

# Governor's Cabinet on Nonprofit Health and Human Services

**Draft Meeting Minutes** 

**June 12, 2015** 9:45 – 11:10

Legislative Office Building, Room 1B

#### Present:

<u>Cabinet Members and Designees</u>: co-chair Terry Edelstein; co-chair Luis Perez; Kathleen Brennan; Roberta Cook; Robert Dakers; Miriam Delphin-Rittmon, Deborah Ennis; Stephen Grant; Bill Hass; James Maloney; Morna Murray; Raul Pino; Amy Porter; Sandy Porteus; Richard Porth; Maureen Price-Boreland; Elizabeth Ritter; Josie Robles; Anne Ruwet; Scott Semple; Amos Smith; Kathleen Stauffer

State Agency Representatives: Dan Arsenault for Evonne Klein

Cabinet Members Absent: Myra Jones-Taylor; Evonne Klein; Lois Nesci, David Stevenson

#### Welcome:

Co-chair Edelstein called the meeting to order at 9:45 a.m. and welcomed new and returning Cabinet members. She introduced Luis Perez as the new co-chair of the Cabinet and thanked him in advance for his service. Ms. Edelstein recognized retiring co-chair Peter DeBiasi for his three years of leadership on behalf of the Cabinet.

Ms. Edelstein made brief remarks regarding the work of the Cabinet. Governor Malloy established the Cabinet in September of 2011 to analyze existing public-private partnerships with respect to the state's health and human services delivery systems and to make recommendations to enhance the effectiveness of those systems in regard to client outcomes, cost-effectiveness, accountability and sustainability.

The Cabinet serves as a vehicle for providing critical, up-to-date information for nonprofit health and human service providers and a venue to promote "best practices."

Co-chair Edelstein thanked former Cabinet members and welcomed new members:

- Peter DeBiasi; President/CEO of the Access Community Action Agency and James Morton, former CEO of the YMCA of Greater Hartford have retired off of the Cabinet;
- Amos Smith, President & CEO, Community Action Agency of New Haven has been appointed to fill a nonprofit seat on the Cabinet;
- David Stevenson, President & CEO, Central Connecticut Coast YMCA has been appointed to fill a nonprofit seat on the Cabinet;
- Deborah Ennis has replaced Cindy Butterfield representing DCF;
- DDS Commissioner Morna Murray has replaced former Commissioner Terry Macy;

- DMHAS Commissioner Miriam Delphin-Rittmon has replaced former Commissioner Patricia Rehmer;
- DOC Commissioner Scott Semple has replaced former Commissioner James Dzurenda;
- DPH Deputy Commissioner Raul Pino has replaced former Deputy Commissioner Katharine Lewis;
- SDA Commissioner Elizabeth Ritter has replaced former Acting Commissioner Margaret Gerundo-Murkette

# Approval of Minutes of 10/30/14 Cabinet Meeting:

A motion (Robles) to approve the October 30, 2014 meeting minutes was made and seconded (Cook). The minutes were approved unanimously by voice vote.

# **Roundtable Discussion:**

Co-chair Perez initiated a roundtable discussion with Cabinet members. Members introduced themselves and discussed their interests and expectations.

# **Governor's Greeting and Charge to Cabinet Members:**

Ms. Edelstein indicated that the Governor was unable to attend the Cabinet meeting as scheduled due to a last minute priority.

# **Review Status of 2014 Cabinet Recommendations:**

Co-chairs Edelstein and Perez provided a presentation overview of 2014 status of recommendations. There were <u>34 recommendations</u> in total.

Co-chair Edelstein thanked Brandon Cirillo, former Public Policy Intern, for his assistance in formatting the recommendations. Ms. Edelstein also acknowledged Mr. Cirillo's work in developing a Nonprofit Toolkit available on the Nonprofit Liaison's page of the Governor's <u>website</u>.

# 2015 Work Group Charges:

Co-chairs Edelstein and Perez provided a presentation overview of the 2015 work group charges and recommendations.

- Commissioner Amy Porter commented that the Workforce Innovations and Opportunities Act (WIOA) is guiding a lot of the state work around workforce development and career paths. She recommended that the Work Group on Nonprofit Employment and Training include representation from the Department of Labor to assure that WIOA concepts are integrated into the work of that group. She also recommended that the Work Group include representation and/or input from the Board of Regents of Higher Education relating to credentialing.
- Deputy Commissioner Kathleen Brennan supported adding representation from DOL and BOR, indicating that each work group should reach out to others who might be implementing programs within their agencies relevant to the work of the Cabinet.
- Commissioner Morna Murray commented on the mandate from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) that states include Autism Spectrum Disorder in their service provision. In order to implement these provisions the state will need a welltrained provider workforce.

- Anne Ruwet recommended sharing the Cabinet's Guiding Principles with new Cabinet and Work Group members. Co-chair Edelstein indicated that the guiding principles are included in the <u>2014 Report to the Governor (pg. 12)</u> and encouraged Work Group cochairs to share them at their meetings.
- James Maloney offered to provide information to the Cabinet or to a Work Group relating to New Market Tax Credits, a potential financing vehicle.

# Work Group Goals and Tasks:

Co-chair Edelstein noted that interested parties had been encouraged to volunteer to serve on Cabinet Work Groups. She announced the co-chairs of each Work Group.

<u>Business Practice Work Group</u> William Hass, President & CEO, LifeBridge Brian Hill, Director, Judicial Branch/Court Support Services Division

<u>Contract Procurement & Administration Work Group</u> Alyssa Goduti, President & CEO, CT Council of Family Service Agencies Deborah Ennis, Chief of Fiscal Administrative Services, Department of Children and Families

<u>Nonprofit Employment & Training Work Group</u> Anne Ruwet, CEO, CCARC, Inc. Cheryl Cepelak, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Correction

#### **Review Meeting Calendar and Deliverables:**

Co-chair Perez guided members through the 2015-2016 calendar of work.

June 12, 2015	2015	Cabinet meeting
		Work Groups – organizational
July – August	2015	meetings
September – December	2015	Work Groups meet
November 4, 2015	2015	Cabinet meeting
January – May	2016	Work Groups meet
March 9, 2016	2016	Cabinet meeting
May 11, 2016	2016	Cabinet meeting
June 15, 2016	2016	Final Cabinet meeting

# 2015-2016 Cabinet and Work Group Meeting Schedule

#### **Other business:**

No other business.

<u>Adjournment</u>: Co-chair Perez requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. A motion (Porth) was made and seconded (Ritter). The motion was approved unanimously. Mr. Perez adjourned the meeting at 11:10 a.m.

Recorder: Amy Tibor, Executive Secretary, Office of Policy and Management