What is HUSKY Insurance?

HUSKY is the Connecticut Medicaid program. You can apply for HUSKY and for the subsidized insurance
plans available under the Affordable Care Act (ACA) through Access Health. When you apply, Access
Health will determine which program you qualify for.

I’'ve lost my job—When can | apply for HUSKY Insurance?

You can apply for HUSKY at any time. Ordinarily, there is a limited period in the fall to enroll in the other
Access Health insurance plans, unless there are certain qualifying life event like losing your job, moving
to Connecticut, getting married, or having a childCovid-19 is like a qualifying event, allowing people to
apply now until April 17. This may be extended as the crisis continues. You can apply at
https://www.accesshealthct.com/AHCT/LandingPageCTHIX

Who qualifies for HUSKY Insurance?
There are several versions of HUSKY Insurance that vary by income and family situation

B HUSKY A s for children, parents and pregnant women. Eligibility varies by income level

0 Children —in families with up to 201% of the federal poverty level

O Parents —in families up to 160% of the federal poverty level

0 Pregnant women — with income up to 263% of the federal poverty level

B HUSKY B is for children living in families with incomes between 201% FPL and 322 FPL%

0 Note, in families with incomes between 250% FPL and 322% FPL, there is a premium and a
cost share component and often a co-payment required with medical service, but during
the COVID-19 emergency, the state will cover the co-payment.

B HUSKY D is for nondisabled adults without children who have incomes up to 138% of FPL.

There are no asset limits for HUSKY A, B or D

HUSKY C is for individuals who are 65 or older or adults with a disability with very low income:
$862.38 monthly for single/$1374.41 monthly for couples (although some income may not count
toward those limits). HUSKY C has a limit on assets: $1600 for single/$2400 for couple.

You can find the federal poverty level for each family size here:
https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines

How does Immigration Status affect HUSKY Qualification?

See the chart below for common immigration statuses. If an immigration status is not listed, consult an
immigration attorney.

Status HUSKY CHIP Exempt from 5 year bar
Citizen Yes Yes Yes
LPR over 21 Yes No No
LPR under 21 Yes Yes (if under 19) Yes
LPR pregnant Yes Yes (if under 19) Yes



https://www.accesshealthct.com/AHCT/LandingPageCTHIX
https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines

Refugee Yes Yes Yes
Asylee Yes Yes Yes
Cuban/Haitian Entrant Yes Yes Yes
DACA No No N/A
VAWA Yes Yes No

VAWA (pregnant or under | Yes Yes (if under 19) Yes
21

TPS (pregnant or under Yes Yes (if under 19) Yes
21)

TPS (all others) No No N/A
U Visa (pregnant or under | Yes Yes (if under 19) Yes
21)

U Visa (all others) No Yes (if under 19) N/A
T Visa Yes Yes (if under 19) Yes
Parolee (granted for at Yes Yes Yes
least 1 year)

SlJ under 21 or pregnant Yes Yes (if under 19) Yes
SlJ over 21 and not No No N/A
pregnant

Undocumented No No No

Will Medicaid coverage | receive for COVID-19 count against me for a public
charge determination?

Medical assistance related to prevention and treatment of COVID-19 will not be considered against the
public charge determination in an immigration proceeding. If an immigrant receives other benefits as a
result of circumstances stemming from the outbreak, he/she may provide a statement explaining the
connection, which will be taken into account when determining the totality of circumstances of the
benefit.

My Medicaid coverage expires at the end of the month.

All HUSKY coverage that expires at the end of March will be automatically renewed through June, and
coverage that expires at the end of April will be renewed through July. Additionally, Connecticut uses an
“Automated Renewal” process that uses available data to determine whether you are still eligible.

| am uninsured, and I’ve applied for HUSKY Health care, but | haven’t received
confirmation of enrollment. Will | be responsible for my health care costs if | go to
the doctor before I’'m approved?

The state will retroactively cover the health care costs for approved HUSKY applicants for three months,
so do not wait to go to the doctor, especially if you think you might have COVID-19.

My doctor’s office told me to call the office rather than come in. What kind of
services can | get through a phone call? Will | be charged for his time?



While there may be a limit to some services that can be provided, medical practitioners can often get
the information they need to make a diagnosis through a conversation with you. HUSKY Health Care is
covering services provided by telemedicine systems, including telephone calls and video conferencing.
So HUSKY will pay for a physical examination, medical advice, prescriptions, and other medical services
that can be provided through remote connections. You should not be charged extra.

I’m in the hospital and my doctor says | should go to a skilled nursing facility for
rehab, but | haven’t been in the hospital for three days. Will Medicare cover the
cost of the nursing facility?

During the COVID-19 emergency, the government is waiving the requirement that patients stay in the
hospital for at least 3 days before being discharged to a skilled nursing facility.

I’m uninsured, but | think | may have COVID-19. Will | be charged if | go to a
doctor to check it out and get tested?

You will not have to pay anything for COVID-19 testing, and if you are uninsured, you will not be charged
for treatment that leads up to testing. Before going to the doctor’s office, we recommend calling first.
Treatment of COVID-19 after testing is subject to the same co-payments and cost sharing arrangements
you already have with your insurer. If you are uninsured and have not applied for HUSKY, you may be
responsible for treatment costs following testing. The federal government has committed to
reimbursing hospitals for the treatment of uninsured patients, but we do not yet know the limits and
conditions attached to that commitment.

| take a prescription that | refill every month, but | can’t get to the pharmacy that
often during this emergency
You may now fill your prescriptions for up to three months, and you can refill when you’ve only used

80% of your prescription rather than 93%. So if you typically take three pills a day and refill when you
have 7 pills left, now you can refill when you have 20 pills left.

| take methadone daily, but | cannot get to the clinic during this emergency

During the COVID-19 emergency, nonemergency medical transport will bring methadone to you at
home.

My care plan says that | am to have a homemaker three times a week, but instead
of a homemaker, they sent a companion.

Because it might be difficult to get the appropriate level of staff in a service plan during this emergency,
a lower level of assistance might be substituted in a service plan. So the state will be honoring its
commitment during this time if it provides you a companion even if your plan says you need to have a
homemaker.



| received a notice that my HUSKY C coverage will terminate next month because |
made too much money.

Under the federal CARES Act, a state must ensure that everyone who was enrolled in a Medicaid
program (including HUSKY A, HUSKY B, HUSKY C, and HUSKY D) at the beginning of the emergency is
enrolled through the end of the month in which the emergency ends unless the individual willingly
terminates coverage, or else it will not receive the additional Federal Medical Assistance Percentage.
That said, we recommend filing a request for a hearing, with benefits to continue pending the hearing.

| have a hearing scheduled regarding my eligibility. Where will it be held if all the
DSS offices are closed?
DSS is holding hearings via telephone during this crisis. Your hearing notification should include

instructions on how to call in. You will be able to submit documents through your My Account page with
DSS.



