State of Connecticut Healthcare Innovation Steering Committee *Personnel Sub-committee*

March 19, 2014 Special Meeting Summary

Members Present: Patrick Charmel, Suzanne Lagarde, Robert McLean, Michael Michaud

Members Absent: Pat Baker

Meeting called to order at: 6:38 p.m.

Mark Schaefer was present to provide staff support for the meeting of the Subcommittee. He identified the need for a chair to facilitate the meeting. Michael Michaud volunteered and was unanimously approved as chair.

The Personnel Subcommittee discussed the process to date with respect to solicitation of provider members and their focus today on providers. The Subcommittee also discussed the process of convening executive session and they were reminded that the deliberations should be guided by the guidelines that were previously approved the Steering Committee. The Subcommittee verified that all had copies of the materials to support review.

Executive session to discuss workgroup applications

A motion was made to go into Executive Session to discuss the qualifications of the applicants and was unanimously approved. A phone number was distributed and members called in.

The Subcommittee entered into executive session at 7 p.m.

The Subcommittee entered back into regular session at 11 p.m.

Nominations for provider workgroup representatives

The Subcommittee voted unanimously to approve Matthew Katz, CT State Medical Society and Dr. Steve Thornquist, ophthalmologist for the HIT Council. The Subcommittee deferred action on selecting hospital and ACO representatives and requested that Pat Charmel and Mark Schaefer consider soliciting additional applications.

The Subcommittee voted unanimously to approve Dr. Erica Spatz (Yale Center for Outcomes Research and Evaluation), Dr. Linda Barry (CT Institute for Clinical and Translational Science at UConn), and Dr. Keith vom Eigen (internal medicine) for the Equity and Access Council. The Subcommittee also proposed Dr. Robert Russo, Jr. (radiologist) in lieu of a hospital applicant.

For the Quality Council, the Subcommittee voted unanimously to approve Dr. Kathleen Harding (Community Health Center, Inc.) to represent an FQHC and Dr. Rohit Bhalla (Stamford Hospital) to represent a hospital. The Subcommittee voted unanimously to approve Dr. Andrew Selinger (family medicine), Dr. Robert Nardino (general internal medicine), and Dr. Mark DeFrancesco (obstetrics and gynecology) to occupy the current approved composition of three physicians. The Personnel Subcommittee approved Dr. Steve Levine (otolaryngology/surgery), Dr. Steve Wolfson

(cardiology), and Dr. Kathy Lavorgna (general surgery) if the Steering Committee approves modification of the Quality Council composition to allow for three additional physicians.

For the Practice Transformation Task Force, the Subcommittee voted unanimously to approve Rebecca Mizrachi, APRN, to represent a practicing Advanced Practice Registered Nurse, Heather Gates (Community Health Resources) to represent a behavioral health provider, Dr. Douglas Olson (Norwalk Community Health Center) to represent an FQHC, Rowena Rosenblum-Bergmans (Western Connecticut Health Network) to represent a hospital, and Dr. Edmund Kim (family medicine), Dr. Elsa Stone (pediatrics), and Dr. Randy Trowbridge (physiatrist) to represent practicing physicians.

Meeting adjourned at 11:19 p.m.