here to enter text. 

 
 

Failure to Report Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect  
 
Section 1. Section 17a‐101a of the 2018 supplement to the general statutes is repealed and the 
following is substituted in lieu thereof (Effective July 1, 2019): 
 
(a)(1) Any mandated reporter, as described  in section 17a‐101, who  in the ordinary course of 
such person’s employment or profession has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any 
child under the age of eighteen years (A) has been abused or neglected, as described in section 
46b‐120, (B) has had nonaccidental physical injury, or injury which is at variance with the history 
given of such injury, inflicted upon such child, or (C) is placed at imminent risk of serious harm, 
or  (2) any school employee, as defined  in section 53a‐65, who  in the ordinary course of such 
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person’s employment or profession has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any person 
who is being educated by the Technical Education and Career System or a local or regional board 
of education, other than as part of an adult education program, is a victim under the provisions 
of section 53a‐70, 53a‐70a, 53a‐71, 53a‐72a, 53a‐72b or 53a‐73a, and the perpetrator is a school 
employee shall report or cause a report to be made in accordance with the provisions of sections 
17a‐101b to 17a‐101d, inclusive. 
 
(b) [(1) Any person required to report under the provisions of this section who fails to make such 
report or fails to make such report within the time period prescribed in sections 17a‐101b to 17a‐
101d, inclusive, and section 17a‐103 shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor, except that such 
person shall be guilty of a class E felony if (A) such violation is a subsequent violation, (B) such 
violation was wilful or  intentional or due  to  gross negligence, or  (C)  such person had  actual 
knowledge  that  (i) a child was abused or neglected, as described  in section 46b‐120, or  (ii) a 
person was a victim described in subdivision (2) of subsection (a) of this section. 
(2) Any person who intentionally and unreasonably interferes with or prevents the making of a 
report pursuant to this section, or attempts or conspires to do so, shall be guilty of a class D 
felony. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to any child under the age of eighteen 
years or any person who is being educated by the Technical Education and Career System or a 
local or regional board of education, other than as part of an adult education program. 
(3) Any person found guilty under the provisions of this subsection shall be required to participate 
in an educational and training program. The program may be provided by one or more private 
organizations approved by the commissioner, provided the entire cost of the program shall be 
paid from fees charged to the participants, the amount of which shall be subject to the approval 
of the commissioner. 
 
(c) The Commissioner of Children and Families, or the commissioner’s designee, shall promptly 
notify the Chief State’s Attorney when there is reason to believe that any such person has failed 
to make a report in accordance with this section. 
 
(d)] For purposes of this section and section 17a‐101b, a mandated reporter’s suspicion or belief 
may  be  based  on  factors  including,  but  not  limited  to,  observations,  allegations,  facts  or 
statements by a child, victim, as described in subdivision (2) of subsection (a) of this section, or 
third party. Such suspicion or belief does not require certainty or probable cause. 
 
Sec  2.  Subsection  (d) of  section  17a‐101i  of  the  2018  supplement  to  the  general  statutes  is 
repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof (Effective July 1, 2019): 
 
(d) If a school employee, as defined in section 53a‐65, or any person holding a certificate, permit 
or authorization issued by the State Board of Education under the provisions of sections 10‐144o 
to 10‐149, inclusive, is convicted of a crime involving an act of child abuse or neglect as described 
in section 46b‐120 or a violation of subdivision (2) of subsection [(b) of section 17a‐101a] (d) of 
section  17a‐101o,  as  amended  by  this  act,  or  section  53‐21,  53a‐71  or  53a‐73a  against  any 
person,  or  a  violation  of  section  53a‐70,  53a‐70a,  53a‐72a  or  53a‐72b  against  a  victim,  as 
described  in subdivision (2) of subsection (a) of section 17a‐101a, the state’s attorney for the 
judicial district in which the conviction occurred shall in writing notify the superintendent of the 
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school district or the supervisory agent of the nonpublic school in which the person is employed 
and the Commissioner of Education of such conviction. 
 
