

February 21, 2018

The Honorable Jeff Sessions Attorney General of the United States U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20530

Dear Attorney General Sessions,

I write regarding President Trump's recent direction that your office should draft regulations to "ban all devices that turn legal weapons into machine guns." As a strong supporter of commonsense gun safety reform, I believe that action should first and foremost be taken by Congress to address this epidemic. At the same time, any effort at all to curb gun violence should be applauded, and as such, I write to offer information, which I hope will aid you in your work. As you undertake this effort, it is critically important that your regulations be drafted in a *comprehensive* and *inclusive* manner in order to increase their effectiveness for improving public safety and saving lives.

To that end, I would like to provide you with an overview of current efforts taking place in Connecticut, and detail the specific methods our state is exploring to create an effective ban on these devices, which we know are cheap, deadly, and completely unnecessary in our society.

Currently, we are actively working on state legislation, which would ban "rate of fire enhancements." This includes but is not limited to bump stocks, trigger cranks, binary trigger systems, and any other modification that increases the rate of fire of a semiautomatic weapon. The definition includes any device, component, part, combination of parts, attachment or accessory that:

- (A) Uses energy from the recoil of the firearm to generate a reciprocating action that facilitates repeated operation of the trigger, including, but not limited to, a bump stock;
- (B) Repeatedly pulls the trigger of a firearm through the use of a crank, lever or other part, including, but not limited to, a trigger crank;
- (C) Causes a semiautomatic firearm to fire more than one round per operation of the trigger, where the trigger pull and reset constitute a single operation of the trigger, including, but not limited to, a binary trigger system;
- (D) Is constructed, manufactured, designed or intended to mechanically increase the rate of a firearm in any way.

If this legislation becomes law in Connecticut, any person who sells, offers to sell, purchases, possesses, manufactures, transfers or uses rate of fire enhancements will be guilty of a class D felony, which is punishable by imprisonment of between one and five years and a fine up to \$5,000. Since it is not our goal to punish law-abiding, responsible gun owners, the legislation carries a reasonable and important exception; during the first two years the law is in effect, permit holders who are found in possession of a rate of fire enhancement will be cited with an infraction and receive a fine of \$90 for their first offense.

Finally, our proposal would also provide notice to legal gun owners by posting a notification on the department's website, providing electronic notice to federally licensed firearm dealers and providing written notice in all permit renewal notices until July 1, 2023.

I have attached a copy of my proposed legislation. I recognize that drafting statutory language provides many more options than may be available to you under your regulatory authority. This is why I maintain that our collective first priority should be action in Congress. Short of that, however, I stand ready to answer any questions you may have, and support any and all action to curb gun violence in America.

Sincerely,

Dannel P. Malloy Governor



General Assembly

Governor's Bill No. 18

February Session, 2018



Referred to Committee on PUBLIC SAFETY AND SECURITY

Introduced by: SEN. LOONEY, 11th Dist. SEN. DUFF, 25th Dist. REP. ARESIMOWICZ, 30th Dist. REP. RITTER M., 1st Dist.

AN ACT BANNING RATE OF FIRE ENHANCEMENTS.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened:

1 Section 1. (NEW) (*Effective October 1, 2018*) (a) As used in this 2 section:

3 (1) "Firearm" means "firearm" as defined in section 53a-3 of the 4 general statutes, but does not include a machine gun, as defined in 5 section 53a-3 of the general statutes.

6 (2) "Rate of fire enhancement" means any device, component, part, 7 combination of parts, attachment or accessory that: (A) Uses energy 8 from the recoil of a firearm to generate a reciprocating action that 9 facilitates repeated operation of the trigger, including, but not limited 10 to, a bump stock; (B) repeatedly pulls the trigger of a firearm through 11 the use of a crank, lever or other part, including, but not limited to, a 12 trigger crank; (C) causes a semiautomatic firearm to fire more than one round per operation of the trigger, where the trigger pull and reset constitute a single operation of the trigger, including, but not limited to, a binary trigger system; or (D) is constructed, manufactured, designed or intended to mechanically increase the rate of fire of a firearm in any way.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this subsection, any
person who, within this state, sells, offers to sell, purchases, possesses,
manufactures, transfers or uses a rate of fire enhancement shall be
guilty of a class D felony.

22 (c) Any person who holds a valid permit to carry a pistol or revolver 23 issued pursuant to subsection (b) of section 29-28 of the general 24 statutes, a valid eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver issued 25 pursuant to section 29-36f of the general statutes or a valid long gun 26 eligibility certificate issued pursuant to section 29-37p of the general 27 statutes and possesses a rate of fire enhancement prior to July 1, 2020, 28 shall commit an infraction and be fined not more than ninety dollars 29 for a first offense and shall be guilty of a class D felony for any 30 subsequent offense.

(d) Any person who moves into the state in lawful possession of a rate of fire enhancement, shall, within ninety days, render the rate of fire enhancement permanently inoperable, remove the rate of fire enhancement from this state, or surrender the rate of fire enhancement to the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection for destruction.

Sec. 2. (NEW) (*Effective from passage*) (a) Not later than thirty days after the effective date of this section, the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection shall provide written notification of the provisions of section 1 of this act by: (1) Posting the notification on the department's Internet web site, and (2) providing the notification electronically to federally licensed firearm dealers.

43 (b) Commencing thirty days after the effective date of this section

44 but prior to July 1, 2023, the commissioner shall include a written 45 notification of the provisions of section 1 of this act with: (1) (A) A 46 permit to carry a pistol or revolver issued pursuant to subsection (b) of 47 section 29-28 of the general statutes, (B) an eligibility certificate for a 48 pistol or revolver issued pursuant to section 29-36f of the general 49 statutes, and (C) a long gun eligibility certificate issued pursuant to 50 section 29-37p of the general statutes; and (2) a notice of expiration 51 mailed to a holder of such permit or certificate pursuant to (A) 52 subsection (f) of section 29-30 of the general statutes, (B) subsection (e) 53 of section 29-36h of the general statutes, or (C) subsection (e) of section 54 29-37r of the general statutes.

This act shall take effect as follows and shall amend the following sections:

Section 1	October 1, 2018	New section
Sec. 2	from passage	New section

Statement of Purpose:

To implement the Governor's budget recommendations.

[Proposed deletions are enclosed in brackets. Proposed additions are indicated by underline, except that when the entire text of a bill or resolution or a section of a bill or resolution is new, it is not underlined.]