

## Consumer Counsel Katz Named Vice-President of National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates

Thursday, October 06, 2016

Consumer Counsel Elin Swanson Katz has been named Vice-President of the National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates (NASUCA), an association of national consumer advocates and other advocacy organizations. Consumer Counsel Katz replaces J.R. Kelly, Florida's Public Counsel, who stepped down from the VP post earlier this year.

"NASUCA is the national voice of state utility advocates, and widely respected in the industry," Katz said. "It's an honor to represent and serve this distinguished organization, whose members are friends and colleagues whom I value and respect."

As described on NASUCA's website, the organization's membership includes over 44 member offices in 41 states and the District of Columbia. In twelve states, state attorneys general provide utility consumer advocate representation. In 29 other states, governors appoint consumer advocate office directors. The names of these offices include: People's Counsel, Public Counsel, Consumer Advocate, and Consumer Counsel. The associate and affiliate members include non-profit state utility advocate offices that represent residential consumers before the state commissions, but are not designated by the state law. There are also NASUCA member offices in Canada and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The diverse representation of NASUCA is best exemplified by the list of its 18 national presidents:

- 1. Robert Nelson, Montana Consumer Counsel, 2014-Present
- 2. Lewis R. Mills, Jr., Missouri Public Counsel, 2013-2014
- 3. Paula Carmody, Maryland Office of the People's Counsel, 2011 2013
- 4. Mary Healey, Connecticut Office of Consumer Counsel, 2009-2011
- 5. David Springe, Kansas Citizens' Utility Ratepayer Board, 2007-2009
- 6. John Perkins, Iowa Office of Consumer Advocate, 2004-2007

- 7. Timothy Hay, Nevada Attorney General Bureau of Consumer Protection 2003-2004
- 8. Rob Tongren, Office of the Ohio Consumers' Counsel, 2002 -2003
- 9. Stephen Ward, Maine Office of the Public Advocate, 2000-2002
- 10. Fred Schmidt, Nevada Attorney General Bureau of Consumer Protection, 1998-2000
- 11. Irwin "Sonny" Popowsky, Pennsylvania Office of Consumer Advocate, 1996-1998
- 12. Edward Petrini, Virginia Attorney General Insurance and Utilities Regulatory Section 1994-1996
- 13. Martha Hogerty, Missouri Office of Public Counsel, 1992-1994
- 14. Ronald Binz, Colorado Office of Consumer Counsel, 1991-1992
- 15. Donna Sorgi, Massachusetts Department of Attorney General Utilities Division, 1989-1991
- 16. David Barasch, Pennsylvania Office of Consumer Advocate, 1987-1989
- 17. Felshaw King, Utah Department of Commerce Committee of Consumer Services, 1985-1987
- 18. Steven Hamm, South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs, 1983-1985
- 19. Jack Shreve, Florida Office of Public Counsel, 1981-1983
- 20. William Spratley, Office of the Ohio Consumers' Counsel, 1979-1981
- \*This information is based on a section of the "Encyclopedia of the Consumer Movement," written by William Spratley, 1997. (NASUCA.org 2016).

The Office of Consumer Counsel's (OCC) leadership and participation in NASUCA provides it with an invaluable venue to discuss national trends in the utility industry with other consumer protection professionals. OCC's involvement with NASUCA enables it to provide Connecticut's ratepayers with innovative and informed advocacy.