Sec. 3. Section 17a‐101o of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in 
lieu thereof (Effective July 1, 2019): 
 
(a) If the Commissioner of Children and Families suspects or knows that a mandated reporter, as 
defined in section 17a‐101, [employed by a local or regional board of education,] has failed to 
make a report that a child has been abused or neglected or placed in immediate risk of serious 
harm within the time period prescribed in sections 17a‐101a to 17a‐101d, inclusive, and section 
17a‐103,  the  commissioner  shall make  a  record  of  such  delay  and  develop  and maintain  a 
database  of  such  records.  The  commissioner  shall  investigate  such  delayed  reporting.  Such 
investigation shall be conducted in accordance with the policy developed in subsection (b) of this 
section [, and include the actions taken by the employing local or regional board of education or 
superintendent of schools for the district in response to such employee's failure to report]. 
 
(b)  The Department  of  Children  and  Families  shall  develop  a  policy  for  the  investigation  of 
[delayed reports] failure to make a report within the time period prescribed in sections 17a‐101a 
to 17a‐101d, inclusive and section 17a‐103 by mandated reporters. Such policy shall include, but 
not be  limited  to, when  referrals  to  the  [appropriate  law enforcement  agency] Chief  State’s 
Attorney for failure to report or delayed reporting are required and when the department shall 
require mandated reporters who have been found to have failed or delayed making a report to 
participate in the educational and training program pursuant to [subsection (b) of section 17a‐
101a] subection (d) of this section, as amended by this act. 
 
(c) If the Commissioner of Children and Families suspects or knows that a mandated reporter, as 
defined  in section 17a‐101, employed by a  local or regional board of education, has  failed  to 
make a report that a child has been abused or neglected or placed in immediate risk of serious 
harm within the time period prescribed in sections 17a‐101a to 17a‐101d, inclusive, and section 
17a‐103, the commissioner shall  investigate such delayed reporting and report the findings of 
such investigation and documentation of concerns related to such findings, if applicable, to such 
local  or  regional  board  of  education,  the  superintendent  of  the  school  district  in which  the 
mandated reporter  is employed and the Department of Education. Such  investigation shall be 
conducted in accordance with the policy developed in subsection (b) of this section, and include 
the actions taken by the employing  local or regional board of education or superintendent of 
schools for the district in response to such employee's failure to report. 
 
(d) (1) Any person required to report under the provisions of section 17a‐101a, as amended by 
this  act, who  fails  to make  such  report  or  fails  to make  such  report within  the  time  period 
prescribed in sections 17a‐101b to 17a‐101d, inclusive, and section 17a‐103 shall be guilty of a 
class A misdemeanor, except that such person shall be guilty of a class E felony if (A) such violation 
is a subsequent violation, (B) such violation was wilful or intentional or due to gross negligence, 
or (C) such person had actual knowledge that (i) a child was abused or neglected, as described in 
section 46b‐120, or (ii) a person was a victim described in subdivision (2) of subsection (a) of this 
section. 
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(2) Any person who intentionally and unreasonably interferes with or prevents the making of a 
report pursuant to this section, or attempts or conspires to do so, shall be guilty of a class D 
felony. The provisions of this subdivision shall not apply to any child under the age of eighteen 
years or any person who is being educated by the Technical Education and Career System or a 
local or regional board of education, other than as part of an adult education program. 
(3) Any person found guilty under the provisions of this subsection shall be required to participate 
in an educational and training program. The program may be provided by one or more private 
organizations approved by the commissioner, provided the entire cost of the program shall be 
paid from fees charged to the participants, the amount of which shall be subject to the approval 
of the commissioner. 
 
[(c)] (e) For purposes of this section, “child” includes any victim described in subdivision (2) of 
subsection (a) of section 17a‐101a, as amended by this act. 
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