TO: Freedom of Information Commission

FROM: Russell Blair

RE: Minutes of the Commission's regular meeting of April 10, 2024

A regular meeting of the Freedom of Information Commission was held on April 10, 2024. The Commission meeting of April 10, 2024 was conducted in person. The meeting convened at 2:03 p.m. with the following Commissioners present:

Commissioner Owen P. Eagan, presiding

Commissioner Jonathan J. Einhorn

Commissioner Kate Farrish

Commissioner Stephen Fuzesi Jr.

Commissioner Judith Ganswindt

Commissioner Aigné Goldsby

Commissioner Christopher P. Hankins

Commissioner Matthew Streeter

Also present were staff members Colleen M. Murphy, Valicia D. Harmon, C. Zack Hyde, Nicholas Smarra, Danielle L. McGee, Mary-Kate Smith, Kevin W. Munn, Marybeth Sullivan, Jennifer Mayo, Stephanie Tessmer and Russell Blair.

The Commissioners unanimously voted to approve the Commission's regular meeting minutes of March 27, 2024.

Those in attendance were informed that the April 10, 2024 regular meeting of the Commission was being recorded.

<u>Docket #FIC 2023-0176</u> Cornel Myers v. Chief, Police Department, City of Middletown;

Police Department, City of Middletown; and City of

Middletown

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0208 John Kaminski v. Attorney General, State of Connecticut,

Office of the Attorney General; and State of Connecticut, Office

of the Attorney General

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

<u>Docket #FIC 2023-0188</u> Faith Murray v. Comptroller, State of Connecticut, Office of the

State Comptroller; and State of Connecticut, Office of the State

Comptroller

Faith Murray appeared on her own behalf. Assistant Attorney General Benjamin Abrams appeared on behalf of the respondents. The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0197 Stephen Nevas v. Executive Director, Wesptort Library Association; and Westport Library Association

Stephen Nevas appeared on his own behalf. Attorney Heather Spaide appeared on behalf of the respondents. The Commissioners voted 7-0 to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. Commissioner Farrish abstained. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0204 Robert Cushman v. Jason Thody, Chief, Police Department, City of Hartford; Police Department, City of Hartford; and City of Hartford

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0210 PML Management Services v. Commissioner, State of Connecticut, Department of Housing; and State of Connecticut, Department of Housing

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0226

James Maggio v. First Selectman, Board of Selectman, Town of Weston; Board of Selectman, Town of Weston; and Town of Weston

Attorney Nicholas Bamonte appeared on behalf of the respondents. The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0251

James Maggio v. First Selectwoman, Board of Selectman, Town of Weston; Board of Selectman, Town of Weston; and Town of Weston

Attorney Nicholas Bamonte appeared on behalf of the respondents. The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0242

Bruno Matarazzo Jr. v. Chief Public Defender, State of
Connecticut, Division of Public Defender Services; State of
Connecticut, Division of Public Defender Services; Chair, State

Minutes, Regular Meeting, April 10, 2024 Page 3

> of Connecticut, Public Defender Services Commission; and State of Connecticut, Public Defender Services Commission

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

The Commissioners unanimously voted to accept the Executive Director's Recommendation to Deny Petition for Relief from Vexatious Requestor in Regional School District 16 v. Sandino Verrelli, PRVR #9.

The Commissioners unanimously voted to accept the Executive Director's Recommendation to Deny Petition for Relief from Vexatious Requestor in Town of Trumbull v. Tom Curran A/K/A Thomas Curran, PRVR #11.

Attorney Valicia D. Harmon reported that oral arguments were scheduled for April 18 in *Matthew Olson v. Freedom of Information Commission*, HHB-CV22-6076363-S, an appeal of the Commission's final decision in PRVR #4. Attorney Danielle L. McGee will represent the Commission.

Executive Director Colleen M. Murphy introduced the Commission's new administrative assistant, Stephanie Tessmer.

Director of Education and Communications Russell Blair updated Commissioners on the status of FOI-related legislation under consideration by the General Assembly.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:49 p.m.

/s/ Russell Blair Russell Blair