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Please fax this form to (860) 730-8385 or submit with Blood Spot Specimen to State Laboratory

Screening Specimen Collection Recommendations

The CT NBS Program now screens for over 60 disorders*. The addition of new disorders and
testing platforms and the timeliness recommendations made by the US Department of Health
and Human Services’ Advisory Committee for Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children
have led to a change in CT NBS Program recommendations. The CT NBS Program recommends
that the first specimen be collected within 24 to 48 hours after birth, preferably as close as
possible to 30 hours of life. We also recommend that specimens are shipped as soon as possible
after drying, preferably within 24 hours of collection. Please call the CT Newborn Screening
Program at 860-920-6628 with questions or for NBS supplies.

*Please note: the CT Newborn Screening Program does not screen for Cystic Fibrosis (CF). Cystic Fibrosis screening is currently performed
by either the Yale CF Laboratory, 203-688-9884, or the UCONN CF Laboratory, 860-679-4439, and requires submission of a separate
blood spot specimen. Please contact the appropriate CF testing laboratory for testing supplies and more information.

Infant’s Name: (First) (Last)

Date of Birth: Time of Birth: (military time) Birth Length:
Head Circumference:

measurement to the nearest 0.1 cm)

(##. ## cm) (on day 1, take the head circumference 3 times and select the largest

(##. ## (cm)

Birth Weight: Infant’s Gender: Gestational age: ~~ Weeks,  Days
Birth Sequence: If Multiple birth, Indicate birth order:

Birth Mother’s Name: (First) (Last)

Mother’s DOB: Street Address:

City: State Zip:

Phone: (H) ©

Was the mother tested for HIV during Pregnancy? COYes CINo
Is Birth Mother Legal Guardian? CIYes CINo If No, complete Legal Guardian Demographic Section
Legal Guardian Demographic Information

OTraditional Surrogate [IGestational Agreement [IPlaced for Adoption CIDCF Legal [Other

If Other is Selected, please specify:

First Name: Last Name:
Date of Birth: Street Address: City:
State: Zip: Phone: (H) (©

Will this infant be moving out of the country in the next three months? [JYes[] No If Yes, please
provide contact information for someone we can report Newborn Screening results to.

Connecticut State Statutes

Connecticut General Statute (CGS)
19a-55 and Connecticut Department
of Public Health (CT DPH) regulation
19a-55-1, require those providing
medical care of newborn infants to
collect a blood spot specimen for the
purpose of screening for genetic,
metabolic, endocrine, hematologic
and immunologic  disorders as
prescribed by the CT DPH.

CGS 19a-55 and 19a-59 requires all
infants to undergo hearing screening
as soon as possible after birth and the
cytomegalovirus (CMV) testing for any
infant who fails the hearing screening.

CGA 19a-55 requires cystic fibrosis (CF)
and critical congenital heart disease
(CCHD) screenings, and that an HIV
test to be administered to every infant,
unless the mother has had an HIV-
related test pursuant to section 19a-90
or 19a-593.

CGS 19a-53 and the Clinical Laboratory
Improvement Act (CLIA) require that
patient demographic information be
submitted to the CT DPH Newborn
Screening and the CT Birth Defects
Registry for all babies born/residing in
the state.

CGS 19a-53 requires licensed health
care professionals who provide care or
treatment to a child that is under the
age of one and was born in the CT and
who observes or acquires knowledge
that the child has a birth defect to
notify DPH of the defect within forty-
eight hours of observing or acquiring
knowledge of the defect.

If an individual attending the infant’s
birth in the home cannot meet any of
these requirements, the parent must
be directed to consult with the infant’s
selected primary medical care
provider, either prior to birth or as
soon as possible after birth, in order to
be compliant with CT State Statutes.

First Name: Last Name: Relation to Child
Street Address: City:
State/Province/ Region: Zip/Postal Code: Phone:
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Infant’s Name: Date of Birth:

Birth Attendant’s Name (or name of birth hospital, if born out of state):

Primary Care Provider’s Name: Practice Name:

Phone: Fax: City& State:

Birth Defect, Zika and Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD) Screening — Call 860-509-8074 with Questions
Does this child have a birth Defect? O0Yes [1No
If Yes, Please Specify: ICD code:

o Did only the Mother travel to an area with risk of Zika virus transmission during pregnancy or 2 months prior to
pregnancy? L] Yes [1 No
o If yes, specify where exposure occurred:
¢ Did the Mother have any male sexual partner(s) and only he traveled to any area with risk of Zika virus
transmission during pregnancy or 6 months prior to Conception? [1 Yes L1 No
o If yes, specify where exposure occurred:
¢ Did the mother and her male partner travel to an area with risk of Zika virus transmission during pregnancy or 6
months prior to conception? L1 Yes [1 No
o If yes, specify where exposure occurred:

Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD) Screening
Effective 01/15/2018, results of CCHD are to be sent to CT DPH Birth Defects Registry
Date of CCHD screening: Time of Screening (Military Time):

If screening was not done, please state the reason why:

Oxygen saturation of Right Hand: % Oxygen saturation of Foot: % which foot I Right [ Left

(Oxygen saturation is determined by pulse oximetry)

*|f additional CCHD screenings were done to an initial retest or fail, please attach results of failed screenings to this form.

Hearing Screening -Call 860-509-8251 with Questions or visit https://portal.ct.gov/ehdi

Date: Method: Right Ear Pass? [1 Yes [1 No Left Ear Pass? [1 Yes [1 No

Date: Method: Right Ear Pass? [1 Yes [1 No Left Ear Pass? [1 Yes [1 No

[ The parent refused (the refusal waver completed).

L] Other reason(s) why the screening was not done (E.g. too ill)
What facility was the hearing screenings conducted at:
Was the newborn referred to an audiologist? 1 Yes [1 No

If Yes, please tell us who and the date of appointment. Name: Date:

CMV Screening
If the child failed both hearing screenings, CMV testing is required BEFORE 21 Days of Birth.

Date screened for CMV: Result: [J Not Detected [] Detected ( [J Urine [ Saliva)
U The parent refused (the refusal waver completed).
L] Other reason(s) why the screening was not done (E.g. too ill)

Print Name and Title of Person Completing this form

Name: Title:

Signature: Date: Phone:

Email:
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