Dannel P. Malloy

GOVERNOR
STATE OF CONNECTICUT

March 23, 2018

Sen. Paul Doyle
Sen. John Kissel
Rep. William Tong
Rep. Rosa Rebimbas

Judiciary Committee
Legislative Office Building, Room 2500
Hartford, CT 06106

Re: Testimony from Governor Dannel P. Malloy in support of HB 5542: AAC Bump Stocks and
Other Means of Enhancing the Rate of Fire of a Firearm

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Judiciary Committee for raising this bill and
allowing the much-needed dialogue on banning these dangerous devices, which we know are cheap,
deadly, and completely unnecessary in our society. I would also like to thank the proponents for
closely mirroring the language I proposed in SB 18: AA Banning Rate of Fire Enhancements.

Since the Las Vegas shooting, this important public safety policy has received support in
Massachusetts, New Jersey and Florida, which have banned bump stocks on a bipartisan basis with
the support of their Republican Governors. The facts speak for themselves: at the Pulse Nightclub
shooting in Orlando, a semi-automatic weapon without a bump stock fired an estimated 24 shots in 9
seconds, whereas in Las Vegas, semi-automatic weapons with bump stocks were utilized to fire 90
shots in 10 seconds.

This legislation, which mirrors SB 18: AA Banning Rate of Fire Enhancements, effectively bans
“rate of fire enhancements.” This includes, but is not limited to, bump stocks, trigger cranks, binary
trigger systems, and any other modification that increases the rate of fire of a semiautomatic weapon.
The definition includes any device, component, part, combination of parts, attachment or accessory
that:

(A) Uses energy from the recoil of the firearm to generate a reciprocating action that
facilitates repeated operation of the trigger, including, but not limited to, a bump stock;

(B) Repeatedly pulls the trigger of a firearm through the use of a crank, lever or other part,
including, but not limited to, a trigger crank;

(C) Causes a semiautomatic firearm to fire more than one round per operation of the trigger,
where the trigger pull and reset constitute a single operation of the trigger, including, but
not limited to, a binary trigger system; or
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(D) Is constructed, manufactured, designed or intended to mechanically increase the rate of a
firearm in any way.

If this legislation becomes law in Connecticut, any person who sells, offers to sell, purchases,
possesses, manufactures, transfers or uses rate of fire enhancements will be guilty of a class D felony,
which is punishable by imprisonment of between one and five years and a fine up to $5,000. This
penalty is consistent with illegal ownership of large capacity magazines passed by the General
Assembly in 2013.

However, there are a few provisions from SB 18 that the committee should consider adding to this
bill. It should not be Connecticut’s goal to punish law-abiding, responsible gun owners. Therefore,
the legislation should include a reasonable and important exception indicating that during the first
two years the law is in effect, permit holders who are found in possession of a rate of fire
enhancement will be cited with an infraction and receive a fine of $90 for their first offense.

It is also equally important to notify law-abiding, responsible gun owners of the law change. This
proposal should provide notice to legal gun owners by posting a notification on the Department of
Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) website, providing electronic notice to federally
licensed firearm dealers, and including written notice of the change in law in all permit renewal
notices until July 1, 2023.

I have attached a copy of my proposed legislation for your consideration as substitute language.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony to you today. We cannot sit back while Congress
continues to capitulate to the demands of the NRA over the demands of the American people. Let us
do what Congress cannot and will not do -- let us work together to close dangerous loopholes and
ban bump stocks in the State of Connecticut.

Sincerely,
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Dannel P. Malloy
Governor
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Referred to Commitiee on PUBLIC SAFETY AND SECURITY

Introduced by:

SEN. LOONEY, 11% Dist.

SEN. DUFF, 25% Dist.

REP. ARESIMOWICZ, 30t Dist.
REP. RITTER M., 1¢t Dist.

AN ACT BANNING RATE OF FIRE ENHANCEMENTS.
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Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General
Assembly convened:

Section 1. (NEW) (Effective October 1, 2018) (a) As used in this
section:

(1) "Firearm" means "firearm" as defined in section 53a-3 of the
general statutes, but does not include a machine gun, as defined in
section b3a-3 of the general statutes.

(2) "Rate of fire enhancement” means any device, component, part,
combination of parts, attachment or accessory that: (A) Uses energy
from the recoil of a firearm to generate a reciprocating action that
facilitates repeated operation of the trigger, including, but not limited
to, a bump stock; (B) repeatedly pulls the trigger of a firearm through
the use of a crank, lever or other part, including, but not limited to, a
trigger crank; (C) causes a semiautomatic firearm to fire more than one
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round per operation of the trigger, where the trigger pull and reset
constitute a single operation of the trigger, including, but not limited

to, a binary trigger system; or (D) is constructed, manufactured,

designed or intended to mechanically increase the rate of fire of a

firearm in any way.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this subsection, any
person who, within this state, sells, offers to sell, purchases, possesses,
manufactures, transfers or uses a rate of fire enhancement shall be
guilty of a class D felony.

(c) Any person who holds a valid permit to carry a pistol or revolver
issued pursuant to subsection (b) of section 29-28 of the general
statutes, a valid eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver issued
pursuant to section 29-36f of the general statutes or a valid long gun
eligibility certificate issued pursuant to section 29-37p of the general
statutes and possesses a rate of fire enhancement prior to July 1, 2020,
shall commit an infraction and be fined not more than ninety dollars
for a first offense and shall be guilty of a class D felony for any
subsequent offense.

(d) Any person who moves into the state in lawful possession of a
rate of fire enhancement, shall, within ninety days, render the rate of
fire enhancement permanently inoperable, remove the rate of fire
enhancement from this state, or surrender the rate of fire enhancement
to the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection for
destruction.

Sec. 2. (NEW) (Effective from passage) (a) Not later than thirty days
after the effective date of this section, the Commissioner of Emergency
Services and Public Protection shall provide written notification of the
provisions of section 1 of this act by: (1) Posting the notification on the
department's Internet web site, and (2) providing the notification
electronically to federally licensed firearm dealers.

(b) Commencing thirty days after the effective date of this section
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but prior to July 1, 2023, the commissioner shall include a written
notification of the provisions of section 1 of this act with: (1) (A) A
permit to carry a pistol or revolver issued pursuant to subsection (b) of
section 29-28 of the general statutes, (B) an eligibility certificate for a
pistol or revolver issued pursuant to section 29-36f of the general
statutes, and (C) a long gun eligibility certificate issued pursuant to
section 29-37p of the general statutes; and (2) a notice of expiration
mailed to a holder of such permit or certificate pursuant to (A)
subsection (f) of section 29-30 of the general statutes, (B) subsection (e)
of section 29-36h of the general statutes, or (C) subsection (e) of section
29-37r of the general statutes.

This act shall take effect as follows and shall amend the following
sections:

Section 1 October 1, 2018 New section
Sec. 2 from passage New section
Statement of Purpose:

To implement the Governor's budget recommendations.

[Proposed deletions are enclosed in brackets. Proposed additions are indicated by underline,
except that when the entire text of a bill or resolution or a section of a bili or resolution is new, itis
not underfined.f
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